We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“25 th Anniversary”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Independence
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mt. Williamson Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Independence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Excellent place to stay. The owners went out of their way to ensure we had a wonderful and memorable experience for our anniversary. They even recommended the best taco wagon in town. The cabin was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Despite being right on the highway, noise was not an issue. Would definitely return for another stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Mt. Williamson Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

We loved our three-day stay at the Mt. Williamson Motel and Base Camp! My girlfriend and I were visiting the eastern Sierra with no plans in place. Thankfully Doug and Strider stepped in with guidance and maps. Thanks to them, we drove the incredibly short distance to the Kearsarge Pass trail head, and completed the four-hour round trip hike to the summit. They suggested two other hikes that were just as memorable, directed us to great dining in the area, and guided our weary bones to some amazing hot springs.

The beds and mattresses are new, the pillows, sheets and towels are fluffy, the price is right, and we'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LyleDelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

There are several mom & pop motels in town, and they all look pretty good, but they will have to get up very early in the morning to beat this team. Small room, but exceedingly clean. GREAT bed, hadn't slept that well since we left home two weeks ago. Breakfast cooked to order is a really nice touch. Fun meeting other travelers. We will stay again when we come through again.

Room Tip: They all look similar, but the road is noisy so you might want to try for one farthest from it.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SDCAPPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Strider and Doug provide the perfect place for zero days while backpacking on the JMT or PCT or traveling on 395. Great breakfast with opportunity to share stories with other travelers.
Accommodations are excellent - clean, comfortable and very accessible to the Owens Valley or High Sierras adventures. So relaxing that you might want to stay more than a day or two!!!
Attentive and caring are Strider and Doug!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeanderingMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Had to write a few words about our stay here. Room was not large but big enough for the two of us. Slept well and Towels were nice and soft (I love soft and fluffy towels) and a very clean room. The breakfast was great cooked and served by Doug the manager. We shared our breakfast with other travellers. We had been on the road in the usa for about 40 days and have to say this was one of our highlighted stays.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

After surviving the scorching heat of August in Death Valley, with its heart-stopping mountain curves, we so longed for a nearby stop but everything in Lone Pine was booked. Lucky for us! I called Mt. Williamson Motel and left a message on voicemail, and Doug called me back immediately. I told him where we were and where we had been, and he estimated what time we would arrive but suggested we might stop in Lone Pine for dinner (I had told him I had kids with me so he suggested a pizza place).
The pristine vintage motel is from the era of Model-T's-- a few very small cottages -- but with contemporary California updates. Each cottage has a private outdoor seating area, which you will want to use because of the glorious vista of sky and Sierra Nevada mountains. My kids disappeared in to the desert to look at the stars. The morning was comfortable and friendly with a personally-cooked breakfast and pleasant conversation, with news that the co-owner had left early to re-supply some hikers on the rim!

Room Tip: Go for the experience of the old "motor hotel" in the shadows of the mountains.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lacoose504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We loved our stay in a very clean, tastefully furnished suite with comfy bed and well supplied kitchen. Strider and Doug are friendly, helpful hosts both knowledgeable and enthusiastic about history and geography of area and surrounding hiking trails. On their advice we visited the nearby Onion Valley trailhead and enjoyed the Eastern Sierra History Museum with a first class collection of hundreds of Shoshone and Paiute native baskets as well as many other interesting exhibits. We feasted on fresh peaches grown outside our room and were graciously served a delicious and filling breakfast cooked and served by Strider and Doug. We ate at a cute mosaic table right on the shady porch as a warm breeze blew by with breathtaking mountain views both east and west ! We enjoyed the big horn sheep murals, the local wind chimes and the western themed metal artwork throughout the grounds. We look forward to returning to visit nearby Manzanar, the Alabama Hills and the Bristlecone Pine National Mounument. A wonderful find on 395!

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite with fully equipped kitchen, big screen tv and wonderfully comfortable bed.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leeno2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
16.9 mi away
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
Comfort Inn - Lone Pine
#3 of 8 in Lone Pine
702 reviews
15.4 mi away
Dow Villa Motel
Dow Villa Motel
#2 of 8 in Lone Pine
883 reviews
16.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Frontier Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Winnedumah Hotel
Winnedumah Hotel
#2 of 3 in Independence
50 reviews
0.4 mi away
Independence Courthouse Motel
Independence Courthouse Motel
#3 of 3 in Independence
80 reviews
15.1 mi away
Mt. Whitney Motel
Mt. Whitney Motel
#8 of 8 in Lone Pine
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Williamson Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Williamson Motel

Address: P.O. Box 128, 515 S Edwards Street (Hwy 395), Independence, CA 93526-0128
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Independence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Independence
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic, clean, comfortable, historic cabins in a base camp setting at the foot of the Eastern Sierra Nevada. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mt Williamson Motel
Mt Williamson Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing