We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place and lovely yurt”
Review of Alora Yurts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alora
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alora Yurts
Ranked #3 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Alora
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing place and lovely yurt”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This place is perfect- amazing views, super romantic and cozy candlelit yurt, great pool and kitchen facilities.
we chose to cater for ourselves and the kitchen was perfectly equipped (plus a few borrowed items from Sara :) ). We were told the food Sara cooked was amazing as well.

the yurt was fantastic, the best bed we've ever slept in!
the dogs were all very friendly and really added something to our stay.

we spent a lot of time in alora which is a lovely town full of great CHEAP tapas bars!
we hired a car which meant we could be very flexible but Sara and Darren give lifts all over.

all in all a very special spot and we hope to return sometime :)


  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emma r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    3
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
76
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We only had two nights here and could have easily stayed for more. We loved the setting with beautiful views and many areas to sit and relax. The pool is lovely and there is even a hot tub!! What an unexpected luxury! There is beautiful furniture, intricate lamps and carefully placed mirrors dotted around everywhere and the feel is laid back.
Sara and Darren couldn't have been more friendly or welcoming. They are very warm and open and really happy to help with anything we needed. Breakfast was a real delight and there is an option to self cater too with a fridge and small hob. They have an honesty fridge with really well priced beer, wine and cava! A bottle of fizz in the hot tub!!! Fantastic!
They do have pet dogs and though they are well behaved it is worth noting.
We would love to stay here again and hope to make the trip back soon :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katelytaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at Alora Yurts at the end of May and enjoyed every minute of it! Sara and Darren were so friendly and welcoming and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. Sara's cooking really was amazing and a well stocked honesty bar meant you couldnt want for anything! As the sun sets Sara would light all the candles around the site making it a truly magical setting. The Yurt was beautiful, full of eastern inspired furniture and the most comfortable bed!!

The pool was kept to very high standards and so refreshing under the spanish sun! We were asked every evening whether we would like to use the hot tub, which was so relaxing after a day of sightseeing!!

There are sun loungers and little secluded seating areas dotted around the site as well as your own private seating area outside your Yurt along with lanterns and wind chimes that adorn the trees, this place has all the charm you could want and was truly an escape from our hectic lives!! I particularly loved the mismatched crockery that breakfast and dinner was served in, giving it a truly vintage feel!!

Darren and Sara have some adorable dogs, each with their own personalities, by the end of the week I found it very hard to say goodbye to them!!

We hired a car which was really great as the surrounding mountain roads are really picturesque. A trip to the nearby lakes is really worth a visit, they are truly stunning!!

All in all we had a really relaxing time in beautiful surroundings and would definitely go back again!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Lola which had a huge bed and was very spacious, its the closest to the house so conven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We got back from Alora Yurts a couple of weeks ago and i'm missing it tons already! The location and setting is absolutely perfect. As well as having the feeling that you're a million miles away from everyone and everything, you also have really easy links to the road and railways so you really do get the best of both worlds.

You do not get better than Sara's delicious home cooked meals so don't even try find anywhere better (because you wont, we tried!!). Darren drove us to the shops and even up to the Lakes one day for a beautiful day in the sunshine. If you do go to Alora Yurts, you have to visit the Lakes - they are absolutely amazing. We also really enjoyed getting to know Sara, Darren and the doggies a little better. It was really lovely to sit outside with a glass of wine chin wagging on an evening!

I went feeling quite stressed which worried me that I wouldn't be able to relax but within the hour I was completely at ease. Whether you're ligging by the pool or reading a book laid on one of the many hammocks and beds scattered across the land there's always somewhere to completely switch off and feel at ease!

We will definitely be back and highly recommend :)

Room Tip: We had a couple of nights in a Yurt and a couple of nights in the Tipi - would definitely recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Just got back dont want to say too much, but a wonderful place with a comfy bed exquisite vegetarian and seafood dinners and lovely hosts.I even saw four bee eaters on the walk down to the valley..Nirvana

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 313klf313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We have just returned from 3 nights at Alora Yurts, and i still can't quite believe how wonderful this place is! The site is set in the most beautiful, idyllic location- with the stunning views which ever way you turn. Everything has been really carefully considered to ensure guests feel welcome and comfortable- and it's completed geared around relaxation! Darren and Sara are very genuine and lovely people, who go out of their way to make sure people are happy. They are very skilled in creating a great atmosphere. Everything is aesthetically very beautiful, with plentiful seating areas, hammocks etc in secluded areas as well as more social ones. We stayed in the Yurt with the round bed- which is the most comfortable bed i've ever slept on, and is the decor is really pretty. Darren and Sara also have some wonderful rescue dogs, who were the icing on the cake for me! We would love to stay at Alora Yurts again- it's something very special indeed

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazelw1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

As a single woman travelling alone, I couldn't of stumbled across a better place. As soon as I met Sara at the airport, I knew I was going to have a great time. I felt at home straight away. Darren and Sara are two of the most amazing people I have had the pleasure of spending time with, and they made my holiday experience something to cherish forever.
Add to the mix, amazing cooking, beautiful views and enough dogs to make you feel loved forever, you'll definitely come home feeling all warm and fuzzy! I'll be coming back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 13LectricLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alora
6.6 mi away
Complejo Turistico Rural La Garganta
2.3 mi away
Hidden Valley Andalucia
24.6 mi away
Camping Cabopino
Camping Cabopino
#11 of 62 in Marbella
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Camping la Buganvilla
Camping la Buganvilla
#23 of 62 in Marbella
45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camping Almocita
Camping Almocita
#1 of 1 in Almocita
5 reviews
23.5 mi away
Casas Rurales El Balatin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alora Yurts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alora Yurts

Property: Alora Yurts
Address: La Morena, 29500 Alora, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Alora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Alora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
three beautiful mongolian yurts all with fantastic views. Each yurt has been furnished to a high standard and share pool and hot tub both with views. The yurts are spaced well apart to provide privacy and peace during your stay. We have created a relaxing environment for people to unwind completely. You can self cater or meals can be delivered to your yurt. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing