We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tesla friendly place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Independence
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Independence Inn Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Independence B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tesla friendly place”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful setting. Jim, the owner, couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. He had installed a NEMA 14-50 plug for Tesla charging. He requested a very reasonable fee for the use of his power. Great place to stay to visit Death Valley or Mono Lake.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Beautyandthebees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
39
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

My family stays here every few months. Jim maintains a very nice place and he is friendly and accommodating! The rooms are clean and comfortable! We wouldn't stay anyplace else. If you are passing through or staging here for hiking or sight seeing this is your place.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank defluiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This is our 3rd stay here at this quaint road side motel. Beautiful view of the Sierra's from your porch! The rooms are clean and Jim (owner/manager) is there to see that you feel right at home. The rooms have TV, heat, A/C, fridge, coffee and plenty of towels and blankets. Perfect place as a base for hiking and camping in the Sierra's!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank defluiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I booked this hotel on the merits of trip advisor and so I feel a certain obligation to write about our stay.
On arriving to the motel it was clear to us that it was located in an area with little or no services, the town it's in may as well not be there. There is a shell garage which you can get the odd snack from, but good luck finding any restaurants.
Jim seems a nice enough guy but there is an uncomfortable air about the place, you could say creepy. This was made by a few things: Jims reception area reminded me of a mechanics garage and Jim himself was not dressed in a manner which you would expect a hotelier to be dressed, more a vest top rather than a suit.
We were hungry so decided to travel back up the road for some food as there wasn't anything in the town, our windows to the room were left open but were closed when we got back. This made my partner even more worried, and even though I tried to ease her worries by saying Jim may of forgotten they were open and just wanted to make us feel safer, no scenario I thought of made sense and so this resulted in the door to the room being blocked by chairs.
Unfortunately when a lady feels uneasy there isn't much you can do to make things better, whether her actions seems overboard or not, everything leading up to this caused it.

Jim has a hard job to do when you are faced with a barren town trying to get customers and make his property as nice as possible, and our comments are by no mean personal to him as he seems like a nice enough guy.
Had the reviews been a little more even then I wouldn't of written the review, I just think the other reviews are far too glowing of what we experienced.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lorne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We booked a family room consisting of 1 queen & 1 full bed for 1 night as a stopover travelling between Mesquite, NV and Yosemite.

When pulling up, the very first thing I noticed was the gardens of the Inn...absolutely wonderful, I cannot say how pleased I was to see Roses for the first time in a month! I never realised how much I had missed the colour & scent of flowers from back home until now! The Inn itself looked very picturesque and we were pleasantly welcomed by Jim.

The room was clean, and suited us down to the ground. Within the room was a fridge, microwave and coffee making facilities which we used. The bathroom was sufficient for all 4 of us and we soon settled for the night. The free Wi-Fi worked well. We all slept well...beds were comfy and no noise from the road.

Breakfast was ok and there could have been a little more choice such as decaf coffee & fruit, but hey, for the price, I wasn't going to complain and managed to live without it for one morning!

It seems Jim does everything here, even cleaning and preparing the rooms...all I can say is I hope he keeps up the fantastic job he's doing! We would definitely recommend this Inn to anyone thinking of stopping halfway between Death Valley & Yosemite.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blue30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cucamonga,CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

If you're traveling north up 395 on your way to maybe Yosemite or Mammoth, the Independence Inn is the first motel you'll come to in Independence on the right hand side. Our suggestion is stop and take a room! Jim, the owner, demonstrates a tremendous pride in ownership of his recently fully renovated small comfortable inn. The rooms are immaculate with first rate things that matter like towels, and toilet paper, and the price is affordable and more resonable than that of other motels in the eastern Sierras. The view of the surrounding mountains from the front porch is the best in town. Jim is friendly and helpful and makes a great host.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoCruzinCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

We didn't want to go to Lone Pine, then we decided to have a stop at Independence before going to Death Valley. The room was clean and the owner very nice and wifi was available for free. Before leaving he asked us if we had a map of Death Valley. As we had not, he nicely gave us one :) We left before the opening of the visitor center, so his map was very helpful during our trip in Death Valley. We recommend !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonvoyagebien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
17.0 mi away
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
#3 of 8 in Lone Pine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
15.4 mi away
Dow Villa Motel
Dow Villa Motel
#2 of 8 in Lone Pine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
0.4 mi away
Winnedumah Hotel
Winnedumah Hotel
#2 of 3 in Independence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Frontier Motel
0.3 mi away
Independence Courthouse Motel
Independence Courthouse Motel
#3 of 3 in Independence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
15.6 mi away
National 9 Trails Motel
National 9 Trails Motel
#7 of 8 in Lone Pine
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Independence Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Independence Inn Motel

Property: Independence Inn Motel
Address: 440 S Edwards St, Independence, CA 93526-1774
Region: United States > California > Independence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
best porch-best view, WiFi,TV, and breakfast ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing