We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect small hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Veracruz

Hotel Veracruz
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Utrera
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Veracruz
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Utrera
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The perfect small hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

We stayed at Hotel Veracruz for two days. It's located in a non descript street near the center of Utrera, within walking distance to the train station and the town's main square.

We found the hotel extremely pleasant. The staff is helpful and charming. Breakfast had a local flavour but was sufficiently internationalized to appeal to the least adventurous foreign travellers. Breakfast included for example a tomato-based spread, very similar to Cordoban salmorejo (it's like a think gazpacho) that I wish I could get at home and a and another spreadable version of the Andalusian dish 'Pringá'; both excellent and exotic alternatives to butter and jam. They also served cereal, backed goods, yoghourt, cold cuts and of course coffee, tea and juice.

We ended up in Hotel Veracruz by accident, simply because we couldn't find a room in Seville, but found hotel Veracruz an excellent alternative to staying in Seville. There's an impecable commuter train service to Seville and Utrera has it's fair share of monuments to see and lively squares to stroll to make it worth a visit. It doesn't feel like a a commuter town at all but has a life of its own.

Room Tip: An alternative to a hotel room in Seville.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank German-tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
9
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
212 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

We were on a 2 week vacation and went to Utrera to visit cousins who lived there. The hotel was perfect for us. Charming, quiet and a wonderful location a short walk to the Seville train, the price (75 euros) included a good continental breakfast and a bottle of wine on arrival. The staff was gracious, hotel spotless. The room, although small, was comfortable. We plan on returning to Utrera and will certainly stay at the Veracruz.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

Walking into Veracruz instantly reminded me of a Riad I had stayed in Marrakesh. The central lobby with seating and potential water feature in the middle with the guest rooms leading off. I suppose it is not surprising because this is Andalus and the influences from north Africa are everywhere to see. In the room I chose the window could be opened and daylight from the road outside could be had but the very effective air conditioning as well as the smart interior decorations meant that artificial lighting was more than adequate. The road the hotel is on is actually one of the prettiest with trees lining and some lovely properties with the traditional tiled entrance vestibule. Just a short walk is the fountain plaza and from here you can walk down to the central plazas and visit some of the sights of Utrera. In the road you can park but there is controlled blue lined pre paying so if staying overnight you may need to pay for parking in the morning at 9am to 2pm then after the usual free afternoon again in the late afternoon period. Overnight is free. Or arrive by train as it's an easy ride from Seville on the local commuter service or even taking the Media Distancia train. About 30 minutes. But whilst it's only about 10 minutes walk from the station you should consult a map before heading for the hotel or you may take the wrong turning.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cadiz_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

If staying in Utrera, you must stay at Hotel Veracruz. It is the sweetest little hotel, quiet, clean and delightfully decorated. We didn't have a map so had to park our car in the town and wander around to find the hotel, the owner drove us back to our car and helped us navigate our way back to the parking building.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OneTreeJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2009

We were in Utrera for 2 weeks in December and had a good time in hotel Veracruz there, Atonio (the owner) and his staff were always very helpfully.
We told him that we were studying Spanish and that we would like to communicate in Spanish.
Antonio, his wife and the hotel staff helped us a lot.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BelgiumEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2007

Small hotel ... 9 rooms I think ... but all very well appointed and very clean. Hotel has large entrance lobby and a breakfast area of it. Buffet breakfast was good .... toast .. cereals.. juices ... yoghurts .. cooked meats etc. hotel has secure parking about 50 mts away. Staff are very helpful and very friendly.
Good restaurant is El Arco .... wonderful food excellently prepared and excellently presented .... and quite reasonable... ask the hotel desk for directions.
Utera is a smallish town with little for the tourist .we only stayed one night on route to Portugal... but the hotel and restaurant are both excellent.

  • Liked — Clean and well appointed
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2004

We stayed in Utrera, a small charming city outside of Seville (half hour on train...very easy and direct), for a month last summer (2003), for work reasons. We stayed at the Hotel Veracruz (they have a website under that name) and it by far exceeded our expectations! It is a beautiful place! Clean, well decorated, comfortable, smells good, and is in good location. (It's in a restored mansion) Only about 20-30 rooms. The staff is amazing! We felt like family. We travel often for work and never have come across such a welcoming and pleasant place to stay. We also were pleasantly surprised to discover that the town/city of Utrera is a nice place to visit. There is nothing intensely dazzling here (like maybe you'd find in Seville or Madrid or even Ronda) but rather what you find is a very pretty, well preserved and non-touristy Spanish town. Friendly people, good food (try Rincon de Paco for dinner and La Taberna - next to Hotel Veracruz - for drinks and an often lively atmosphere), beautiful plaza, cathedral, and fountains. It's a nice change from the big city and touristy places! An American friend of mine came to Seville to do the tourist thing and she came out to have dinner with us in Utrera...long story short, she liked Utrera so much that she ended up staying there for a week, instead of Seville as she had originally planned. Because it is well communicated with Seville by train, you can make it your homebase and then just take the train into the city. In any event, you should go have an ice cream in the plaza at sunset and watch the colors change against the old stone buildings as little kids play and the old folks chat and drink coffee. No one will try to read your fortune or sell you a buggy ride.

  • Stayed January 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Dana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utrera
5.3 mi away
Hacienda de Oran
Hacienda de Oran
#2 of 2 in Utrera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
15.9 mi away
Silken Al-Andalus Palace Hotel
10.4 mi away
Hotel Oromana
Hotel Oromana
#1 of 4 in Alcala de Guadaira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hotel Manolo Mayo
Hotel Manolo Mayo
#1 of 1 in Los Palacios y Villafranca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
10.9 mi away
Leflet Valme
Leflet Valme
#2 of 3 in Dos Hermanas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
16.9 mi away
NH Collection Sevilla
NH Collection Sevilla
#17 of 179 in Seville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Veracruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Veracruz

Property: Hotel Veracruz
Address: Calle Corredera 44, 41710 Utrera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Utrera
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Utrera
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing