We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply perfect....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Arco de la Villa
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simply perfect....”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

The hotel is fab, all rooms with majical views over the valley and reservoir (great for a swim!) and is run by very friendly staff. The rooms are excellent as is breakfast faced with stunning views... but to be honest you won't be spending much time in the hotel!The village of Zahara is beautiful. The people are wonderful and the whole area is steeped in fascinating history with the castle atop the hill bieng one of the frontier defences built by the Moors.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally excellent. Take your walking shoes and explore. Check out all the breathtaking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morleymatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    41
    24
    6
    4
See reviews for
10
58
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Very noisy room. Awful beds. Great location. Did not try food.

Room Tip: Get as far away from the dining room as you can- two floors down might do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Godreamanboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed a this hotel for 1 night as part of a travelling holiday around Andalusia earlier this month. The hotel Arco de la Villa has wonderful views over the reservoir from the bedroom windows and we found the room comfortable and very clean. We booked through Booking.com and after reading the reviews thought we may be in for a long uphill walk to reach the hotel as it stated it was on the road up to the castle, but in fact it isn't that far from the main village centre and well worth the extra few yards.
We didn't have breakfast at the hotel so can't comment on that but the hotel staff we found to be very obliging and organised a taxi for us to the next village along.
As we arrived on a Friday by bus, there was no form of public transport out of the village till Monday! Take care with transport arrangements if you travel to Zahara, it is not best served by buses! I would recommend this hotel and definitely stay there again if we are in tghe area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepsaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alba, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Unfourtunately the worse hotel in all the trip across Andalucia...Arrived very tired at dinner time, we were welcomed from a lazy guy at reception...The room was clean and nice but temperature is very cold inside!! Anyways we decided to stop at hotel for dinner and..what a pity...when I ask one dish for vegetarians, the boy (the same one at reception who served at restaurant), after reading all menu noisy, watched and said me: NO. When I asked a little vegetable dish, after discussing..voilà..a plat of frozen green salat with a little slice of bread..Sincerely not recommed to vegetarians or someone who would like eat veg...

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rustam2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Zahara de la Sierra hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2009

I spend 2 nights in Arco de la villa's only single room in September 2009. This hotel is simply the best you find in Zahara - and this actually says a lot even though it's a small village! The view from all the rooms is breathtaking! The front desk and staff are present 24 hours, and they are very friendly, helpful and informative, even though they only speak spanish! The room was big and cosy, it had a flatscreen tv and a large clean bathroom. Breakfast could be enjoyed in the restaurant, and the hotel has an elevator as well. All rooms are situated at level -1 and -2, and front desk and the restaurant is at level 0. This unfortunatelty means that the rooms on the level -1 are very noisy! I had room 1 next to the staircase and the elevator, and just on top of my room was the front desk, where there were activity all 24 hours. You could hear a buzz all night from some kind of generator... But none the less was this a great hotel experience, and I would easily provide this hotel with one or two more stars! Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeikaAarhus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2008

Stayed a Sunday night in mid-October '08 and felt that it was, overall, a good value. View from the room was truly spectacular - almost like flying it was so high up. The only issue we had was related to noise level due to (1) the cafeteria being directly overhead and (2) construction work (no power equipment - just talking and hand work) going on at base of the hotel structure, directly below the guest room windows, starting around 7:30 a.m. Keep in mind that because of the hotel's physical setting the main level with reception and restaurant are on the upper level with the guest rooms on two lower levels. On balance, the noise from above is during the day (Sunday was, I think a busier time than usual) and the noise from below is not all that bad and temporary in nature. We'll stay there again.

  • Liked — The View
  • Disliked — A
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger_Samson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2008

Easily the best choice in Zahara, Arco de la Villa has a commanding view of the town. The room was simple and basic, but clean and a good value for the money (only around 50-60 euros IIRC). The room also had a really nice view of the reservoir near Zahara, and is within walking distance of the Moorish castle and the town, which was my favorite pueblo blanco (or "white village") in Andalucia.

P.S. Breakfast at the hotel rocks - it doesn't get any more traditional Spanish style than that.

  • Liked — Great value, nice view in Zahara
  • Disliked — Very basic, although clean, accomodations
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurfLover_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zahara de la Sierra
6.3 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
#1 of 4 in Grazalema
550 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Penon Grande
Hotel Penon Grande
#3 of 4 in Grazalema
60 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Villa de Grazalema
Hotel Villa de Grazalema
#2 of 4 in Grazalema
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Al Lago
Al Lago
#1 of 2 in Zahara de la Sierra
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marques de Zahara
Marques de Zahara
#2 of 2 in Zahara de la Sierra
37 reviews
0.5 mi away
Molino El Vinculo
Molino El Vinculo
#2 of 6 in Zahara de la Sierra
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arco de la Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arco de la Villa

Property: Hotel Arco de la Villa
Address: Camino Nazari, s/n, 11688 Zahara de la Sierra, Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park > Zahara de la Sierra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Zahara de la Sierra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Arco de la Villa 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Arco de la Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing