We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few questions...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Padierna Palace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Benahavis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Hello to all-
I've never stayed here before (usually stayed at the Kempinski) but am considering it for a few days in August. The website seems a bit unwieldy, so perhaps someone with experience can help...
Is there a car rental agency at this hotel?
How far is it by taxi from Fuengirola, and what is the cost?
Are they flexible with early check-in?
Do the 'deluxe' rooms have balconies, and how do I ensure getting one?
Thanks in advance,
Sam

Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
Thank sam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Director General at Villa Padierna Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Dear Guest,

I am delighted to be able to give you first hand information.
Our concierge can organize a rental car for you, either at the hotel, where the car is brought to as well as picked up again, or from the airport where we can organize a car to be waiting for you on your arrival, and on your return you can just leave it there. If you chose the second options we would be needing you to inform us 1 week prior to your arrival, so we can organize everything.

The hotel is around 40 min. away from Fuengirola, and the taxi would be around 55 euros during the day and 65 during evening/night and weekends.

We are flexible, but we never confirm anything, also depending on how early you would be arriving. Normally check in time is at 3pm, but we can be flexible, also in this case you would have to advice us prior to your arrival.

Our deluxe rooms have as well as they do not have balconies.
If you would prefer one with a balcony I suggest you mention it as a preference on your reservation and I assure that our staff will do everything possible to respect your wish.
Nevertheless we never confirm anything like this.

I hope these where the answers that you where expecting.PLease let us know if we can be of any further assistance.
I hope that we will be welcoming you soon at the Villa padierna palace Hotel

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (808)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 808 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2012

Villa Padierna Palace offers superb accommodations in the most picturesque of settings close to Benahavis on the Costa del Sol. The hotel's classic architectural style, surrounded by 3 manicured golf courses, with its own beautiful Spa and Medical Wellness centre plus three food and beverage facilities including fine dining at the Verandah, really do set this property apart as the most luxurious hotel on the Coast. Bedecked with the most amazing works of art and antiques, Eddy's bar and its adjoining looby are simply stunning. The hotel's staff are warm and very attentive. There is nothing to touch this beautiful hotel for visitors wanting to immerse themselves in a stunning environment, close to the excitment of Puerto Banus and Marbella which are only 10 minutes drive but who still treasure the unique comfort and serenity which Villa Padierna Palce offers. No wonder Micelle Obama and her familychose to stay here when they visited southern Spain!

Room Tip: The rooms are elegantly appointed and extremely comfortable with huge bathrooms and the rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank industryvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Director General at Villa Padierna Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2012

Dear Guest,

It is a great pleasure for us to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Villa Padierna Palace Hotel.

Indeed we do try really hard to give our guests the most unique and memorable stay possible, and it seems like you did live the experience.

As you have mentioned this is the place to be when you are coming to Southern Spain, also chosen by many celebrities, such as Antonio Banderas, Eva Londgoria, Melanie Griffin aso.

We really appreciate your great review, which also encourages us more to achieve the 6 stars ranking in the near future.

We hope that you will be visiting us soon again, until then, best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel back in 2009 ( there was no 2009 option available to state when I had travelled so I put May 20111) when it was part of the Ritz-Carlton family for honeymoon.
Hotel was straight out of a fairytale- beautifully landscaped grounds, exquisite spa, state- of -the art gym and beautifully appointed rooms. The rooms are large and I loved the marbel bathrooms. The pool was great, the breakfast buffet was fantastic ( fresh fruits and food) everyday.

Just a note of caution in terms of the address- it says that it is in Marbella but the town is not Marbella. I say this beacuse we had rented a car and the GPS did not recognize the address. In the end we had to ask for directions from 2 policemen- the name of the roundabout escapes me.

THe hotel is far away from the beach and the cooki-cutter resorts on the coast which for me was a good thing. It is in effect located behind a suburbian community.

The spa was to me one of the best spas I have been to in the world. There are so many different treatment rooms. There is one treatment where you can sample each of the rooms because each room's decor is in the syle of the country from which it originates: the sauna room, the jasmine and orange room with real Thai decor and fragrances, the peppermint hamman-a Morrocan bath, etc. I would recommend the spa to everyone.

Location-wise, we were a short drive to Puerto Banus, Marbella proper, Mijas.

Heard that the hotel is no longer under Ritz-Carlton management so hoepfully it has maintained it's high standards.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Toutpartout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Director General at Villa Padierna Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Dear Guest,
I firstly wanted to thank you for your comments, and I am glad that you enjoyed youor stay.
I can asure you that, although we are not part of the Ritz Carlton Company anymore, we do have maintained the high service and management standard.

I am happy to tell you that we have kept the establishment almost the same, having done some major improvements in the entrance area, the Beach Club, and enlargend the parking space. We have also improved the way to the Hotel, with better signs and wider streets.
The 'beautiful landscapes', the art gym, our large and spaciouse rooms, the marble bathrooms and the exquisite Spa have all stayed the same, and had only some refurbishment made.
Also we now do have 3 golf courses, and the grounds and the landscape are as beautiful as never before.

Due to the opening of our exclusive beach club, we now do have the beach only 5 to 10 minutes away from the hotel, and we also provide a free of charge transportation to bring and collect you form the beach or our Racquets club, which is also right next to our beach Club.

Furthermore I am very pleased to anounce you that our Spa has been nominated for one of the best Spas in Spain and the hotel one of the best Golf & Spa Hotels in the Wolrd.

It would be a great pleasure to welcoming you back personally someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Good bits: luxurious rooms, great bathrooms, lovely food made from fresh high quality ingredients, excellent sun beds, pretty inside and in hotel gardens, English TV channels, lots of stylish people around ( pack your designer gear). Meeting ooms downstairs very dark and windowless. WAG free. Downside: Hotel approached via a building site, whole of area bit of 70's throwback but if you have to be in the area this is probably as good as it gets without paying the crazy money of Marbella Club. service a bit patchy, spa closes at 8.00, indoor pool closes at 8.00pm and not open until around 9.00 or 10.00 am, outside pool unheated and freezing, not many sun loungers so probably chaotic during high season, extra charges around 30 euros to use steam rooms, poolside definitely not child friendly (hotel itself not really child friendly) very slow service in hotel main restaurant (eat out, lovely restaurants close by) A bit soulless.

Stayed: March 2012
2  Thank BentleyGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Gerente at Villa Padierna Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Thank you very much for your comment.
We are very glad that you liked our 'oasis on the Costa area...'
It is certain that regarding our luxuriouse rooms, the amazing marble bathrooms, our high quality food, and our enchanting gardens and inside life makes us a very unique and oasis like place. Although our meeting rooms in the basement do not have the desired amount of light they do have all the new technological equipment, also we do have our saloons which can also be offered as meeting rooms, and they have all the daylight you can imagine.
Happy to advice that the constructions along the road will be finished this year, also invested in staff and training for a better service, the excellent sun beds, as you mentioned, will be increased in numbers in the summer time, exactly to avoid the chaos situation.
Also want to inform you that the Swedish Sauna as well as the indoor pool and the gym instalations are to be used free of charge for our guests, the steam rooms are part of a circuit which indeed does cost an extra charge of 30 euros plus 8% VAT, but after using them for 2 hours you are a new relaxed person.
In summer we do actually offer a Kid's club, due to more demand during that time of the year, as well as now on easter we do have special programs for the kids in our Racquets Club and on our Golf courses, with the American Golf Academy. We do not have a baby pool, but there are parts on the pool side where the kids can play and swim safely, as well as we always have a lifegard in summer, when the outside pool is open.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Hotel looks like a castle, Special Spanish castle :)
Long corridors, decorated with statues of marble, paintings, antique chests of drawers, large garden, an amphitheater, fountains -
A lot of places where you can sit in silence, read, dream and sleep on.
Breakfasts are good, just enough to come for breakfast if not in "rush hour", the prompt and efficient service, in times of full load - the waiter can wait for 5-10 minutes.
Lunch / Dinner - very good! excellent gazpacho, a delicious hot bread, meat and seafood cook know how good at American (in the case of meat) and European (in the case of seafood) restaurants.
Very helpful staff, but very slow (maybe it's a national trait)
Food was excellent and room service too

Room Tip: I strongly advise to take rooms with windows facing in holmium-foul (yard) - there is less and there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank afonin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela I, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Padierna Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Thank you very much for your comment.
We are glad to hear that you liked the special Spanish Castle style of the hotel, it is certain that the arquitecture, peace and quietness, the Spa, our 3 golf courses and the connection to the famous springs of Carratraca makes us a very unique place and one of the reasons why people like Antonio Banderas, Michelle Obama, Eva Longoria etc. use us as their preferred spanish Holiday destination.
Happy to advice that since your last stay we have extended our Beach Club and increased the number of service staff and quality.
We therefor have just been nominated for the categories of Spanish leading Spa Resort and the World leading boutique Golf Resort.
We hope to be welcoming you back soon, until then
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Stunning Hotel, with beautiful rooms and surroundings, we were fortunate enough to have a room with a very generous balcony. The position of the hotel however, is not so great, it is quite a way from Marbella or in fact anywhere in particular, this is both a blessing and a curse, you can not really function at this hotel without a car, it is also quite a way from the beach and the pool area is not huge, that said I am still giving this hotel a 5 star rating for the sheer beauty and comfort of the rooms, you would struggle to not enjoy the obvious delights of this hotel and I hope to enjoy it again very soon!!

Room Tip: request a room with a balcony, however the ones that do not have balconies appear to have better vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dordy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Padierna Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

We are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us, as well as the hotel and its amazing surroundings. It is true that the hotel is a little apart from what are the main towns, but we do have a taxi company working with us, which are very efficient, there is a minimum waiting time of 5 to 10 min. and the drivers are trust worthy.
Also we do have our own Beach club, which opened last year and is now fully finished only 5min away from the hotel, we also do provide a free of charge shuttle bus down to the beach, whenever requested by our guests.
The rooms with balcony do have different views form the rooms without, due to the buildings situation and orientation, though the rooms are all decorated in the same classic and elegant style.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your big balcony, they indeed are amazingly generouse in size, also we do hope to be welcoming you back soon again.
Than you for your feedback,
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Fabulous & luxurious accommodation - Setting is wonderful if you're into golf but a little remote if you enjoy the beach as we do. Standard rooms were immensly comfortable - Fabulous sleeping conditions in luxury bedding meant we didn't wish to rise in the morning. The rain showers in the bathrooms were fantastic and so powerful that I had to stick my head around the glass door to take a breath of air - amazing.

Food and drink were fine but very pricey, goes with the surroundings. Bar staff got a little quirky when asked to serve a late night drink - nothing to put me off this tranquil haven. p.s. This review relates to a September 2007 stay - I lost my trip advisor password and only found it today after years of searching for it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OhDannyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benahavis
7.3 mi away
Puente Romano Marbella
Puente Romano Marbella
#7 of 70 in Marbella
1,408 reviews
8.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
2.2 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Benahavis
Gran Hotel Benahavis
#3 of 4 in Benahavis
771 reviews
8.7 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,808 reviews
1.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
IBEROSTAR Costa del Sol
#2 of 34 in Estepona
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Padierna Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Padierna Palace Hotel

Address: Ctra. de Cadiz, Km 166 | at Flamingos Golf Club, 29679 Benahavis, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benahavis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Benahavis
Price Range: £224 - £1,175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Padierna Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are very few places in the world that inspire such serenity and beauty as the surroundings of Villa Padierna Palace Hotel, located in the heart of the golden triangle: Marbella, Benahavis, Estepona, our Luxury 5 Star has been recognized by Seven Stars & Stripes as Six Stars, and recently awarded as the world best Golf Resort by the World Travel Awards. Designed as a replica of a Tuscan palace, offers 129 deluxe rooms and suites also including 9 Villas with private pool, and a wide selection of unique experiences, such as three 18 holes Golf courses; Flamingos, Tramores & Alferini, Medical Wellness Spa, Racquet Paddle Club, 4 Restaurants and its exclusive Club de Mar on the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Booking.com, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Padierna Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Carlton Marbella
Padierna Hotel Marbella
Padierna Villa
Villa Padierna Palace Hotel Benahavis, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing