We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place for exploring the Slovenian coast”
Review of San Simon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Simon Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Izola
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good place for exploring the Slovenian coast”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed 5 days in hotel Haliaetum. It is a good hotel and represents good starting point for the exploration of Slovenian coast.
Pros
- Good value for money, especially if you book some special offer
- Location not far from sea
- Friendly and professional stuff
- Good food
- Clean

Cons
- No internet in rooms
- Little bit outdated furniture/equipment in rooms
- All hotels from resort use the same restaurant area, so it can be very crowded around the tables with food

Regarding the Slovenian coast, it is not exactly the nicest location for summer vacation/swimming etc. We prefer to go there in the late spring or early autumn for relaxed vacation and long walks near the sea and in the nature. I don't recommend to go there in the peak summer season, since there is a small number of tiny and unattractive beaches, in no-way comparable to Greece or Spain.

Room Tip: - The best hotel in resort is Mirta, so if it is inside your budget, try to book it first. - If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkoB409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    47
    29
    6
    4
See reviews for
37
32
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed in Mirta Hotel which is a part of Simonov Zaliv resort. It has four stars which menas it has a slightly larger rooms, refrigerator and a balcony in comparison with three stars hotel within this Resort.
Rooms are really big and above all clean. The whole resort is a perfect place for families with small children. There is a whole day animation for your kid which ends with a Mini-disco on the beach at 8 p.m. every day.

The food wasn't perfect. What bothered me the most was the fact that if you came in the Restaurant towards closing down, you probably didn't have the same choice as the others.

Apart from that this is really a nice place with a pleasant 20-minutes walk to the city centre. Izola is one of the most beautiful cities on Slovenian coast.

The staff is helpful and kind and I would recommend this place to everybody.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Civo666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We spent our two weeks summer vacation at the hotel Mirta in San Simon resort. We found the hotel room clean and cozy, as well as the bathroom. The hotel services were beyond what a family with two small kids needs. The nearby beach has plenty of natural shadow as well as sun beds and umbrellas. The water is perfect in the morning, while later on, when the relatively small beach gets crowded, the sand in the sea tends to give a moody look at the water.
The restaurant is dislocated (50m from our hotel) and is self service organized, with plenty of choice for all tastes and ages. There’s even a small self-service buffet just for the children.
There’s an unobtrusive all day long animation for children, as well as for the adults. We saw an indoor swimming pool at the main building, with sea water, but it was closed during July and August.
The report quality-prize is more than fair. The all inclusive service pays it on in this occasion. I would certainly recommend this resort to families with children, since they provide the security of cleanliness and safety which is what I’m looking for, when I travel with my kids.

Room Tip: Rooms at the Mirta building are closest to the beach and to the restorant. The ones with the sea wie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poljanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I travel periodically to Izola and spend always 1-3 nights. Purpose of my travel is business, so can't write much about pleasure :) I am also not fan of Slovenian coast (dirty see for my taste), so I would never spend my summer holiday there.
This resort consists of 6 buildings, pretty different. Hotel Haliaetum is central building (reception desk is there) and certainly the best one (4 stars). Perla and Korala are 3 stars, and rooms are not anything special. Small dresser, no minibar, pretty ok beds and great balcony. No elevator, so you have to bring your luggage to second floor.
Restaurant is big, with nice view, and nice choice of food.
If you want to visit Izola town, you have to take a 15-minutes walk along the sea and marina

Room Tip: Take a room in central buildnig Haliaetum or building Mirta
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SabinaAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Domzale, Slovenia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We spent three nights in April there and were very satisfied with the personnel and cleanliness. The food was tasteful, there was a big choice of healthy and vegetarian dishes for breakfast, but less (vegetarian) choice for dinner. The rooms were quite cosy, only the pillows were a bit too high.
The hotel is situated in a bay with a nice beach and a lot of trees, but unfortunatelly polluted water is not something out of the ordinary (some yellow stuff was floating around) and there were jelly-fish in the sea. So I guess it could be a problem to find a spot to swim in summer months when the hotel swimming pool is closed.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katja_t_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warks
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2007

we stayed at this lovely resort for 2 nights, we found rooms and bathrooms a good size, clean and the restaurant was near the sea with lovely views and good food, lunch time they did a buffet for 8 euros each for soup, meat dish ,veg and salad and dessert eat all you can which we thought was good value. it has a indoor pool with limited opening hours, the beach is a pebble beach and is about 8 mins walk from reception, to get into the centre of izola near the marina is about 30 mins walk along the sea front

  • Liked — food and views
  • Disliked — slight smell coming from the bathroom drain
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elliemeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Izola
0.7 mi away
Hotel marina d.o.o.
Hotel marina d.o.o.
#1 of 6 in Izola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
2.5 mi away
Salinera Bioenergy Resort
0.1 mi away
Hotel Keltika
Hotel Keltika
#3 of 6 in Izola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Kempinski Palace Portoroz
0.8 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#2 of 6 in Izola
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#5 of 6 in Izola
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Simon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Simon Resort

Property: San Simon Resort
Address: Morova 6A, Izola 6310, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Slovenian Littoral Region > Slovenian Istria > Izola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Izola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — San Simon Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Simon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simonov Zaliv Hotel Izola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing