We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Casa Sampo”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Casa Sampo

Pool and views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool and views
Swimming pool Views from the pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Pool and views
Swimming pool
Views from the pool
Main Bedroom
Lounge/Diner
Lounge/Diner
Bedroom Two
Bedroom Three
Walk around lovely gardens
Relax in the shade
Gardens
Perched on the hill
The Gorge at El Chorro
Views at Ronda
Views at Ronda
Malaga at Christmas
Feel that cool water even in late evening
Enter a caption for your photo
Coin on New Years Eve
Part of house garden
The lakes at El Chorro
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Alora, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Lauren L
1 review
“Casa Sampo”
Reviewed 1 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We have returned to Casa Sampo many times with family and friends and seen hosts Sue and Miguel grow in confidence and hospitality over the years. They both have lots of knowledge of the surroundings and events and have lots of ideas for things to do whether you want an active or a restful break.
The apartment is always clean, comfortable and well kitted out for self catering, however Sue's home cooking is also worth a try (Meals can be added on to your booking, so just ask)!
Swimming pool, patio and covered terrace, and great views. Good access and local links to nearby authentic Spanish towns, and visits to the lakes and Malaga seafront are a must. Perfect for families or small groups of mates. We will be back soon...!! ✈️☀️

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2017
So sorry this is a late response for some reason it has only just come through!! Great review many thanks and great to meet you all again, it is such a pleasure when guests return. Hope you can make it again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianeB143
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A great relaxing break”
Reviewed 24 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We have just returned from an 11 day holiday at Casa Sampo where we had a lovely relaxing time. The apartment is really well equipped with everything you need to self cater. The bed was super comfy and all linen and towels are top quality. The pool and garden areas are delightful with plenty of seating and sunbeds. When we could tear ourselves away from enjoying the sun we found plenty of interesting places to visit and took advantage of the local excellent train service to visit Ronda and Malaga. The two nearby towns of Pizarra and Alora are well worth a visit and both have good supermarkets. We ate out a few times and can highly recommend the bar at Pizarra train station for tapas and drinks, really good value and lovely people. Sue and Miguel were first class hosts, always ready with help and advice. Thank you so much it was really sad to leave.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2017
So glad you were able to relax and enjoy our little bit of paradise. It was a pleasure to meet you both. Its always nice to hear what trips guests take and we will on your recommendation do the train journey to Ronda, one of my favourite places to visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
violaManc...
manchester
Level 5 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Casa Sampo- one to remember!”
Reviewed 15 November 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This a very late review. Casa Sampo- what can I say?
We had the most wonderfully relaxed and enjoyable holiday .
The apartment was great, location beautiful, pool and the outside space superb.The local towns of Alora and Pizzarra were interesting and good food was to be had in both.
Short trip by a fast and efficient rail service into Malaga - a wonderful city.
The holiday was made however by the outstanding hosts at Casa Sampo, nothing was too much trouble and they went out of their way to make our holiday enjoyable. Miguel gave us figs and tomatoes from the garden, Sue made my husband a birthday cake and helped my son contact universities back home when his A level results came out and helped find information about football matches in Malaga. Both Sue and Miguel were happy to chat but never intruded on our privacy. We had two 18 year olds with us who found them easy and relaxed to talk to as well.
The dog's were wonderfully friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay of 3 weeks. I have to say though that it was TK the cat that won all of our hearts! Thank you all for a great holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2016
So glad we were able to make your stay memorable. It was a pleasure to meet you all, wonderful for us to have such interesting company. Kind regards from Casa Sampo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie120...
Antequera, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Idyllic perfection”
Reviewed 16 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The other reviews are all spot on - the location, the views the facilities - all faultless! Everything is immaculate, very clean and in great condition. The owners live on site and are super-helpful in every way possible but are very discreet in their presence. They have 2 very friendly and well behaved dogs who are ultra placid and cute. We have never stayed anywhere where we have been looked after so well, so much so we are going back again for a few days in November!!! Cant recommend highly enough - both as a peaceful escape, but also as a base for exploring. There is a local walking group too that have organised walks and they are a super-friendly bunch ( we know as we went walking with them! ) Loads to do in the area - all round brilliant!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The fact we had to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2016
Thanks for that glowing report, it was a pleasure to meet you both and look forward to seeing you again in November.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magua451
Gemert, The Netherlands
1 review
“It couldn't be better”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a great time. The owner is really helpful and was able to shop for us before arrival. They cooked a delicious meal for us on the evening we walked El camminito del Rey. The scenery is beautiful. There is a lot to be seen in de neighboorhood. Every morning we picked oranges from the trees in the garden. We would highly recommend staying here

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The helpfull owners
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2016
Thanks for the great comments it means a lot to us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gag023
Crawley
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a wonderful time staying here . The apartment is clean, tidy and has everything you need. The owner is really helpful and was able to shop for us before arrival, arrange tickets for the Kings walk and cook a meal for us on the evening we arrived. The scenery is beautiful and we can't wait to return. We would highly recommend staying here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2015
Thanks for that great review. its been a pleasure to meet you, many thanks for letting me tag along on the Kings Walk a wonderful experience! Look forward to seeing you again when you are next over this way, enjoy the rest of your travels!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singerlew...
Lewes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant again!!!”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our second fortnight at gorgeous Casa Sampo. Was such a relaxing holiday but we also managed to walk the Caminito del Rey, the Rio di Chillar, El Torcal, the Lakes, Malaga, Mijas and a few days in Cordoba. Brilliant location to get around Andalucia and only 30 minutes from Malaga airport and short drive to supermarkets, restaurants etc. Totally relaxing at the apartment, beautiful pool and terraces and shady area to escape the boiling sun! So wonderful sipping wine and admiring the wonderful views of the mountains and olive, lemon and orange groves that surround the Casa. Sue and Miguel are fabulous, welcoming, considerate and discreet hosts and are full of wonderful ideas of where to visit and eat and kindly left a delicious homemade lemon cake and wine for our arrival. The friendly dogs Malungo and Mafuta kept our teenage boys occupied for hours. Would highly recommend this holiday home. We will definitely be going back for a third trip very soon.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2015
Thanks for another great review, was really good to see you all again! Don't the boys grow up quickly! Glad you all relaxed and had a great holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing