We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quite, comfortable with a yummy breakfast!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Independence
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mt. Williamson Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Independence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on our way up north and we were pleasantly surprised. The room was 2 from the 395, but we did not hear the road due to the insulation. Everything was clean and comfortable. Breakfast and conversation with Doug & Strider and another guest was awesome! I will stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnoBear18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

We stopped off en route to Yosemite NP from Death Valley. Compact (!) rooms, but functional and perfectly comfortable - at least Room 1 was. Fantastic cooked breakfast by the owner the following morning, and great advice about where to go and what to see. Lovely peaches, too, straight from the garden. The location means the motel is used a lot by hikers before they hit the trail. Reasonable rate, practical room, good location, friendly and helpful team - can't ask for much more.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alistair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

After a greuling 16 hours on the Whitney trail it was the perfect place to get some R and R ! Doug and Strider were great hosts.The motel has VERY comfortable new beds and new quilts.The breakfast was great! When I left I felt that I made two new friends

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank SPSTEVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We greatly enjoyed our stay in our clean, beautifully furnished cabin. Our 2 children loved it and played at a little picnic spot next door. The homemade breakfast with indoor and outdoor seating (we sat outside with a pristine view) is awesome! The owners Doug and Strider are so kind and helpful. They were giving rides for hikes and let us know the best place to fill up. Thank you so much! Hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familysquad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

This place was great ! The room was very clean with AC,TV and a excellent breakfast. I would recommended this place for anybody who would like a nice place to stay.We try to stay in Lone Pine but could not get a room because with had two small pugs (dogs) with us and Doug and Stryder took us in for night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ema M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Owner Doug is a fantastic guy, and he is always glad to help you out. Breakfast isn't just a few donuts and a banana like other places, but rather a full breakfast served indoors or outdoors with the cost part of the very modest room rate. Not just a great location for backpackers, but these proprietors go out of their way to help backpackers in particular but also all other travelers with their needs. I have found my new base camp for most of my Owens Valley trips, and I can't recommend the Mt. Williamson Motel highly enough!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DirtPig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Great place! Excellent rooms, deceptively spacious, AC, TV, separate bathroom. Fantastic breakfast, home cooked and sat outside to enjoy views. Owners helped with restaurant choices, etc. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nerradtreborsniktaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
16.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 8 in Lone Pine
723 reviews
15.4 mi away
Dow Villa Motel
Dow Villa Motel
#2 of 8 in Lone Pine
901 reviews
0.4 mi away
Independence Courthouse Motel
Independence Courthouse Motel
#3 of 3 in Independence
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Frontier Motel
0.4 mi away
Winnedumah Hotel
Winnedumah Hotel
#2 of 3 in Independence
53 reviews
15.2 mi away
Lone Pine Budget Inn & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Williamson Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Williamson Motel

Address: P.O. Box 128, 515 S Edwards Street, Independence, CA 93526-0128
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Independence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Independence
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic, clean, comfortable, historic cabins in a base camp setting at the foot of the Eastern Sierra Nevada. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mt Williamson Motel
Mt Williamson Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing