We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“.A perfect getaway from city life. A wonderfully...”
other travellers have booked this property
House and Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House and Pool
Finca Fenix Garden fountain
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
House and Pool
Finca Fenix
Garden fountain
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Alora, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Nanninoon...
LondonUK
1 review
“.A perfect getaway from city life. A wonderfully private place to chill out”
Reviewed 28 January 2010 for a stay in December 2009

We spent a wonderful week over Christmas at Finca Fenix. It was fairly cold but we had log fires and the kitchens have all mod cons to conjure up all the necessary culinary delights which are easily bought in nearby supermarkets. Although tucked away down a farm road , access to Granada, Malaga and all the cultural highlights is extremely easy, although a car is necessary and Both Malaga and Torremolinos have a good nightlife. There is a train station within walking distance which has a pretty regular service into Malaga. There are also some beautiful lakes close by with a restaurant that does a fab paella!! We found that there was something for all the diverse tastes that my family reqires..Yay!! In the summer a plunge in the pool in the early morning to the sound of the birds in the lovely garden is a wonderful wake up call!! Thoroughly recomended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cariadke
London UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A real gem from which to enjoy the beauty and peace of Andalucía”
Reviewed 28 January 2010 for a stay in April 2009
1
person found this review helpful

We visited Finca Fenix in Easter 2009 with my husband and my parents to see the Easter parades in Malaga which run for a whole week before Easter Sunday. They were amazing, colourful, huge and very noisy! Malaga is a beautiful city with fabulous restaurants and bars. We were able to make the return trip from the Finca into Malaga on the local train so we were all able to sample the spectacular Spanish tapas and wine. The Finca is just what you need after busy city life. It is near enough to the local town, Alora, to walk to the supermarket but situated in such a way that you feel as if you are in the only villa in the area. The rooms are decorated in the local Spanish style and are very comfortable but the big winner for us all was the beautiful garden and outdoor pool which was just what you needed after a day sightseeing or walking in the hills just behind the Finca. It is situated in a beautiful part of Andalucía and Alora is a very traditional town with shops, bars and restaurants. We all loved it so much we are planning a return this year. Also not to forget Mark and Kim who are two of the best hosts. Always helpful and happy, nothing was too much trouble. We look forward to visiting this part of Spain again soon and enjoying the warm welcome and hospitality at Finca Fenix.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackcurr...
Manchester, UK
1 review
“Total tranquility”
Reviewed 5 November 2009 for a stay in October 2006

We booked the whole holiday over the internet; flight, accommodation, car. It couldn't have been bettered; everything went like clockwork.
Finca Fenix (self catering) is quiet and in itself fairly remote, yet all that we needed was close at hand. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts (living in the upstairs half, we rented the bottom half) to the extent of ringing and booking in advance tickets for our visit to Grenada and lending us their total collection of DVDs. We have not been on many holidays where we found ourselves totally relaxed and feeling totally at home immediately on arrival. The accommodation itself was comfortable and up to date, enhanced by the many pets - cats, peacocks......

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marguerit...
Cardiff
1 review
“What a gem!”
Reviewed 2 November 2009 for a stay in October 2009

Open the gates and it's like stepping into your own little paradise. Amongst the quite dry surrounding countryside this is literally an oasis of peace and tranquillity. It is completely private with a very well planned, visionary layout and facilities - various tiled terraces and patio areas with plenty of seating for eating/drinking/socialising or just lounging round the pool, beautiful mature gardens with amazing colours of hibiscus and bougainvillea and tall palm trees, with fig, lemon, orange and olive trees on the upper terraces - fresh green figs for breakfast were to die for. The farmhouse is delightful - it's been very sympathetically restored and gave us everything we needed. We had intentions of making at least a few trips out to see some of the local sites, but apart from driving up to El Chorro and the lakes on our last evening (which was incredible and well worth the effort), we were content to spend our time at Finca Fenix, with just occasional visits to Mercadonna (the local supermarket). A brilliant, relaxing holiday in a beautiful setting - just what we needed. Thank you so much. MARGUERITE & PETER

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradders1...
London, UK
1 review
“Peace and quiet, romance and good eating! Interested? You should be!”
Reviewed 31 October 2009 for a stay in October 2009

What can I say? Well I can start by saying what a lovely place the hosts have built up. This was our first time to Spain and so we weren't too sure how we would like it. About the villa, the hosts have renovated the building and grounds themselves and there was a great photo album showing the various stages of the development which made it all feel so much more personal. I feel I should mention that this isn't just a guest villa but the second home of the hosts. They weren't present during our trip but were always available by phone and email on the few occasions we wanted advice. The work has been done very tastefully and at much expense, that was clear throughout. It made for a very relaxing and comfortable stay. Outside the the grounds just ask to be explored with many fruit trees to pick your breakfast from!
We went for a quiet relaxing holiday and a break from our stressful jobs. We ate out at the local restaurants which were recommended in the on-site guide quiet a few times and were not disappointed. They were reasonably priced because Alora is not a tourist centre and the food was just lovely, Candela being our favourite. We also cooked in the kitchen a fair bit. The actual area in which you cook is fairly small but was more than adequate to prepare meals for 4 with all the equipment you would find in your own home (and more!). There is also a washing machine in the utility room adjacent to the ground floor villa.
We spent a lot of our day time around the pool sunbathing, reading and listening to music through the outdoor speakers! There is also the National Park and lakes up past El Chorro which just HAS to be visited. Kayaks and pedalo's as available for hire, which we did one day and it used the opportunity to pop the question to my partner!!! The scenery is so beautiful, it was just perfect!
We didn't go for any big nights out as we just wanted a quiet, relaxing time but I understand that Malaga is a big night out if that is what you want. It took us about 30-40 minutes driving at a reasonably chilled pace on the day we went sight-seeing. The Cathedral and Museum of Picasso were enjoyable and our meal out delicious (again another recommendation from the guide in the villa).

One thing I will say, is you will want a hire car with you as even the shops are a fair walk away, but only 5 minutes in the car. The journey from the villa to the main road is up a rough stone track that winds its way to a steep tarmaced t-junction at the main road.

At the rear of the grounds is a railway line which rarely has a train on it now there is a new main line a few miles away. The few passenger trains that did go by were slow and pretty quiet considering!

Overall, I can give the holiday a big thumbs up. I have deducted one point for service as there may or may not be an actual host there when you stay but this didn't prove an issue for us as they were always available by phone and email (wi-fi is free and surprisingly very fast!). I have also deducted one point for location as you wouldn't get far without a hire car, however this might be just what you are looking for, privacy, peace and quiet!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOPEZ J
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2018
Thanks so much it was lovely to meet you all and very much looking forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofie224
Merelbeke, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2017
Thanks for the great review! It was lovely to meet you all and look forward to seeing you again soon. Amazingly there are still a few things on your todo list :) Hugs Mark & Kim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing