We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value for a Cosy Family Room.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Independence
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Independence Inn Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Independence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value for a Cosy Family Room.”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We booked a family room consisting of 1 queen & 1 full bed for 1 night as a stopover travelling between Mesquite, NV and Yosemite.

When pulling up, the very first thing I noticed was the gardens of the Inn...absolutely wonderful, I cannot say how pleased I was to see Roses for the first time in a month! I never realised how much I had missed the colour & scent of flowers from back home until now! The Inn itself looked very picturesque and we were pleasantly welcomed by Jim.

The room was clean, and suited us down to the ground. Within the room was a fridge, microwave and coffee making facilities which we used. The bathroom was sufficient for all 4 of us and we soon settled for the night. The free Wi-Fi worked well. We all slept well...beds were comfy and no noise from the road.

Breakfast was ok and there could have been a little more choice such as decaf coffee & fruit, but hey, for the price, I wasn't going to complain and managed to live without it for one morning!

It seems Jim does everything here, even cleaning and preparing the rooms...all I can say is I hope he keeps up the fantastic job he's doing! We would definitely recommend this Inn to anyone thinking of stopping halfway between Death Valley & Yosemite.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blue30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    17
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
40
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cucamonga,CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

If you're traveling north up 395 on your way to maybe Yosemite or Mammoth, the Independence Inn is the first motel you'll come to in Independence on the right hand side. Our suggestion is stop and take a room! Jim, the owner, demonstrates a tremendous pride in ownership of his recently fully renovated small comfortable inn. The rooms are immaculate with first rate things that matter like towels, and toilet paper, and the price is affordable and more resonable than that of other motels in the eastern Sierras. The view of the surrounding mountains from the front porch is the best in town. Jim is friendly and helpful and makes a great host.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoCruzinCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

We didn't want to go to Lone Pine, then we decided to have a stop at Independence before going to Death Valley. The room was clean and the owner very nice and wifi was available for free. Before leaving he asked us if we had a map of Death Valley. As we had not, he nicely gave us one :) We left before the opening of the visitor center, so his map was very helpful during our trip in Death Valley. We recommend !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonvoyagebien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monrovia, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We came to Independence Inn to get some rest and have a shower after a 10 day backpacking trip to Mt whitney, and we found so much more. the room was charming and clean, the quilt covered bed comfortable, and Jim was friendly, helpful, and ready to talk. this is a wonderful little inn with exceptional value. Despite its proximity to the road, it was quiet (as the speed limit is 25 mph). the yard seemed to be professionally landscaped (but Jim did it) and the mountains looming over the town drew us to the front porch.
we didn't realize that breakfast was included or we would have sampled some of the homemade bread others have mentioned.
We will definitely be back when we are in that area!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacation32729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My special lady friend and I used the Independence Inn as a basecamp between hikes into the Eastern Sierra, culminating with our ascent of Mt. Whitney. We stayed there a total of 7 nights and could not have made a better choice. Innkeeper Jim Getzinger made us feel at home and took excellent care of us. Good comfortable beds, nice cozy rooms, and personal touches you won't get in corporate chain hotels. All at a more than reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We needed a stop between Yosemite and Death Valley and chose Independence. It was only one night and happened to be a Sunday when everything seems to be closed except the petrol stations. In saying that Jim who runs the motel was very friendly and a great host and told us where to get some food. Our motel room was just what we needed for an overnight stay and the foodstore in the petrol station provided enough for a snack as we had had a meal at lunchtime in a great diner called Nicelys in Lee Vinning. One place you must visit is Manzanar, a camp where Japanese people were held during the war. Not prisoners but Japanese who were staying in the USA when the war kicked off. Its only a few miles outside Independence. Very moving.

Room Tip: Have a chat with Jim. He is very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie-Jos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emporia, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

Stopped for one night on our way to Lake Tahoe for a wedding. The grounds were very attractive and well tended with roses and flowers in bloom. While the room and the bed were very comfortable, as a previous reviewer said, this is not a five star hotel, but is much better than what you find in similar small towns.

The innkeeper, Jim was very welcoming and knowledgable about the area. He made the stop worthwhile. After breakfast of homemade coffee cake, we were on our way. If we ever were to drive that way again, we would stay at the Independence Inn again.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank nanccEmporia_Kansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
17.0 mi away
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
#3 of 8 in Lone Pine
682 reviews
15.4 mi away
Dow Villa Motel
Dow Villa Motel
#2 of 8 in Lone Pine
867 reviews
0.3 mi away
Independence Courthouse Motel
Independence Courthouse Motel
#3 of 3 in Independence
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Winnedumah Hotel
Winnedumah Hotel
#2 of 3 in Independence
49 reviews
16.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Frontier Motel
15.6 mi away
National 9 Trails Motel
National 9 Trails Motel
#7 of 8 in Lone Pine
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Independence Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Independence Inn Motel

Property: Independence Inn Motel
Address: 440 S Edwards St, Independence, CA 93526-1774
Region: United States > California > Independence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
best porch-best view, WiFi,TV, and breakfast ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing