We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Stay one of a kind DESTINATION hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Arco de la Villa
Reviewed 1 January 2013

A "must-see" white village, Zahara de la Sierra is one of the most spectacularly situated villages in Spain.

Hotel Arco de la Villa is a great destination hotel within the village. It is an attraction of itself. If you are looking for a unique place to stay with a breathtaking view and great value while you are traveling in Spain look no further than the Arco de Villa. Why stay here....

1. You park on the roof of the hotel!
2. You take elevators down to your room.
3. Hotel is built into the mountain!
4. Every hotel room has a 180 degree view of the valley and reservoir.
5. Located at the top of a picturesque Spanish "pueblos blancos" or white mountain villages
6. Feel immersed in the real culture of Spain. (no english speaking people during the off season)
7. Safe place to stay outside of Seville.
8. Lots of hiking trails directly outside of hotel entrance, including a trail to the old Moorish Castle.
9. Lots of beautiful photograph opportunities.
10. Wake up to a beautiful sunrise or see a beautiful sunset without leaving your room.

Hotel is a short 2 minute walk from a few small little cafes / restaurants.
We were traveling between Seville and Ronda, and this was the perfect place to stay in between. 1.5 hours from Seville, and 30 minutes from historic Ronda. This was a great place to stay. No crime, very few people, and absolutely beautiful scenery at a one of a kind hotel.

We had absolutely no problems with staff, room, or location.
We did not eat in the restaurant. But did walk to a really nice cafe-restaurant close by.
Nothing fancy about the accommodations, but a really nice place to stay if you are looking for something more unique and interesting than your average run of the mill hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the lower floors if possible. A corner unit will give you even more of a view. But all rooms...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smdillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Arco de la Villa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2012 via mobile

We wanted to see rural Spain and swim in a lake in the mountains! Lovely hotel nestled on the rock face at the top of the village! Very friendly male host and good facilities! Big room and the most incredible view! Very glad we came! The village is so pretty with steep hills, lots of history and a lovely shop selling cakes and pies etc open all day; siesta everything is closed! There are some lovely cafes which serve food all day too, definitely worth a visit! A hidden gem in Andalusia!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honeybadgerbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

The hotel is fab, all rooms with majical views over the valley and reservoir (great for a swim!) and is run by very friendly staff. The rooms are excellent as is breakfast faced with stunning views... but to be honest you won't be spending much time in the hotel!The village of Zahara is beautiful. The people are wonderful and the whole area is steeped in fascinating history with the castle atop the hill bieng one of the frontier defences built by the Moors.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally excellent. Take your walking shoes and explore. Check out all the breathtaking...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morleymatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Very noisy room. Awful beds. Great location. Did not try food.

Room Tip: Get as far away from the dining room as you can- two floors down might do it.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Godreamanboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed a this hotel for 1 night as part of a travelling holiday around Andalusia earlier this month. The hotel Arco de la Villa has wonderful views over the reservoir from the bedroom windows and we found the room comfortable and very clean. We booked through Booking.com and after reading the reviews thought we may be in for a long uphill walk to reach the hotel as it stated it was on the road up to the castle, but in fact it isn't that far from the main village centre and well worth the extra few yards.
We didn't have breakfast at the hotel so can't comment on that but the hotel staff we found to be very obliging and organised a taxi for us to the next village along.
As we arrived on a Friday by bus, there was no form of public transport out of the village till Monday! Take care with transport arrangements if you travel to Zahara, it is not best served by buses! I would recommend this hotel and definitely stay there again if we are in tghe area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pepsaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Unfourtunately the worse hotel in all the trip across Andalucia...Arrived very tired at dinner time, we were welcomed from a lazy guy at reception...The room was clean and nice but temperature is very cold inside!! Anyways we decided to stop at hotel for dinner and..what a pity...when I ask one dish for vegetarians, the boy (the same one at reception who served at restaurant), after reading all menu noisy, watched and said me: NO. When I asked a little vegetable dish, after discussing..voilà..a plat of frozen green salat with a little slice of bread..Sincerely not recommed to vegetarians or someone who would like eat veg...

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rustam2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

I spend 2 nights in Arco de la villa's only single room in September 2009. This hotel is simply the best you find in Zahara - and this actually says a lot even though it's a small village! The view from all the rooms is breathtaking! The front desk and staff are present 24 hours, and they are very friendly, helpful and informative, even though they only speak spanish! The room was big and cosy, it had a flatscreen tv and a large clean bathroom. Breakfast could be enjoyed in the restaurant, and the hotel has an elevator as well. All rooms are situated at level -1 and -2, and front desk and the restaurant is at level 0. This unfortunatelty means that the rooms on the level -1 are very noisy! I had room 1 next to the staircase and the elevator, and just on top of my room was the front desk, where there were activity all 24 hours. You could hear a buzz all night from some kind of generator... But none the less was this a great hotel experience, and I would easily provide this hotel with one or two more stars! Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeikaAarhus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zahara de la Sierra
6.3 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
#1 of 4 in Grazalema
620 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Villa de Grazalema
Hotel Villa de Grazalema
#2 of 4 in Grazalema
144 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotel Las Truchas
Hotel Las Truchas
#3 of 3 in El Bosque
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Hotel del Carmen
Hotel del Carmen
#1 of 1 in Prado del Rey
87 reviews
0.5 mi away
Molino El Vinculo
Molino El Vinculo
#3 of 6 in Zahara de la Sierra
76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Al Lago
Al Lago
#1 of 3 in Zahara de la Sierra
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arco de la Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arco de la Villa

Address: Camino Nazari, s/n, 11688 Zahara de la Sierra, Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park > Zahara de la Sierra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Zahara de la Sierra
Price Range: £44 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Arco de la Villa 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Arco de la Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing