We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One word 'Transcendent'”
other travellers have booked this property
House and Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House and Pool
Finca Fenix Garden fountain
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
House and Pool
Finca Fenix
Garden fountain
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Alora, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
willow921
Mauchline, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“One word 'Transcendent'”
Reviewed 11 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

From the second we arrived our hosts Mark & Kim ensured our very need was catered for and then some. Since our last visit Kim & Mark have worked their hearts out extending the gardens, creating secluded terraces with magnificent views across the roof tops to the mountains. It took me into the second week to discover it all! We ventured out to Malaga and Torremolinos during our stay using the trains and the staff at the train station couldn't have been more helpful with train times and giving us the cheapest options for travelling. In fact all of the people in the village were friendly and helpful especially when we were trying out our Spanish or when foolishly walking the main road up from the train station. Forever grateful to the lovely driver who stopped and gave us a lift. Tapas locally are top quality, we highly recommend the bar across from d knas for aubergines with honey, we're keeping d knas on the list for our next visit :) For carne con tomato, cuttle fish and cod try Cafe bar Plaza in Plaza Sta Ana, from the main square with the fountains head along to the traffic lights and head straight up the hill its worth the walk. When you come back down have a beer or vino in the bar next to the traffic lights and try their chicken wings too, go on you're on holiday! If you want a relaxing, secluded haven with the option to adventure on your doorstep then don't look any further...Finca Fenix has it all! Thanks again guys for creating this Arcadian Shangri la xxx

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2017
Thanks very much for the great review. It was a treat to see you all again although I had to run off to London for most of your trip. Never seen Neil so chilled it was almost alarming! Hope the effects sustain you a while longer and look forward to seeing you again when possible. All the best. Mark & Kim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 15 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Great place. Really enjoyed our stay as a family with 2 small children. Pool is really nice and there's a good environment for kicking back and relaxing. Mark is fantastic, very helpful and welcoming. We took Mark's advice and got a local lady to make us some Spanish food. Was delicious! Recommend doing this. Alora is nice and the lakes (40 mins away) are stunning. I definitely highly recommend a stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2017
Thanks for your recommendation guys. It was great to have you stay with us and hope very much to see you again. All the very best. xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Relaxing and tranquil”
Reviewed 10 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Finca is set in tranquil grounds with lots of seating areas around the place that you are free (encouraged) to explore and use. Mark and Kim are the perfect hosts; on site if required but keeping their distance, not intruding on your privacy and nothing is too much trouble. Having said that they are so friendly and accommodating that they make you feel like long established friends rather than someone that they have just met.
There are however a few issues to note. The doorways inside the Finca are quite low and if you are over 6ft (1.8m) you will have to learn to duck. The lane to the Finca is only a dirt track with no lighting so if you venture into the town at night you will have to drive to the end of the lane.
Great Tapas served at De Knas in Alora - good selection at reasonable prices, the dates wrapped in bacon are superb.
Overall a nice base for exploring the area and places to visit are;
1) The pathway walk at El Caminito Del Rey - stunning views and an absolute must if you are in this area. It is advisable to book online in advance and get an early slot.
2) Rhonda - really pretty town split across a gorge.
3) Malaga city centre - visit Casa Aranda for churros and chocolate, its the oldest Churreria in Malaga and is near the Mercardo Central.
4) The caves at Nerja - book online or go early.
5) Frigiliana - probably the prettiest village in Spain.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2017
Hiya guys
Thanks for your feedback and review. It was great to meet you all and hope to see you back again soon. All the best Mark & Kim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarehutc...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect friendly retreat”
Reviewed 19 February 2017 for a stay in December 2016

What can you not like about this gorgeous finca set in beautiful gardens hidden away from the hustle and bustle. Mark and Kim are absolute darlings and nothing is too much trouble. We arrived boxing day night to the biggest warmest welcome ever. We hired a car and found that everywhere we wanted to visit was just half-hour away. Perfect location. Definitely recommend you will not be disappointed. 5 Stars from us can't wait to go back. Xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2017
Hiya guys
Thanks so much for your review and hope to see you again soon.
All the best
Mark & Kim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's a bit like finding shangrilah”
Reviewed 28 December 2016 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Have just found your new website and wanted to say how rejuvinated we all felt after our stay with you. Being a gardener myself I particularly appreciated the artistic planting. The atmosphere was so peaceful; the location felt so private, yet had such easy access to the area. Having you guys available for guidance and recommendations was a real bonus. Thanks so much, will see you again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2016
Thank you very much for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you again soon. All the best. Mark and Kim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upholland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the attention to detail and cleanliness
Liked least: the was nothing not to like
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Aug 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave that review. We are delighted that you had such a great time staying at Finca Fenix. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! All the best Mark & Kim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Jun 2015
Thanks for your kind comments and hope to see you again soon. All the best Mark & Kim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing