We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As the interlocutor of the Roadrunners' M/C this is my first choice!”
Review of Ray's Den Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Independence
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ray's Den Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Independence
San Luis Obispo County, CA
1 review
“As the interlocutor of the Roadrunners' M/C this is my first choice!”
Reviewed 3 March 2010

I have scheduled my motorcycle riding club's Owens/Death Valley tours to headquarter in Independence several years in a row. Several of us have reserved the entire motel. And we were never disappointed at the quality, cleanliness, price and friendliness of the place. I recommend it without limitation. You will rarely find accomodations nicer [ and the proprietress has the fluffiest towels in town.]

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank neoindian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    22
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
22
60
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2009

I stay here when I go to Lone Pine/ Sierra Nevada... I love this place, it's clean, the owner is friendly and it has the most beautiful views in the sierra's. I will always recommend this place to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bre333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2009

Stay here if you have visited Death Valley! We started our trip in Las Vegas to go to Death Valley. Very nice by the way. The motel is very clean and has a nice relaxing atmosphere. The owner, Linda, was very friendly. They have free high speed internet. Independence is a very small town, so if you want something to eat for diner don't expect any exclusive restaurants. We went to Hooligans, the only bar/restaurant in this town. A place where many locals visit. The food was great.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lin1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Ray's Den Motel offers comfortable rooms which are meticulously clean. The room provides a comfortable bed, cable tv, and fluffy towels. The bathroom is 1940s revival: all of the tile work, floor, and fixtures are like-new. The owner takes personal pride in the property and it shows. The Eastern California Museum is nearby and the hotel is accessible to the OnionValley Road which portals to Kearsarge Pass and the Sierra Nevada. Prices are reasonable and reservations are needed in peak travel months and during Owens Valley events like the Film Festival in Lone Pine. It is a nice mid-range motel with a 1940s retro theme. In a sense, it is a very nice time capsule.

Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Orthoclase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels Belgium
Level Contributor
126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2009

I stayed here with my wife for one night on our road trip. Other reviews are spot on, a really friendly owner and rooms that are clean and comfortable. The breakfast is small but perfectly formed!

Try to stay on a night when the Still Life cafe is open and get a great meal too!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2009

Myself and my wife stayed at this Motel on our way from Las Vegas to Yosemite, I had originally booked into a hotel in Lone Pine however due to an extended stay in Vegas we had to look elsewhere...wow are we glad we did.

Independence is the coolest little town, with some great history attatched just get chatting to the lady in the gas station and she will tell you willingly. Anyway back to Ray's Den, we arrived dusty and hot from a drive thorough Death Valley, we were greated by the owner who was so accomadating and friendly (im a sucker for a nice smile and red vines...lol).

The views are second to none and the motel itself, although directly on the main road was suprisingly quiet and exactly what we needed. The rooms are basic, but that is not a slight on the Motel, after all its a motel what do you want apart from a comfy bed, air con and a nice shower....oh and cable..lol.

I really hope that we get to stay again sometime because of the 7 hotels we stayed in on our trip from Vegas to LA this was my fave by a mile.

Thank you Ray's Den you gave me and my wife our first true All American Motel experience and we loved it.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We stayed one night at Ray's Den on the start of our week-lonmg vacation from Los Angeles to Lake Tahoe and everything in between. The hotel staff was friendly and accessible. The rooms were standard but very clean and nice. Fridge and micorwave in the room. You park your car right up to your front door. Very quiet location against the beautiful backdrop of the mountains. Though you are right on the road, we did not noticee any traffic noise.

There's a small table and chairs if you want to eat or hang out outside under the open sky. Free WiFi in the rooms. Great continental breakfast that included yogurt, cereals and the best home-made blueberry muffins I've ever had. And I'm not even crazy about Blueberry muffins. Yum!! Walk back behind the hotel and relax in the small park that runs along the creek. There's even an area for the kids to play.

There are not a lot of dining options in this town. Plus, everything closes pretty early, so don't expect to roll into town after 10 p.m. and find something to eat.

Also, want to experience a great little attraction? Don't just drive by Manzanar on the way. Pop in and learn a bit about American history, however tarnished it might be from time to time.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank designjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
17.5 mi away
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
#3 of 8 in Lone Pine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
15.9 mi away
Dow Villa Motel
Dow Villa Motel
#2 of 8 in Lone Pine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
16.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Frontier Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Winnedumah Hotel
Winnedumah Hotel
#2 of 3 in Independence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.2 mi away
Independence Courthouse Motel
Independence Courthouse Motel
#3 of 3 in Independence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
15.7 mi away
Mt. Whitney Motel
Mt. Whitney Motel
#8 of 8 in Lone Pine
3.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ray's Den Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ray's Den Motel

Property: Ray's Den Motel
Address: 405 North Edwards, Independence, CA 93526
Region: United States > California > Independence
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Independence
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Ray`s Den Hotel Independence
Rays Den Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing