We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Mom & Pop”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ray's Den Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Independence
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ray's Den Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Independence
Gloucester Point
Level Contributor
133 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Mom & Pop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Have stayed here twice for multiple days in the last 2 years. Excellent motel. Friendly staff. Discount coupon for breakfast at restaurant within walking distance. Free Parking, Very, very clean. Nice rooms. Good value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wff5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    22
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
22
60
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

We just spent 3 nights at Ray's Den Motel and it was a delight. My father and I were in Independence for a work weekend doing our part to help restore the #18 steam locomotive at Dehy Park (pronounced day-hee) and this made for a great base of operations. The Motel itself is small (only 8 or so rooms), quiet (I did mention it only has 8 rooms), and yet has most everything a modern traveler needs including wi-fi. From the outside, you are staying at a blast from the past - an old motor lodge (old by prestige not by condition), but on the inside, the rooms are just as well appointed as other modern chain hotels. The ambiance alone is worth the stay.

The rooms have a TV, refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot and wall mounted AC (that kept us perfectly cool) and a wall heater for the winter months. The beds, for me at least, were just right (not overly firm) and quite comfortable. The Bathroom has a shower, sink and toilet and was complete with a hair dryer, body and hair liquid soaps, plenty of towels and even a nightlight (talk about feeling at home). Everything was clean and well maintained. Linda, the proprietor, is a real sweetheart and made our stay there very comfortable. She is a one-woman-army in that she does it all there. She's the manager, maid and everything else needed to keep Ray's Den clean and welcoming. She is truly the Den Mother.

While there we ate at two local establishments: Jenny's Cafe located just a block away and across the street; and a new place (2011) called Dugan's (formerly Hooligan's I believe) a bit further down the street but on the same side as the motel. Both were excellent places to dine and had friendly staff and great food.

Overall - This is a place to stay at for sure. You just can't do any better than feeling at home while away from home. The price won't put a big dent in your traveling budget either.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

Nice place, clean and quiet, - beer, dinner and breakfast @Jenny's

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geir T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
233 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

Ray's Den in Independence awards a step back in time. We stayed in a clean, well-appointed room with a king bed, a refrigerator, microwave oven, a coffee pot, airconditoner and a hairdryer for almost half of what we paid at a middle class chain hotel the day before in Lone Pine. Linda, the proprietor, was very pleasant, welcoming and efficient. The next morning, we ate our picnic breakfast in the wooden chairs set out under the eves just outside our room. The motel had been totally booked the night before, but we didn't hear a peep out of our fellow patrons. Even though the temperature was 104 degrees the afternoon we arrived, we were very comfortable in our room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College PA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

Ray’s Den motel epitomizes the importance of paying close attention to TripAdvisor reviews. Overall, the TripAdvisor reviews on Ray’s Den are glowing. Having stayed there very recently I am pleased to agree that Ray’s Den is indeed outstanding (nay…‘superlative’). We occupied the ‘family room’ (two double beds). The beds were very comfortable. The bedroom, bathroom and shower were spotlessly clean. The rooms are nicely appointed with a fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. The shower has a cool dispenser for shampoo, body wash and body lotion. As mentioned in several other TripAdvisor reviews, Linda (the so called ‘Den Mother’) is most pleasant. When we arrived she was wearing kneepads. I asked her what these were used for and she told me that she uses them for cleaning the rooms (‘hands and knees’). So…Linda is responsible for the spotless rooms. My wife and daughter love this place. The view of the Sierra from the front of the motel is breathtaking. This motel is a bit ‘funky’ in that I am reminded of the many small motels decades ago. From the outside you may think that this is just another out-of-date little motel. The old adage: “Don’t judge a book by its cover” is appropriate in this case. BTW: If you are a hiker, this motel is most convenient to the Kearsarge Pass trail…my favorite of the Eastern Sierra day hikes between Independence and Mammoth. This hike is not for the wimpy. However, if you are in decent aerobic shape you will love this incredibly scenic day hike. In conclusion: having heaped superlatives on Ray’s Den motel, I selfishly advise you not to stay there so that it will be available to us for our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Moongok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minden, Nevada
Level Contributor
266 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

My wife and son stayed here 2 nights during Easter vacation. Spotless clean, and the owner, Linda had everything ready for their arrival.Landscaped with beautiful seasonal flowers and nice relaxing chairs outside each room, to admire the Sierra Nevada mountains in the distance, and the local birds visiting the bird feeders. You get a $3 coupon to have breakfast at Jenny's Cafe, which is a must visit!
There is a new nature trail you can take from the park behind the motel,which goes to the Independence Museum. It's really nice! Also,at the park right behind the motel has a running stream and nice picnic facilities. Always highly recomended!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NevadaHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yosemite National Park, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2010

I own an operate an overnight home rental in Yosemite National Park, ("Clouds Rest Cabin"). I have high standards of cleanliness and maintenance. Ray's Den Motel meets ALL my high standards....along with the owners great personality and friendliness. Several of my guests have stayed at Ray's Den Motel on their way to Yosemite from Death Valley. They have passed on to me how great Linda is and also how clean their room was. One couple conveyed that when they arrived at Ray's Den Motel, Linda was on her way to a community potluck and invited them along to join her. This foreign couple were able to experience an American small town experience. They loved it!
I always stay a Ray's when I journey the Sierra east side route to Southern California (via Tioga Pass when it is open), or stay there at the end of an east side southern Sierra backpack trip.
Ray's Den Motel is A++ in my book!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank forestafalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
17.5 mi away
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
#3 of 8 in Lone Pine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
15.9 mi away
Dow Villa Motel
Dow Villa Motel
#2 of 8 in Lone Pine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
16.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Winnedumah Hotel
Winnedumah Hotel
#2 of 3 in Independence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Independence Courthouse Motel
Independence Courthouse Motel
#3 of 3 in Independence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
15.7 mi away
Mt. Whitney Motel
Mt. Whitney Motel
#8 of 8 in Lone Pine
3.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ray's Den Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ray's Den Motel

Property: Ray's Den Motel
Address: 405 North Edwards, Independence, CA 93526
Region: United States > California > Independence
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Independence
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Ray`s Den Hotel Independence
Rays Den Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing