We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the trip!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sugarbush Farm

Sugarbush Farm
Ranked #2 of 25 things to do in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Working Vermont farm open to visitors. Free samples, free admission, visit with real farmers
Boston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth the trip!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

My girlfriends and I decided to visit for the free samples. We went a little off season...so the roads were tedious and muddy. But our love for cheese would not wain. We loved this farm! Cheese and Maple syrup are delicious and there are sooooo many more samples! Great to support this farm! Animals weren't quite out as it was still a little too cold...

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nobrega7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
betsylarry, Owner at Sugarbush Farm, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
So glad you enjoyed your visit and the samples. Lucky our "mud season" is over and the towns of Woostock and Pomfret have spread gravel on the roads, and scraped them smooth. They still are a bit more rough than a black top road but folks in the country prefer the gravel roads for jogging and horse back riding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    166
    41
    20
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A highlight of our trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We had a great time trying the cheese and maple syrup, touring the maple boiling room and walking in the woods amongst the maple trees. The tours are self guided but there are signs along the way that give you information about what you are seeing. Everyone working there was very nice and the views from the farm are spectacular!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank carolyndelia90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
betsylarry, Owner at Sugarbush Farm, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Glad you enjoyed your visit. Our maple season of March & April is now over so we turn the sugar house where the boiling has taken place during the maple season into an educational building to show folks how we tap the trees and boil the sap down to syrup. We have a short video, displays, and exhibits to explain how sap starts out as water and how we build a big fire to evaporate lots of the water.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New City, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We love Sugarbush!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We visit sugarbush farms every time we go to Woodstock. We enjoy all the tastings and discovering a new cheese, syrup or jam to bring home. It's very country, so don't wear your best shoes, but that's part of the beauty of the area...especially in April. We always buy syrup and cheese from them....the "B" grade syrup is our favorite and the only place we know to buy it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debi_DDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sugarbushfarm, Owner at Sugarbush Farm, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
We are glad you enjoy coming to visit. Its a fact that mud season and maple sugaring season need the same kind of weather. The mud has dried up now but we're glad you know to wear boots when you come in the winter or early spring. Vermont has so many wonderful small family food businesses that keep inventing new jams and mustards so we enjoy showcasing new products made locally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average Attraction”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We went around 3:30pm and it seemed like they were closing. Not many samples out and nothing really happening on the farm. no one to talk to on the outside at all. Samples were very good as was the maple walk. My nine year old was pretty disappointed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sugarbushfarm, Owner at Sugarbush Farm, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thanks for visiting. We are open until 5 pm each day and always have samples of our 15 varieties of cheese and 4 grades of maple syrup open for sampling and explanation. We invite folks to watch how we hand wax our cheese for safe traveling but by the time of day you were there we might have been done dipping it in wax so we could have it all labeled up and put away by closing at 5. Our outside activities are self guided with most folks walking on the maple trail with their family and checking out our maple sugar house. Someone is at the sugar house when we are actually boiling the sap into syrup. However, 2014 was a very short maple season lasting less than a month with actual syrup being made only 14 days as we need a night below freezing and a day warm enough for sap to flow so you must have come a day when the weather was not correct for maple syrup making. Unfortunely Mother Nature does what she pleases and we can't control the days we can actually be making the syrup. We hope you were offered a chance to see our 8 minute video which gives folks more idea of the tapping of the maple tree process and how the sap drips out like water.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We return each visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Regardless of the time of year we travel to VT, we always make sure we schedule a stop at Sugarbush. Not only is everyone who works here patient, kind, knowledgeable, and entertaining, but they produce our favorite Maple syrup!!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sugarbushfarm, Owner at Sugarbush Farm, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
So glad you enjoy coming back to retry old favorites and experience some of our new products. We are just finishing up our 2014 maple season with about 8000 trees tapped each making about one quart of pure Vermont maple syrup.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sugarbush Farm also viewed

 

Been to Sugarbush Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing