We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Al Lago
Nearby Hotels
El Tabanco Hotel(El Bosque)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$81
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel La Posada(Villaluenga del Rosario)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Don Benito Hotel(Ronda)(Great Value!)
US$298
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel del Carmen(Prado del Rey)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada del Fresno(Montejaque)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
110
42
11
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
42
11
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerhigh qualitylago restaurantwhite villagesboutique hotelwonderful staffan excellent restaurantnearby rondabefore dinnerhelpful stafflambsmall hoteltapaslovely roomnice foodone worda wonderful stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We regularly stay near Marbella and on our last trip my husband found this hotel through a review in a local magazine.

On our return home we had a look at trip advisor and saw the fantastic reviews and booked a two night stay to coincide with our October trip to Spain.

The reviews on trip advisor were not wrong, we had a fantastic stay.

The owners, Mona and Stefan are a charming couple who welcomed us warmly and fed us well, what more could you ask for.

They have lovely staff, all were very attentive.

The room we stayed in was simple but elegant, with a lovely bathroom complete with beautiful olive oil soap. The room had a fantastic view of the reservoir and white villages in the distance.

An establishment should always compliment its food with well thought out wines. Mona has knowledge of wines and has selected a wine list to compliment her husband’s fantastic cuisine. On being asked she recommended the wine to go with our choice of food and on both nights it was perfect.

Please don't expect much for breakfast, it is a continental but does have home made jam and marmalade.

We highly recommend this hotel and restaurant and will return, perhaps next time to do some walking in the beautiful surrounding area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed at Al Lago for three nights to attend the wedding of Sue's daughter. Mona and Stefan were outstanding. They looked after every detail - especially after the groom got sick and the ceremony had to be postponed a day. Apart from their caring and hospitality, the food was outstanding. An absolutely delightful experience. We highly recommend Al Lago and on a scale of 1 to 5 would rate it a 6!

Go and enjoy.

Sue and Dale

Room Tip: Suggest room 1.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hurles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We stayed in Zahara for 2 nights as part of a wedding party - some stayed at Al Lago, I stayed at the Olive Mill. Mona and Stefan (as well as all the Girls!) are fantastically amazing, there is no other word for it.

The trip from Seville to Zahara was a little longer than planned for our party, but arriving several hours late didnt seem to be a problem. The first night we had a tapas menu, in the most beautiful setting, watching the sun go down. The day of the wedding we ran into a few difficulties with illness, but NOTHING was too much trouble for the Al Lago team. They helped in any way they could, going TOTALLY above and beyond. The reception had been planned to be eaten in the retaurant, but at VERY short notice was moved outside so we could enjoy the evening. Despite the fact that I'm sure our party caused loads of issues (not intentionally!) including moving loads of furniture around, nothing seemed too much trouble.

The tasting menu was FANTASTIC - we couldnt believe the standard of food being served - massive credit to everyone involved. And the lovely girls serving were still smiling 5 hours later when we were eating dessert!

To top it off when leving the next day, we were picked up at the Olive Mill and brought to Al Lago for breakfast and await our taxi back to Seville airport. Despite all the issues, Mona, Stefan and the team helped us keep everything together, and went over and above all my expectations (especially with this issues we faced!).

Thank you SO SO SO much for all your help in planning, preparing, and carrying out our stay, we definatley could not have done it without you, and thanks to your beautiful hotel, food, and amazing team, its a wedding I will defiantly remember! (even though I missed the ceremony ;-) )

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenandRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary and, despite the inclement weather after our first night, we couldn't have picked a better place. Mona Crites (owner) was extremely welcoming and made us feel very 'at home'. We ate in the restaurant on both nights and have no criticism of the quality of the fare whatsoever; in fact, we considered the food and the wine to be of a high standard and would not hesitate to return there in the future. We would very much like to praise all the staff for their attentiveness and friendliness and we would like to make a special mention of Yolanda who could not possibly have been more thoughtful and helpful. The only, very slightly, negative comment that we have is that, perhaps, at €99 per night the price is a little on the high side especially when we had stayed at a 5* hotel in Jerez (with monster breakfast) just days before for a mere €75. Having said that, the location makes it worth paying the extra and we would, happily, return and pay that same rate in the future.
As for Zahara itself - it's full of charm and character with many old streets to wander through. One day, we will return and, hopefully, the weather will be better and we shall manage to visit La Garganta Verde!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Zahara de la Sierra is a gorgeous, little town, and Al Lago is THE place to stay and eat. Our dinner was one of the best meals in Spain, and the owner couldn't have been more helpful. Be sure to hike to the castle at the top of the town for incredible views of the Lago and surrounding areas.

The owner of Al Lago was an incredibly gracious hostess, who went out of her way to make us feel welcome. Also, she is one of the few registered places to obtain permits for hiking in the Sierra de Grazalema, and she can arrange this for you in advance. This service is worth the stay in itself, as we learned the hard way that obtaining these permits in El Bosque or Grazalema is a challenge, to say the least.

The beds were very welcome, and amongst the most comfortable in Spain (including a 5-star hotel in Sevilla). The design of the rooms is very modern and chic, but comfortable as well. The bathroom was very spacious for a European B&B, and there were many little details like artisan soaps from the area. The owner even arranged a great picnic lunch for us for our hike the next day.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be similar, and are spacious, comfortable, and well designed.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimrueb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews