We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stay”
Review of Turizem Loka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Turizem Loka
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Skofja Loka
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A must stay”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Very warm welcome. Large car park, offered cold drink on arrival. Given VERY large room on ground floor. Room double bed, single bed and bunks, there’s only 2 of us!! AC working and very good, very large TV with a lot of English channels. Free Wi-Fi and a well-stocked mini bar. Excellent shower with hair dryer. Take your own towels, they are a bit rough and need some softener plus the large ones had a slight smell but this is the only fault. The owner offers a map of the area and she will tell you the best places to eat. We walked up to the church and the food was excellent the breakfast is wonderful, usual plus a choice of eggs and bacon boiled or scrambled eggs. It’s a solid 2 star only because of the lack of a restraint, which would put it up to 3 or 4 stars.

Room Tip: We had ground floor backing onto car park. Rooms above must have had a good view, but ours waas grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crisfree2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    21
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
40
35
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at Turizem Loka whilst travelling Slovenia in August. We were looking for somewhere relaxing and peaceful after a weeks walking and we certainly found it. Stara Loka was quaint, olde worldy and very beautiful and 5 minutes walk down the road Skofja Loka was without doubt the finest old town we saw in Slovenia (vs. Kamnik, Ljubljana, Kranj, Branik Stanjel and Radovljica and they're all worth a visit too). Our visti however was made by Saša (and Marko), who could not have been more welcoming or helpful. From tips on the best places to see in the Skofja and Stara Loka, and nearby Kranj and good walking trips in the Skofja Loka hills, to friendly help with bus and train times, and a lift to and from the stations with our backpacks. Room 5 (apparently the smallest - though very comfortable for 2) had a superb view of Stara Loka castle, church and the hills beyond (also topped with churches). The breakfast was the best we had in 22 mornings in Slovenia (and every morning since too!). We planned only one nights stay but opted for a second night. We'll stop by again next time we are in the area. Thanks to Saša and family for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tildebeest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We have read many good reviews before we booked a room in this family hotel so our expectations were high and we were definitely not disappointed. The place was easy to find even without gps, it has its own private (and free) parking and little playground in the back. It's only few minutes walk to the old town with many pleasant dining, coffee and walking options. The owner was very helpful with tips, she even knew opening hours of various restaurants.
We had a double room which was just what we needed, clean and comfortable and relatively big compared to other double rooms we stayed in during our vacation. Even the mini-bar prices were not too high :) Breakfast was also very pleasant, wide choice of both local and typical international options. We were even offered eggs to order! which you don't get even in 4 star hotels. We specially appreciated the fact that breakfast has no end time: they simply wait till all the guests have eaten. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lenka G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckville, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We recently spent three nights in this quaint little village. The hotel was a very short walk to the old city center. The owners were very helpful, providing a great breakfast and assistance for all train and bus information we needed to travel to nearby places. The capitol city is a short bus ride away! The apartment was very clean, and the breakfast provided every morning was good. Thank you Sasha and family!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanceMomTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Stayed 3 nights in one of the 2 story apartments - living room, kitchen, bathroom on the main floor and the 2 bedrooms up a rather steep set of stairs. Turizem Loka is very conveniently located a short walk from the Skofja Loka old town where we had dinner every night in a little pizza/pasta restaurant just on the other side of the pedestrian bridge. The apartment had everything we needed to base our stay in Slovenia - most sites are only a short drive away. There were maps readily available and Sasha was always very helpful. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tlc_too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netanya, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We are a family of five who spent almost a week in a family room with a fully equipped kitchen at Turizem Loka. The location is very good and it served as a base for travels to Klagenfurt, Austria in the north, Triest Italy in the south and obviously all touristic sites like the Postojna Caves, Bled, Bohinj, Ljubljana, etc. It has been a real pleasure to start the day with an excellent breakfast plus helpful tips and guidance provided by Sasha, the owner who speaks fluently English, German, Italian and Slovenian. It was also great to get back to a tidy room late in the evening, take a shower, and use the clean towels.
The only drawbacks were that some of us woke up by the nearby town church which rings every half hour during the night and even longer and louder quite early in the morning. It is probably not as bothering in other rooms. The second point is the sofa bed which, is not comfortable for children over 8 yrs. So for groups of more than four persons, it is recommended to reserve two rooms rather than one family room.

Room Tip: The family room is suitable for up to four persons
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilany1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We were spoiled by Sasha and the Turzem Loka. This very nice agroturism facility in the medieval city was close to all the city's sites The Turizem Loka was a gem. We had a beautiful room, an Enlgish speaking hostess who cheerfully picked us up in a generous van at the train station (and returned us the following day), and gave us extra time to advise us on how best to explore the old city center. This was a real value! The breakfast was truly generous. There are cows on the first floor with a manure bin near to the entry; but, this is all the farm-like character you're likely to see.

Room Tip: Any room is just fine! Many international travelers end up here. Sasha speaks very good English, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skofja Loka
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garni Paleta
Hotel Garni Paleta
#2 of 4 in Skofja Loka
162 reviews
14.6 mi away
Bit Center Hotel
Bit Center Hotel
#25 of 31 in Ljubljana
239 reviews
12.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hotel Silvester & Wellness
11.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Ljubljana Mons
13.3 mi away
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turizem Loka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turizem Loka

Property: Turizem Loka
Address: Stara Loka 8a, Skofja Loka 4220, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Skofja Loka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Skofja Loka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Turizem Loka 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turizem Loka is a new family accommodation with an exceptional position in the old town core of mediaeval Skofja Loka, almost in the centre of Slovenia, only 20 km far away from Ljubljana and 17 km from Ljubljana Airport. Our hotel has 6 modern equipped rooms (for 1-3 person) and 3 apartments (for 2-6 person). Our surroundings offer numerous possibilities of visiting the rich cultural historical heritage as well as vast options of active spending of spare time by taking up thematic and hiking paths or cycling trails, fishing, skiing on arranged ski slopes and many other activities. Besides accommodation we also offer our guests relaxation in the wellness centre, seminar organization, and we also organize sightseeing and trips to the near and far surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Turizem Loka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turizem Loka Slovenia/Skofja Loka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing