We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace and Tranquility plus”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Al Lago

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Al Lago
Certificate of Excellence
Torrevieja, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peace and Tranquility plus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Just returned home (Torrevieja area) after two nights at Al Lago which was the perfect antidote to the previous hectic four days and nights in Cordoba. Whilst we did not get to meet Mona or Stefan we are full of praise for the young team managing the hotel in their absence. Calm, courteous professionalism that some staff we have encountered in 5 star hotels would do well to acquire. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff even congratulated me on my "appalling" Spanish. The special treats I had requested to celebrate our anniversary were more than amply met.

The food at dinner on both nights was simply delicious with excellent wines to accompany. The phrase "it just fell off the bone" was clearly penned for the slow roasted leg of lamb. I did not need a knife throughout the meal. Delicious. We also sampled the trout and the chicken dishes.

Breakfast, whilst a simple typical Spanish buffet was ample, with delicious fruit, fresh orange juice, yogurt, hams, cheese, eggs, bread etc. etc.

Our room was most comfortable and the view though possibly better in Autumn, when as MGLB (Herne Bay) points out, there would be less leaves on the trees between the hotel and the lake, was nonetheless attractive. The large hotel terrace was a lovely location to sit with a coffee after dinner. A little too chilly for us to actually eat outside as it was quite windy on both nights of our stay.

We wish we could have stayed longer, if only to taste more dishes from the amazing menu, but we have added Al Lago to our "little gems" collection and we will most definitely return. So many things to remember about this short visit. The mountain drive to Grazalema, just stunning, the La Bodega walk, included a refreshing cerveza (or two) on the terrace of the Municipal Swimming pool - what a location, and the climb to the top of the castle.....yes, right to the top. Not bad for 70 year olds!! But the abiding memory has to be of those young attentive smiling staff. Congratulations must go to Stefan and Mona for their obvious training skills.

Finally, Mona, congratulations on your reply to J.C (Hayling Island) comments!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walker143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    39
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
110
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
305 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We arrived at the hotel/restaurant al Lago,Zahara de la Sierra for an afternoon lunch. We sat on the terrace outside the hotel with brilliant views across the Embalse de Zahara-El Gastor lake.
We were eating that night and we only wanted a light meal so we had a plate of cold mixed tapas. Between us we had one boiled egg,cut in half with the egg yolk mixed with a teaspoon of tuna. 8 olives, 1 pickled artichoke cut into 4 pieces,4 slices of beetroot and a teaspoon of sliced onion and a tablespoon of russian salad. This cost 8.50 euros.
We are not picky people but it was boring to eat and certainly only average. It was a shame because the location was great and from adverts I had high hopes of a great lunch after an exciting drive through the mountains from Grazalema.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnCracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonaAC, Owner at Al Lago, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Mr Cracknell

Thank you for driving all the way to Al lago to have lunch. It is a shame that you chose the ¨typical Spanish cold tapas¨ plate to share after that journey because although a perfectly nice dish, it is not a highlight here at Al lago.
We seek to provide all our customers with a choice and so have a wide and varied menu with exciting dishes such as our Langoutsines al pil pil or our Grilled octopus with honey and chipolte or our ajo blanco with a surprising watermelon granita.

However we also have a simple tapas cold plate purely because we are in Andalcia and wish to impart the typical tapas here. The dish also includes the classic Ensaladilla, some local cheese and some locally cured chacina (cured meats) none of which you mention?

In addition to the artichokes (which are a popular simple tapa for vegetarains as they are marinated with red peppers) and the beetroot (which is locally porduce and organic and oven roasted before sliced and served.) The olives come from our own farm and to put more than 8 would look like we were crowding the plate with just olives!! Plus farm fresh eggs.

So perhaps just a wrong choice for you, although we sell many of these per day and have great feedback. It is also I must point out a dish for one person (especially if eating nothing else) unlike our HOT TAPAS FOR TWO which is ample for TWO people. Realistically its a bit much to expect to feed you both with just the cold tapas plate.

Perhaps if you visit again you will ask my advice and I can point you in the direction of our daily specials board or from our menu our home made pate with Pedro Ximinex or char grilled vegetables with local grilled cheese or a spicy calamari salad...none of which cost anymore than your budget.
Mona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rota, Spain
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

The warm and sincere concern of their guests was a relief! Service one receives mostly in the states, not so much in southern Spain. With that said, the room we stayed in had a touch of chic, with a small balcony to overlook the lake, and a comfortable bed. If you enjoy it, sounds of the local children playing in the streets below are heard through the day. We enjoyed two meals at their restaurant and I would highly recommend others do the same! We had Indian for dinner and a touch of barbeque for lunch. The flavor and quality is very well done. It was a bit high on price, but considering the location, it is worth it if you are looking for white table service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and wished we could have stayed longer. Very nice room and a great restaurant. Great location with plenty of parking. Of all the white towns we visited zahara was also the nicest. Went on a lovely walk in the olive groves and saw lots of wildlife as well as stunning views.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Munch-bunch5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

What a terrific spot for hiking. Mona was really helpful with lots of suggestions on walks - organised a great horse ride for me with Dirk up into the hills and bird watching with Peter Jones. Room had a great view out over the lake to El Gastor. Restaurant is amazing. Fabulous food - up there with anything you'd find in a city. Great variety and plenty of vegetables which can be hard to find in Spain, especially at night. Very central to visiting the white villages and this spot can certainly be recommended for wildflowers during April and May. With many different altitudes you can catch a wide variety of plants in bloom at one time - including peonies.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greennz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Found this small boutiquey hotel on my travels, only one night ........... and stayed for the long afternoon before, and after breakfast too. Beautiful spot to rest and read and take in the ambience of the delightful vista of the lake.

Not sure if one would have a lake view from the bedroom tho' with the trees in full leaf !

On the day I visited a Classic car rallye club was booked in, but sadly the 3 dozen or so attendees didn't have a single classic car amongst them ....... maybe the journeying on the rough'ish terrain was more than the elderly cars could bear !

Delightful hostess and place to stay, good food and interesting conversation.

Pretty good all round.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGLB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Owing to a sudden cancellation of our main holiday we decided on the spur of the moment to return to Al Lago for a few days over Easter. We were not to be disappointed. Mona and Stefan welcomed us like old friends and we immediately felt at home. We had booked the superior room- well worth the extra for the lovely bathroom and bath. Stefan's food continues to be an absolute joy, fresh inventive and delicious; the octopus, the Paella in squid ink and the baby codlings being particular highlights. We had two good days of sunshine and enjoyed two exerting walks around Grazalema and Montejacque. The service at Al Lago is exceptional, Mona is supported by a team of very considerate and attentive young women who do everything to ensure your stay is special. This is a brilliant base for walking in the national park and a gastronomic delight in the evening!

Room Tip: All four rooms face the lake- Room 4 has a larger bathroom with both a bath and shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sevengables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zahara de la Sierra
6.4 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
#1 of 4 in Grazalema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Villa de Grazalema
Hotel Villa de Grazalema
#2 of 4 in Grazalema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel El Horcajo
Hotel El Horcajo
#34 of 39 in Ronda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marques de Zahara
Marques de Zahara
#2 of 2 in Zahara de la Sierra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arco de la Villa
Hotel Arco de la Villa
#3 of 6 in Zahara de la Sierra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.6 mi away
Molino El Vinculo
Molino El Vinculo
#2 of 6 in Zahara de la Sierra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Lago

Property: Al Lago
Address: Calle Felix Rodriguez de La Fuente 11, 11688 Zahara de la Sierra, Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park > Zahara de la Sierra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Zahara de la Sierra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Al Lago 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family run hotel with spectacular views of Zahara´s lake. We have a well known restaurant open for lunch and dinner, serving local produce (some from our farm). The cuisine is rustic with innovative touches featuring local specialities such as wild boar, pork cheeks, paellas and in summer a wide array of fish. We also have vegetarian and vegan options, daily specials, home made desserts and an extensive wine cellar featuring many local bodegas.In addition Al lago has as a bar serving drinks, tapas and baked goods all day long. Breakfast is a buffet of fresh fruit salads, cereals, yoghurts, fresh juice, cold cuts and patés, boiled eggs, Andalucian tomato puree, breads and hot beverages.All our spacious, thoughtfully decorated en-suite double bedrooms have their own balcony with wrought iron doors, large beds, flat-screen satellite TV, built in wardrobes and rain showers. There is wifi in public areas and guests can use the hotel computer if need be. Al Lago has free on road parking and access is by recently asphalted road. We are surrounded by fabulous walking country with the Garganta Verde and many other hikes on our doorstep. Located on the edge of a typical white village/pueblo blanco into which you can wander and enjoy local bars and shops. A paradise for walkers, birders, cyclists, foodies, botanists, painters and horse riding enthusiasts. The architectural wonder of Ronda is half an hour away and other lovely white villages close by. Roman ruins, oilve oil mills and wine bodegas can be visited in the area also. For swimming the playita (spring fed mini lake) and local pool are open from mid June until Mid September. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Al Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing