We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean as a whistle” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ray's Den Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Independence
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ray's Den Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Independence
Death Valley, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean as a whistle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

This charming motel is clean as a whistle and as cozy as it can be! No matter the season, or the reason you might find yourself in Independence, you will sleep like a baby and wake up ready to take on the day. Always the perfect place to relax and unwind when road weary. Great fishing nearby and the Eastern Sierra Museum has GREAT exhibits. Both the owner, Linda, and the place itself are gems.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Death_Valley_Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    22
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
22
60
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stopped here en route to Death Valley. Very modern inside even though it has the quiet charm on the outside of a 1950's Route 66 motel. Rooms had very comfortable beds, a clean and modern shower, fridge, and TV not to mention the comfy adirondack-type chairs outside each room where you can sit in the eveing and watch the sun go down. The owner, Linda, was very low-key, kind, and accommodating. They have lots of books in the office regarding the surrounding sights - books on the Eastern Sierra Museum, Death Valley, and Mt. Whitney.

We will definitely stay here again on our way through the Eastern Sierra!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gingerpeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Went up to help out at the Mt. Whitney Fish Hatchery Interpretive Center and pick lilacs, meet old friends and enjoy the OV. Great stay at Ray's!!!!!! Always perfect.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saillon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stay 1 night at the Ray's Den Motel during our trip between Yosemite and Death Valley. The owners were very nice! They help us for printing a document and they give us very good tips for visiting Death Valley and were to go to eat in Independence (they give us coupons). The motel is close to main street but it isn't noisy. The room was big enough, very clean with an efficient fridge (important during hot summer).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank covu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester Point
Level Contributor
133 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Have stayed here twice for multiple days in the last 2 years. Excellent motel. Friendly staff. Discount coupon for breakfast at restaurant within walking distance. Free Parking, Very, very clean. Nice rooms. Good value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wff5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

We just spent 3 nights at Ray's Den Motel and it was a delight. My father and I were in Independence for a work weekend doing our part to help restore the #18 steam locomotive at Dehy Park (pronounced day-hee) and this made for a great base of operations. The Motel itself is small (only 8 or so rooms), quiet (I did mention it only has 8 rooms), and yet has most everything a modern traveler needs including wi-fi. From the outside, you are staying at a blast from the past - an old motor lodge (old by prestige not by condition), but on the inside, the rooms are just as well appointed as other modern chain hotels. The ambiance alone is worth the stay.

The rooms have a TV, refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot and wall mounted AC (that kept us perfectly cool) and a wall heater for the winter months. The beds, for me at least, were just right (not overly firm) and quite comfortable. The Bathroom has a shower, sink and toilet and was complete with a hair dryer, body and hair liquid soaps, plenty of towels and even a nightlight (talk about feeling at home). Everything was clean and well maintained. Linda, the proprietor, is a real sweetheart and made our stay there very comfortable. She is a one-woman-army in that she does it all there. She's the manager, maid and everything else needed to keep Ray's Den clean and welcoming. She is truly the Den Mother.

While there we ate at two local establishments: Jenny's Cafe located just a block away and across the street; and a new place (2011) called Dugan's (formerly Hooligan's I believe) a bit further down the street but on the same side as the motel. Both were excellent places to dine and had friendly staff and great food.

Overall - This is a place to stay at for sure. You just can't do any better than feeling at home while away from home. The price won't put a big dent in your traveling budget either.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

Nice place, clean and quiet, - beer, dinner and breakfast @Jenny's

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geir T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
17.5 mi away
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
#3 of 8 in Lone Pine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
15.9 mi away
Dow Villa Motel
Dow Villa Motel
#2 of 8 in Lone Pine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
16.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Frontier Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Winnedumah Hotel
Winnedumah Hotel
#2 of 3 in Independence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
15.7 mi away
Mt. Whitney Motel
Mt. Whitney Motel
#8 of 8 in Lone Pine
3.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
16.1 mi away
National 9 Trails Motel
National 9 Trails Motel
#6 of 8 in Lone Pine
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ray's Den Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ray's Den Motel

Property: Ray's Den Motel
Address: 405 North Edwards, Independence, CA 93526
Region: United States > California > Independence
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Independence
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Ray`s Den Hotel Independence
Rays Den Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing