We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alora Yurts
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Alora
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gce Hoteles(Estacion de Cartama)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Finca Isabella(Alhaurin el Grande)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
116
3
0
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
116
3
0
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tublaid backthe main houseother guestscontinental breakfastdaisy yurtan eclectic mixjust returned from a night stayamazing placelittle piece of heavenwood burnerperfect balancenever experienced suchmost morningsantique furniturelovely hostsbreathtaking views
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We don't want to tell anyone about this place... seriously we want to keep it all for ourselves!! ...such a special time, such a special place xxxxxx food, location, yurts, pool, hammocks, hot-tub, owners.... Perfect x

Mark&Kirsty (honeymoon) - see you again soon x

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpricey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Alora Yurts isn't a hotel. Obviously the accommodation is in yurts plus a ti-pi and the accommodation is stunning with amazing views, but what makes this place truly special are the people who run it and the care and attention they give to you. the things they do to make you as comfortable as possible and to make your stay as relaxing and enjoyable as possible go way beyond anything I have experienced any where else. It is this that has made us come back on 4 separate occasions.
They will pick you up from the station, airport, run you to the lakes, take you shopping, pick up your shopping, cook you food, served at what ever time you want, serve it where ever you want on the site, at your yurt, on the new pagoda terrace, at the front of the house. Sara will wash your clothes. At one point my dress seem split, Daren mended it for me! They will hang out and chat and drink with you or leave you alone, depending on your mood. If you fancy something in particular to eat, Sara will cook it for you if she can. Sara is a phenomenal cook and the meals you have with her will be some of the best food you will have all holiday.
Don't be put off by the fact they have 8 rescue dogs. all the dogs are so loving and just want to be your friend.

Room Tip: make sure you spend at least one night on the amazing outdoor beds,each yurt has one. the night sky is amazing. you will see many shooting stars.!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny3hats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

we actually turned up unannounced, by which we felt so lucky to be able to stay, Darren and Sara welcomed us with open arms as if we were family, asked us if we would like Tea and breakfas in the morning and also socialised with us when they could, the feel of a place is defined also by the people who are looking after you, to be so far out of civilisation you need to be able to trust and be comfortable around who you are staying with, we met a fantastic english couple Tom and Jenny here also and went out for a meal all of us to see a band it was great!!
whenever we wanted taking to the station or shop etc they would offer before we even asked, but the honesty bar works really well, just write down what youve had from the fridge and square up when you leave its so cheap!! We stayed in the big yurt with the round bed and had breakfast brought to us both mornings we stayed, one healthy fruity breakfast with lots of goodies and then a spanish version of a fry up!! Sara cooks amazing food you should definately try it!! Thank you for opening our eyes to a relaxed way of life you can tell Darren and Sara are very happy in this environment and in turn makes you happy and relaxed, ask them to recommend places to visit they know everywhere good in spain to go and will probably go with you if they have time, thanks for everything will be back next year loved every minute, holly and mark xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is an overdue review (sorry Darren & Sara - we were so chilled after our holiday its taken us a while to get round to this - oh yeah and we had a baby!)

We had an amazing stay with Darren & Sara back in April. THey are a fabulous couple who are just wonderful folks, friendly, chatty, professional and they will always go that extra mile for their guests should you need it (great antenatal advice too, thanks Sara ;)).

If you like your countryside rugged, you will find the location jaw-dropping. You are surrounded by stunning mountains, citrus trees, olives and figs, oh and a few dogs too (Zaffy is ours BTW, we will be back to collect her at some point so hands off!).
The wildlife is pretty spectacular too, so take some bins if you want to see lots of raptors overhead.

Facilities at the site are great, you can either eat some of Sara's amazing and very reasonably priced home cooked food, or cater for yourself. We did a mix of both, but on the nights we did our own thing we found ourselves drooling over the shoulder's of guests who had chosen Sara's food. She offered a few options for every course and included some lovely veggie meals. Breakfast needs a special mention, it is an event all of it's own. A tray the size of Wales is brought to your Yurt's door. On the coutry-sized platter we had fresh fruit, cooked and cured meats, eggs, freshly baked bread, cheeses, a cake or two, tea, coffee, toast and jams/honey, cuddly toy etc. Breakfast was served at 10 (ish) for us, and we rarely left our table (which had a 360 degree panoramic view of the surrounding countryside btw) before lunch time.

The pool offered much needed respite from the midday sun, and there's a hot tub too! The loo's with views are an absolute hoot, and the shower block is the most romantic camping style bathroom I have ever seen.

Never stayed in a Yurt before but found it to be a wonderful experience, and the guys have decked out the yurts beautifully with wonderful furnishings and the cutest log burners (it was April and we didn't really need the fire, but the caveman inside me couldn't resist). The space was amazing!

We were lucky and had an amazing and interesting bunch of guests staying the week we did. Obviously you can't guarantee what the company will be like, but the nice thing here is that you can be as engaged, or disengaged as you like. There is plenty of space between the yurts, so you hardly notice your fellow guests from your private domain, and if you want to be sociable just wonder down to the pool or the outdoor living room and a few hours later you will find yourself merry and with a new friend.

The only problem with this place was it did relax us almost to the point of apathy, and beyond reading, drinking, chatting and playing with dogs, we did bugger all. We had intended to go to Seville and Malaga and here and there, but none of it happened, and the holiday was better for it.

If you want to get away from it all, go to Alora Yurts!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Larry-Bertlemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

**if you don't want to read some spoilers about this place, don't read on - just be assured it is next level amazing - romantic & magical***

Alora Yurts is an intimate, magical yurt site nestled in the crook of a mountainous valley above the white & terracotta town of Alora in Andulucia surrounded by orange and lemon groves. With no light pollution, sunset facing and an out of this world view; within seconds you realise you are somewhere very special indeed.

It then gets better from there on in.

There are three double bed yurts and one tippee each located in its own private enclave with seating area. All four have fantastic competing views of the valley. The site is the passion & hard graft of Sara and Darren who ran a yurt site in the UK before departing for sunnier climes. They are both great company: interested in their customers but strike the right balance on interacting with guests and how much interaction guests want amongst each other. Perfect!

There is also a uniqueness they have created that can not be aped by other yurt sites either here or abroad (and this is my 3rd time yurting) First off they have an eye for style - vintage, quirky and comfortable. Our yurt made me audibly gasp; it was that beautiful (Daisy). This made for the most romantic setting my husband and I have been in during our 6 year + relationship. Secondly they are generous & spirited people, they drove us to the lakes, offered to take us places and collected us from the train station as we don't drive. Finally; the food! Amazing cooking by Sara, delivered by Darren - all very reasonably priced. We left tanned, nourished and looked after. So delicious I asked Sara everyday for her recipes and each day she produced a multi option menu where dishes arrived in stunning crockery and trays.

You are not obliged to eat on site and can self cater.There is no pressure.

Within the site there is an honor bar stacked with cost price cava (4 euro - whoopie), wine, beers and soft drinks, a good sized swimming pool with swing sofas, day beds, hammocks, a telescope for star gazing, hot tub for starry nights and sunsets (hidden behind a tree festooned with fairy lights).

With no electricity, we took the opportunity to switch off from the outside world. we were never bored. It was wonderful.

Lastly Sara & Darren have a motley crew of pet dogs. We personally fell in love with Syd (posh man baby polar bear) and wanted to take him home with us. Only two or three of the dogs regularly interact with the customers and we found their presence really added to the serenity and balance of our holiday.

If the above is up your street and you like the idea of staying in a yurt we can't recommend Alora yurts highly enough.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julia7249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews