We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Hotel Princess

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Princess
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I stayed here as part of a tour group and everyone seemed to enjoy the hotel, the location and the restaurant. It's right on the waterfront, but it has it's own indoor and outdoor pools. It was too early in the season for the outdoor pool to be open, but I used the indoor one in the evenings and it the water temp was nice and warm. The rooms are nice. I didn't have a view, but that wasn't a problem since I was only in my room to sleep. The dining room has a great view and we were able to eat on the patio a few times and watch the sunset. Breakfast and dinner were included and pretty average, but the staff was really great.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EUReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

I visited this hotel for a short stay in February. Although I did not expect much, I was kind of dissapointed with few things: first of all, although the hotel has rooms with sea view we were given a room facing the gas station nearby although the hotel seemed empty! I found it useless to even ask for it as the receptionist was kind of frown faced. Secondly, the rooms were very cold although clean enough. The restaurant was hidden and the breakfast was extremely limited. Finally, the hotel staff have issues with privacy: while I was taking a shower, the staff entered the room all of a sudden, they were apparently checking the minibar. So, you may get all this at a price of 70 euro a night per person.
Hope that you will be more lucky!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arben72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

over priced hotel. room is clean. they said it includes wellness but it turned out it's only swimming pool. the gym is closed and sauna and steam room not included. that was a misrepresentation. they agreed to include it. restaurant people very friendly but it's a very meat oriented place. steam room was broken but they managed to fix it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtraveler2392123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

I have now used the Hotel Princess in Bar for 3 training seminars over the past 12 months.

The staff and management have been very helpful and accommodating, nothing seems to be too much trouble for them and I have always found the staff very polite and pleasant. Not like the welcome in a lot of Balkan Hotels.

The training room in the downstairs is large and well equipped and the technical support team can configure the translation arrangements to suit the function, for example they have constructed booths for simultaneous translations and also came up with solutions for one on one consecutive translations for break out groups. The rooms and support equipment are extremely competitive.

The sleeping accommodation is spacious and most have balcony , some with sea view , others with park view, and the rooms are equipped with modern decor and spacious bathrooms. The double rooms unfortunately have two single beds pushed together , which is a little disappointing, hence my 4/5 rating.

I am a big fan of the breakfast, plenty of choice and in a buffet style, therefore adequate to set you up for the day. In addition the company has organized set lunches , which have been of a high standard with a lot of choices available and again served in a buffet style.

The hotel boasts a decent fitness centre, could have a few more free weights in my opinion, indoor and outdoor pools and is situated less than 100m from the pebble beach and beautiful Adriatic Sea.

All in all a good, competitively priced hotel, and great for hosting conferences and seminars.

Room Tip: WiFi is disappointingly only available in public areas, however hardwire is available in rooms for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MickWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a Leger coach tour to the Dalmatian coast. The hotel is about a 2 hour trip by road and ferry from Dubrovnik airport and is large and airy, with a soulless concrete area round the swimming pool. The beach across the road is typically pebble, but the hotel does have its own private section of beach with sun beds and umbrellas. Folding lightweight sunbed mattresses can be bought for around 5 euros at the little cluster of nearby shops.

I would strongly suggest bringing your own tea bags as the tea in the Dalmatian coast everywhere seems to be dishwater. Also I would advise bringing a travel kettle and some of those little pots of UHT semi skimmed milk if you can source any, as the milk over there is full fat long life and it took me a few days to realise that was what was upsetting my tummy.

The beds were comfortable and the hotel was very quiet most of the time, with no struggle to get a sun bed (but it was the beginning of September, and not high season).

The food in the dining room was pretty poor, especially as the hotel was meant to be 4 star. Sometimes the dining room ran out of tables but no-one seemed to be being proactive about setting up places at unused tables, so we were forced to ask - the staff need to show a bit more initiative instead of standing around gawping.

The barman was friendly and professional, and the reception staff were good too, it was just the dining room staff that let the hotel down.

The mini bar was half empty when we arrived, so I made sure to notify reception as soon as we got to our room that we hadn't had anything from it.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room before we travelled, but were put opposite a lift. Luckily the hotel was q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Snazbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

On arrival, I faced a square concrete monster... the charm of this hotel did not appeal immediately to me. OK, the location right on the sea promenade and the views are great. So are the outdoor pool and the restaurant terrace, the outdoor pool is a good point as there are no real beaches in Bar. The rooms are large and very well refurbished, the area is quiet at night, but the best is the stunning lobby and lounge: it looks like a film set for a Kaurismäki movie, very classy and classical ! 5 stars for the architect.

Room Tip: Sea view of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riehen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

From the previous reviews we did not have high expectations of the hotel - but were pleasantly surprised. Staff were all very helpful. Position is fantastic - we had a side view of the mountains/sports complex/sea - there was always something to watch, but it was never noisy. Hotel is a 4* which is warranted apart from dinner. Breakfast was fine - but the choices at dinner were poor. There was an outdoor and indoor swimming pool, plus massage facilities - but these did not appear to be operational. Bar is not a tourist destination - we were based there mainly because our tour included a day trip to Albania - not far on the map - but took 4.5 hours each way due to road conditions and slow border crossings.

Bar is a small town - suitable as a base for the area, but not much more. We spent a pleasant day exploring - but were lucky as it was a bank holiday, plus there was a rowing competition in the bay. Otherwise it would have been rather tame.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms or rooms on the north side would have best views and were quiet. Rooms at the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nortons21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bar
3.4 mi away
Sato Hotel
Sato Hotel
#1 of 3 in Sutomore
107 reviews
5.5 mi away
Wind Rose Resort by Karisma
Wind Rose Resort by Karisma
#3 of 3 in Dobra Voda
96 reviews
10.7 mi away
Montecasa Spa & Wellness
Montecasa Spa & Wellness
#4 of 10 in Petrovac
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Hotel Mediteran Ulcinj
Hotel Mediteran Ulcinj
#8 of 11 in Ulcinj
90 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hotel Palata Venezia
Hotel Palata Venezia
#2 of 11 in Ulcinj
31 reviews
17.0 mi away
Hotel Splendid Conference & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Princess

Address: Jovana Tomasevica 59, Bar, Bar Municipality 85000, Montenegro (Formerly Azalea Hotel Princess)
Region: Montenegro > Bar Municipality > Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bar
Price Range: £60 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Princess re-opens after complete renovation in 2007. Great location directly at the beach, only few minutes walk from the city center. 4-Star standard, suites available, indoor pool, outdoor pool, fitness, massage, hydro massage, sauna, steam bath, solarium, meeting and conference facilities, pool bar, lobby bar, a la carte restaurant, buffet restaurant, kids club. Rooms with air conditioning, minibar, safe, bathroom, Sat-TV, telephone, balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Princess Montenegro/Bar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing