We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stopover hotel”
Review of Duran

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Duran
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Alora
Bedford
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Pleasant stopover hotel”
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We stayed in Alora at Hotel Duran on a cycling tour of Andalucia. The hotel is well placed near the central square of this authentic Spanish town and meets all your basic needs with clean rooms, good air conditioning and an impressively sized wooden front door ! Breakfast was the usual bread, jam and coffee. The hotel owner was very friendly and welcoming, allowing us to store our bikes in the entrance foyer. Good place for an overnight stop.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ProfBobUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    15
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

This was very good value for money, it was clean and we had a balcony overlooking the castle where we were served breakfast which included the best cup of tea we'd had in Spain. I would certainly stay in the Duran again if I wanted to stay in Alora

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking out over the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SMHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2009

We looked for somewhere convenient for El Chorro gorge and Malaga airport which it certainly was, about 45 mins away (plus getting lost round the aiport roadworks) Hostal Duran is fairly basic, although we had the better room with a balcony overlooking the arab castle. Parking can be fraught, the streets are very narrow. Breakfast basic toast and croissants. Paco the owner is very nice, but has little english. Depends what you are looking for. Alora has few restaurants, but the Candela a few doors up was good

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andygord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 February 2003

I stayed in Hostal Duran in Feb 2003, it is a lovely place, friendly owners who don't speak much english, on a little paved street in Alora just off the main square. The only thing we had really to complain about was that it was pretty cold at that time of year, there being no heating and bare tiled floors. We had a wonderful view though, out to the back of Alora looking up at the castle, the room was spotless, small and basic, as was the bathroom.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alora
6.5 mi away
Complejo Turistico Rural La Garganta
8.7 mi away
Apartamentos Ardales
Apartamentos Ardales
#1 of 2 in Ardales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
8.0 mi away
Gce Hoteles
Gce Hoteles
#1 of 1 in Estacion de Cartama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
La Posada Del Conde
La Posada Del Conde
#2 of 2 in Ardales
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
13.5 mi away
La Casa Grande del Burgo
La Casa Grande del Burgo
#1 of 2 in El Burgo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.8 mi away
Caminito del Rey
Caminito del Rey
#2 of 18 in Alora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duran

Property: Duran
Address: Calle Parra 9, 29500 Alora, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Alora
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Alora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Duran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing