We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family run resaurant”
Review of Al Lago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Al Lago
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely family run resaurant”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We ate at this restaurant twice on a holiday in this area. The first was on a recommendation from our villas 'info book'. We had a tapas to start and shared a paella . Both were delicious...despite the wasps which also seemed to enjoy it!. We moved inside and were helped by the very friendly staff. Our second night was at a Mexican themed night. (Thanks to Mona, (the owner) for her text to let us know about this) The welcome was very warm and all the staff enthusiastically embracing the theme....Mexican hats galore!!. This restaurant has a lovely view, very friendly staff and good local food. (including a childrens menu)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    39
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
110
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro de Alcantara, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We have stayed her many times and have never been disappointed. If you want to relax and get away from it all in comfort, with great food and wine and amazing scenery then this is for you.

If you want some action there is plenty to do like kayaking, horse and bike riding etc. and lots of other places to visit so suits all.

A perfect short break. Mona & Stefan just get better

Room Tip: Ask for the superior, only a fraction more and worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
246 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Positive: room very nice, nice terrace, nice views
Negative: breakfast very poor, dinner average at best (chef was away ….), value for money
Comment: I feel more attention needs to go to the restaurant side - a shame, since the hotel itself is so well done.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonaAC, Owner at Al Lago, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear customer, we are sorry you were disappointed by your restaurant experience, although happy you found the hotel to be enjoyable.
We wish you could have let us know what was wrong with the meal as we strive to always improve our standards at all times. Perhaps the absence of the chef was part of that? He was not away (we close twice annually so we can go away), he was just resting after a gruelling 7 day schedule which happens during the season.
Our staff are excellent and have been trained for 8 years under his guidance, once again I wish I knew what exactly was wrong as daily I am told how refreshing it is to be in a Spanish restaurant that actually serves vegetables with dishes and has such a variety of choice.

I personally shop for Al lago daily and spend hours at the fruit markets and local organic vendors in the area choosing our produce,, we make everything from scratch, our sauces and puddings and we butcher the meat and fish ourselves so that we offer a good cut.

We are still very busy even during the crisis so coasting on our reputation is not something we can afford to do, we take our reputation very seriously but one thing I have learned after many years is there is always someone expecting more from the experience than tasty honest food prepared fresh. That is what we do at Al lago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

A stopover on our recent journey around Andalusia. A pleasant enough hotel in a very pleasant hill village. We ate in the restaurant that night and it appears that it is a "destination" spots for local tourists. Good food from a far too lengthy menu. I find it impossible to comprehend how that number of dishes can be conjured from an essentially small kitchen and brigade. I understand that the chef is keen to show his worth, but do feel that he would be better served by having a small constantly changing menu. Just the daily list of specials would be quite enough.

Room Tip: Not a lot of choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank putneyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklin, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Wow. Definitely worth the drive from Marbella! The scenery is spectacular en route, as is the destination.
Fresh food, from the owners' farm right to the plate! The local grilled goat cheese on top of a medley of fresh greens was fantastic. A local red wine accompanied this wonderfully organic meal. What a nice time relaxing over a gourmet meal after exploring Ronda. You won't 'just happen upon' Al Lago, so definitely put this heavenly place on your itinerary.
We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

I have to agree with an earlier review that the hotel really doesn't live up to the hype. The room had a nice outlook but was otherwise just ok really. I ate lunch at the restaurant and dinner. The food was good, nothing amazing though and didn't really justify the price (lamb with couscous for dinner was 22 euro), but the wine was really nice. Breakfast was the worst I have encountered, very unappealing, but the coffee was good. The staff were also very nice, but felt the whole place was a bit tired and food underwhelming given the website photos and information.

Overall I thought this was really overpriced for what you get. I spent a week in this area and had much better accommodation and food for much less than what I paid here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonaAC, Owner at Al Lago, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear guest
We are sorry you were disappointed by your visit and we are a little confused by the HYPE to which you are referring? Hype is always a problem as it sets things up for lots of expectations, we certainly don´t hype ourselves, we are a small hotel overlooking a lake with a well known restaurant in which we work very hard and have done for 8 years now. Maybe others have hyped us? Occasionally comes someone who doesn´t really get what we are doing but usually people are very happy to relax in these tranquil surroundings, enjoy the terrace and views and be taken care of by our friendly staff.
We do not claim to be 5 star or anything near it, we are a small family run business and have made comfortable rooms staying true to local materials and aesthetics.
Our breakfast buffet is varied with a number of cereals, yoghurts, breads, croissant, cold meats, local cheeses, fresh fruit salad, freshly squeezed juices, hard boiled eggs, home made preserves etc. What we don´t offer is a cooked breakfast but we don´t claim to? That can always be ordered if needed.
Also our menu has a number of reasonably priced main courses starting at 11.00 euros. We only have 2 mains at 22.00 euros, a whole slow braised leg of baby lamb and a Roasted leg of suckling pig. I am not sure how we would offer these for less as we have to pay dearly for them in the first place. Six other people had the lamb the same night as you did and I even have a guest who wrote about how delicious it was in our guest book.
I guess it is not possible to please everyone, luckily we seem to please most.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Pleasantly situated with lovely views over the lake. Small but comfortable room. Welcoming helpful staff. Excellent imaginative food served. A good base for exploring the spectacular white hill towns and the surrounding hills.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duncanmac2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zahara de la Sierra
6.4 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
#1 of 4 in Grazalema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Villa de Grazalema
Hotel Villa de Grazalema
#2 of 4 in Grazalema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel El Horcajo
Hotel El Horcajo
#32 of 39 in Ronda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marques de Zahara
Marques de Zahara
#2 of 2 in Zahara de la Sierra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arco de la Villa
Hotel Arco de la Villa
#3 of 6 in Zahara de la Sierra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.6 mi away
Molino El Vinculo
Molino El Vinculo
#2 of 6 in Zahara de la Sierra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Lago

Property: Al Lago
Address: Calle Felix Rodriguez de La Fuente 11, 11688 Zahara de la Sierra, Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park > Zahara de la Sierra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Zahara de la Sierra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Al Lago 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family run hotel with spectacular views of Zahara´s lake. We have a well known restaurant open for lunch and dinner, serving local produce (some from our farm). The cuisine is rustic with innovative touches featuring local specialities such as wild boar, pork cheeks, paellas and in summer a wide array of fish. We also have vegetarian and vegan options, daily specials, home made desserts and an extensive wine cellar featuring many local bodegas.In addition Al lago has as a bar serving drinks, tapas and baked goods all day long. Breakfast is a buffet of fresh fruit salads, cereals, yoghurts, fresh juice, cold cuts and patés, boiled eggs, Andalucian tomato puree, breads and hot beverages.All our spacious, thoughtfully decorated en-suite double bedrooms have their own balcony with wrought iron doors, large beds, flat-screen satellite TV, built in wardrobes and rain showers. There is wifi in public areas and guests can use the hotel computer if need be. Al Lago has free on road parking and access is by recently asphalted road. We are surrounded by fabulous walking country with the Garganta Verde and many other hikes on our doorstep. Located on the edge of a typical white village/pueblo blanco into which you can wander and enjoy local bars and shops. A paradise for walkers, birders, cyclists, foodies, botanists, painters and horse riding enthusiasts. The architectural wonder of Ronda is half an hour away and other lovely white villages close by. Roman ruins, oilve oil mills and wine bodegas can be visited in the area also. For swimming the playita (spring fed mini lake) and local pool are open from mid June until Mid September. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Al Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing