We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel in a beautiful setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Hotel Benahavis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gran Hotel Benahavis
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Benahavis
Certificate of Excellence
Europe
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel in a beautiful setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Gran hotel Benahavis is in a stunning location, surrounded by mountains. Imagine being in the pool on a scorching hot summers day and looking across to the green of the mountains set against the blue sky, it gives you that profound sense of peace and beauty in the world that we often miss staggering through day to day life, work, domesticity etc...
We have stayed here twice now, together with extended family members and all the rooms are fairly standard, in that they have been of very generous proportions, with varying views but all very pleasant; pool, courtyard or mountains. Room decor is traditional in keeping with the style of the hotel, beds are large and comfy, bathrooms well appointed with modern fittings. The breakfast is pretty average hotel buffet style, yogurts, cereals, fruit, eggs beans bacon, toast. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, families, couples, groups. It will not disappoint, it does indeed feel like you are staying somewhere grand and special.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TwywellExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    283
    101
    52
    19
See reviews for
95
435
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

stayed here on the way down to gibraltar, firstly the grounds and views are stunning! Both pools very clean and sun beds good. Buffet dinner was great with a good choice and breakfast was also good. When we checked in we were told breakfast was until 12 but when we sat and ate they didn't stock up and turned off the hot lights to the cooked breakfast at 10:30, luckily we had eaten so it didn't effect us, but it could have if we weren't early. The rooms were very big overlooking a beautiful court yard. Sun goes behind the mountain at about 9. Parking is free outside. It is a very hilly walk up to the town so expect this if you don't have a car.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Just back from a week here great hotel and location for a family holiday highly recommend staff very friendly pools good food good rooms spacious and very clean very relaxing holiday park a roos the road with a bar an added bonus

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshbourneDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We returned to the Gran Hotel Benahavis 4 years after our first visit - this time with our 3yr old daughter; we stayed for 8 nights. The hotel is completely family friendly without all the trappings of a large family resort hotel i.e. raucous pools, kids clubs and discos etc...... You are welcomed by friendly, attentive staff and they give the impression that nothing is too much trouble.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite which was massive. It was clean and well appointed and the beds were great. We never saw housekeeping but they snuck in and the room was always clean. The pools are lovely and there were loads of sun loungers. The pool bars served up ice cold beers and the bar food was great.

Benahavis is renowned for its food and the quaint village has an abundance of eateries to choose from. We only ate in the hotel a couple of times and on both occasions to food was lovely. There were a few issues on the first occaision however - his was nothing to do with the quality of the food but more to do with the small contingent of waiting staff being run off their feet. Our service was a bit slow and we had a bit of a wait to get our order in. We nabbed a young man to take our order who happened to be the MD of the hotel group who had just flown in from the UK - he didn't mind getting his hands dirty and got stuck in.....

We love this hotel and will return. The village is fantastic and it is great that we have such a great place to stay - ope it doesn't change!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vince O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Have stayed at Gran Hotel with the guys on Golf Trips ..( perfect ) ......with my family and their partners (no complaints ) and as a couple having some relaxing sunshine for a few days , there are two pools with ample loungers set amongst well kept gardens ...our preference are the rooms that overlook the courtyard.....but for anyone travelling with a younger family the bungalows next to the top pool would be ideal ....the town of Benahavis is a stroll away where you will be spoilt for choice where to eat ...Maria , Anna and Jorge staff at the hotel always have a welcoming smile waiting for you ...well worth a visit if your heading for the Estepona Area.....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobL130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Took a punt on this hotel as we had never been to the area before but we were more than delighted with what we found. The hotel is beautifully designed in a sort of moorish style, is scrupulously clean, located in a lovely area, has a totally relaxing atmosphere and was not expensive at all for a 4 star hotel. The food was great (we ate from the a la carte menu) and the facilities (pool etc) first class. Bedroom was spacious and comfortable. We were only there for one night but will definitely return.

Room Tip: As far as I could see all the rooms were lovely. We had a standard room and it was huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eccleshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Super relax hotel, this is what i needed. After traveling from Lissabon, Tarifa, i could need some relaxing. Great Spanish hotel located in a filmisch decor, it looks like your in the middele of some oase of green an hill, what a nice village!

Room was so large that we laughed so hard :-) it was also very cleadn. Staff was so nice to us. Price is excelent. But i think the bar prices at the pool are little overpriced. 6 to 8 euro for one glas of wine ( in a plastic glass ) that's is over the top but hell, your're on vaction and you just have to pay it.

breakfast was very very well ! lots to choose from. We've only stayed here for one night... i could defenetly stay here 3 nights !

i Defenetly want to go back !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yielder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benahavis
0.2 mi away
Amanhavis Hotel & Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Villa Padierna Palace Hotel
11.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Occidental Estepona Thalasso Spa
3.6 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#16 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Benahavis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Benahavis

Property: Gran Hotel Benahavis
Address: Huerta de Rufino S/N, 29679 Benahavis, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benahavis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Benahavis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Benahavis 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the exclusivity of this unique hotel 4* SPA located in Benahavís, a natural heaven. The Gran Hotel Benahavís SPA is the perfect place for those who want to forget it all and immerse themselves in elegance, comfort and luxury. With 4 stars rating the Hotel offers many facilities and services beyond guest’s expectations. Let our idyllic gardens and outdoor pools seduce you, savour its exquisite cuisine, rest in its large rooms and pamper yourself in our SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Gran Hotel Benahavis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benahavis Gran Hotel
Gran Hotel Benahavis Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing