We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place, just be aware you may relax too much!”
Review of Alora Yurts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alora
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alora Yurts
Ranked #3 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Alora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is an overdue review (sorry Darren & Sara - we were so chilled after our holiday its taken us a while to get round to this - oh yeah and we had a baby!)

We had an amazing stay with Darren & Sara back in April. THey are a fabulous couple who are just wonderful folks, friendly, chatty, professional and they will always go that extra mile for their guests should you need it (great antenatal advice too, thanks Sara ;)).

If you like your countryside rugged, you will find the location jaw-dropping. You are surrounded by stunning mountains, citrus trees, olives and figs, oh and a few dogs too (Zaffy is ours BTW, we will be back to collect her at some point so hands off!).
The wildlife is pretty spectacular too, so take some bins if you want to see lots of raptors overhead.

Facilities at the site are great, you can either eat some of Sara's amazing and very reasonably priced home cooked food, or cater for yourself. We did a mix of both, but on the nights we did our own thing we found ourselves drooling over the shoulder's of guests who had chosen Sara's food. She offered a few options for every course and included some lovely veggie meals. Breakfast needs a special mention, it is an event all of it's own. A tray the size of Wales is brought to your Yurt's door. On the coutry-sized platter we had fresh fruit, cooked and cured meats, eggs, freshly baked bread, cheeses, a cake or two, tea, coffee, toast and jams/honey, cuddly toy etc. Breakfast was served at 10 (ish) for us, and we rarely left our table (which had a 360 degree panoramic view of the surrounding countryside btw) before lunch time.

The pool offered much needed respite from the midday sun, and there's a hot tub too! The loo's with views are an absolute hoot, and the shower block is the most romantic camping style bathroom I have ever seen.

Never stayed in a Yurt before but found it to be a wonderful experience, and the guys have decked out the yurts beautifully with wonderful furnishings and the cutest log burners (it was April and we didn't really need the fire, but the caveman inside me couldn't resist). The space was amazing!

We were lucky and had an amazing and interesting bunch of guests staying the week we did. Obviously you can't guarantee what the company will be like, but the nice thing here is that you can be as engaged, or disengaged as you like. There is plenty of space between the yurts, so you hardly notice your fellow guests from your private domain, and if you want to be sociable just wonder down to the pool or the outdoor living room and a few hours later you will find yourself merry and with a new friend.

The only problem with this place was it did relax us almost to the point of apathy, and beyond reading, drinking, chatting and playing with dogs, we did bugger all. We had intended to go to Seville and Malaga and here and there, but none of it happened, and the holiday was better for it.

If you want to get away from it all, go to Alora Yurts!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Larry-Bertlemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

**if you don't want to read some spoilers about this place, don't read on - just be assured it is next level amazing - romantic & magical***

Alora Yurts is an intimate, magical yurt site nestled in the crook of a mountainous valley above the white & terracotta town of Alora in Andulucia surrounded by orange and lemon groves. With no light pollution, sunset facing and an out of this world view; within seconds you realise you are somewhere very special indeed.

It then gets better from there on in.

There are three double bed yurts and one tippee each located in its own private enclave with seating area. All four have fantastic competing views of the valley. The site is the passion & hard graft of Sara and Darren who ran a yurt site in the UK before departing for sunnier climes. They are both great company: interested in their customers but strike the right balance on interacting with guests and how much interaction guests want amongst each other. Perfect!

There is also a uniqueness they have created that can not be aped by other yurt sites either here or abroad (and this is my 3rd time yurting) First off they have an eye for style - vintage, quirky and comfortable. Our yurt made me audibly gasp; it was that beautiful (Daisy). This made for the most romantic setting my husband and I have been in during our 6 year + relationship. Secondly they are generous & spirited people, they drove us to the lakes, offered to take us places and collected us from the train station as we don't drive. Finally; the food! Amazing cooking by Sara, delivered by Darren - all very reasonably priced. We left tanned, nourished and looked after. So delicious I asked Sara everyday for her recipes and each day she produced a multi option menu where dishes arrived in stunning crockery and trays.

You are not obliged to eat on site and can self cater.There is no pressure.

Within the site there is an honor bar stacked with cost price cava (4 euro - whoopie), wine, beers and soft drinks, a good sized swimming pool with swing sofas, day beds, hammocks, a telescope for star gazing, hot tub for starry nights and sunsets (hidden behind a tree festooned with fairy lights).

With no electricity, we took the opportunity to switch off from the outside world. we were never bored. It was wonderful.

Lastly Sara & Darren have a motley crew of pet dogs. We personally fell in love with Syd (posh man baby polar bear) and wanted to take him home with us. Only two or three of the dogs regularly interact with the customers and we found their presence really added to the serenity and balance of our holiday.

If the above is up your street and you like the idea of staying in a yurt we can't recommend Alora yurts highly enough.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julia7249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This place is perfect- amazing views, super romantic and cozy candlelit yurt, great pool and kitchen facilities.
we chose to cater for ourselves and the kitchen was perfectly equipped (plus a few borrowed items from Sara :) ). We were told the food Sara cooked was amazing as well.

the yurt was fantastic, the best bed we've ever slept in!
the dogs were all very friendly and really added something to our stay.

we spent a lot of time in alora which is a lovely town full of great CHEAP tapas bars!
we hired a car which meant we could be very flexible but Sara and Darren give lifts all over.

all in all a very special spot and we hope to return sometime :)


  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emma r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We only had two nights here and could have easily stayed for more. We loved the setting with beautiful views and many areas to sit and relax. The pool is lovely and there is even a hot tub!! What an unexpected luxury! There is beautiful furniture, intricate lamps and carefully placed mirrors dotted around everywhere and the feel is laid back.
Sara and Darren couldn't have been more friendly or welcoming. They are very warm and open and really happy to help with anything we needed. Breakfast was a real delight and there is an option to self cater too with a fridge and small hob. They have an honesty fridge with really well priced beer, wine and cava! A bottle of fizz in the hot tub!!! Fantastic!
They do have pet dogs and though they are well behaved it is worth noting.
We would love to stay here again and hope to make the trip back soon :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katelytaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at Alora Yurts at the end of May and enjoyed every minute of it! Sara and Darren were so friendly and welcoming and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. Sara's cooking really was amazing and a well stocked honesty bar meant you couldnt want for anything! As the sun sets Sara would light all the candles around the site making it a truly magical setting. The Yurt was beautiful, full of eastern inspired furniture and the most comfortable bed!!

The pool was kept to very high standards and so refreshing under the spanish sun! We were asked every evening whether we would like to use the hot tub, which was so relaxing after a day of sightseeing!!

There are sun loungers and little secluded seating areas dotted around the site as well as your own private seating area outside your Yurt along with lanterns and wind chimes that adorn the trees, this place has all the charm you could want and was truly an escape from our hectic lives!! I particularly loved the mismatched crockery that breakfast and dinner was served in, giving it a truly vintage feel!!

Darren and Sara have some adorable dogs, each with their own personalities, by the end of the week I found it very hard to say goodbye to them!!

We hired a car which was really great as the surrounding mountain roads are really picturesque. A trip to the nearby lakes is really worth a visit, they are truly stunning!!

All in all we had a really relaxing time in beautiful surroundings and would definitely go back again!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Lola which had a huge bed and was very spacious, its the closest to the house so conven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We got back from Alora Yurts a couple of weeks ago and i'm missing it tons already! The location and setting is absolutely perfect. As well as having the feeling that you're a million miles away from everyone and everything, you also have really easy links to the road and railways so you really do get the best of both worlds.

You do not get better than Sara's delicious home cooked meals so don't even try find anywhere better (because you wont, we tried!!). Darren drove us to the shops and even up to the Lakes one day for a beautiful day in the sunshine. If you do go to Alora Yurts, you have to visit the Lakes - they are absolutely amazing. We also really enjoyed getting to know Sara, Darren and the doggies a little better. It was really lovely to sit outside with a glass of wine chin wagging on an evening!

I went feeling quite stressed which worried me that I wouldn't be able to relax but within the hour I was completely at ease. Whether you're ligging by the pool or reading a book laid on one of the many hammocks and beds scattered across the land there's always somewhere to completely switch off and feel at ease!

We will definitely be back and highly recommend :)

Room Tip: We had a couple of nights in a Yurt and a couple of nights in the Tipi - would definitely recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emmxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Just got back dont want to say too much, but a wonderful place with a comfy bed exquisite vegetarian and seafood dinners and lovely hosts.I even saw four bee eaters on the walk down to the valley..Nirvana

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 313klf313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alora
6.6 mi away
Complejo Turistico Rural La Garganta
2.3 mi away
Hidden Valley Andalucia
24.6 mi away
Camping Cabopino
Camping Cabopino
#9 of 64 in Marbella
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Camping Iznate
#1 of 2 in Iznate
2 reviews
24.4 mi away
Camping la Buganvilla
Camping la Buganvilla
#25 of 64 in Marbella
48 reviews
1.8 mi away
Caminito del Rey
Caminito del Rey
#2 of 18 in Alora
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alora Yurts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alora Yurts

Address: La Morena, 29500 Alora, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Alora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Alora
Price Range: £50 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
three beautiful mongolian yurts all with fantastic views. Each yurt has been furnished to a high standard and share pool and hot tub both with views. The yurts are spaced well apart to provide privacy and peace during your stay. We have created a relaxing environment for people to unwind completely. You can self cater or meals can be delivered to your yurt. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing