We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Woodstock Inn and Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The Woodstock Inn was all we expected from an American hotel in direct contrast to our recent experience in Italy, but enough of that, this was great! From the moment we arrived we felt like we were being looked after, actually since we had been in email contact with the hotel beforehand we felt we were being looked after even before we arrived. We got exactly the room we asked for looking out over the porch with a view of Mount Tom. The room was comfortable and clean with bathrobes that actually fitted us, (usually they are too short aren’t they?). The hotel has a smart restaurant, The Red Rooster but we decided on Richardson’s Tavern since we wanted a ribs and clam chowder and a pint of beer sort of meal. Being a large hotel it is very busy but the staff are very attentive and made you feel special. When we asked for some service or other it was done immediately. The nights were turning colder so the big real log fire in the lobby was a fabulous feature to enjoy and yes I did fall asleep in front of it, just too nice! If you want to eat as much as possible for breakfast then it is a good deal, the food is great especially the porridge, but if your appetite is modest then we are not sure that it such great value. That would be our only criticism about a hotel which we thoroughly enjoyed for the four nights we were there.

Room Tip: Try to get one at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIandR, Guest Relations Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. we are glad you enjoyed the lobby fireplace so much and we will share your kind comments in regards to the staff. we look forward to your return. all the best.

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

829 - 835 of 1,276 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stopped by Woodstock on our way to Stowe. My wife asked at the local dress shop which restaurant was not to be missed. The unequivocal recommendation was the Inn down the street.

This is a big place, with lovely gardens leading to the front door from the sidewalk. The restaurant is updated - actually lacking in charm that one might expect from a country inn in Vermont. But, one quick view at the menu told us we had come to the right place. Everything sounded great - and most were unique offerings. Not just burgers and fries.

Service was excellent as were the meals. I'd definitely come back again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ReubenJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIandR, Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for joining us for lunch in The Red Rooster. We are delighted to hear about your experience and appreciate the review! We look forward to an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

The Woodstock Inn & Resort Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We have been here a few times now and each time gets better! The rooms are nicely appointed and a good size. The customer service is always top notch! They go out of their way to help! Great dining options on site. Close to two ski areas. Lots of activities for the kids around the holidays. Plenty to do in Woodstock.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIandR, Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for returning to The Woodstock Inn & Resort. It was our pleasure to welcome you back to The Inn and we are delighted to hear about your most recent stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon for another ski vacation!

Sincerely,

The Woodstock Inn & Resort Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I (30) could not have had a more perfect weekend retreat here. Beautiful four-poster bed and plush wingback chairs in let us relax in our room. we had an amazing dinner at the Red Rooster restaurant, and spent a luxurious afternoon relaxing in the spa. Top notch service and a stunningly gorgeous town make this the perfect New England retreat weekend!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DogLvr121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIandR, Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for choosing The Woodstock Inn & Resort. We are so pleased to hear about your recent stay and appreciate the review. We look forward to welcoming you back for future relaxing getaways!

Sincerely,

The Woodstock Inn & Resort Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This hotel looks great when you arrive. A welcoming reception area with an open fire, and various comfortable public rooms. Our bedroom, at the side of the hotel, was nothing special. Just an ordinary hotel room. There was nothing wrong with it, but I somehow expected something more special after seeing the public rooms. It was, however, comfortable and well equipped. The breakfast was excellent. The location is excellent, very close to the centre of town but also quiet.

At checkout the receptionist tried to charge again for a prepaid room, but this was soon put right, although I needed to evidence the prepayment.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coddfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The Inn is a 5 star resort. The place is very warm with a magnificent fireplace and lounge when you first enter the Inn. Afternoon tea is a must. Several on site shops of specialty items and 2 very nice bar and Resturant areas. The rooms are large and modern with very comfortable beds. The spa service is very relaxing, outdoor hot tub, sauna, and a wonderful lounges....a little expensive......but worth it.

The Inn also has offsite, but convenient access to nice indoor pool and exercise facilities. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful.

The only drawback is it is difficult to get to by car or plane. But it is in a very beautiful part of Vermont and the town is very old and historic that once there you'll love it. Close to skiing, hiking trails, golf, etc

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Reunited with high school friends four our 50th BD and had a fun three night stay. The town is cute and has a couple of restaurants and a few good shops to browse through. We rented bicycles through the inn and also went hiking and kayaking. We did a spa day with massages and facials as well.
I did think the room was pricey for what was given. Just basically two beds and a desk. We brought our own wine and cheese but ate breakfast at the inn each morning and ate dinner there one night. Food was fine, although the menu was limited. Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank suzyd43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
1.8 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
462 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
357 reviews
17 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#1 of 5 in Ludlow
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Shire Woodstock
The Shire Woodstock
#4 of 6 in Woodstock
540 reviews
17.7 mi away
Castle Hill Resort And Spa
0.5 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodstock Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodstock Inn and Resort

Address: Fourteen The Green, Woodstock, VT 05091-1283
Region: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range: £185 - £393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodstock Inn and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vermont's Most Beautiful Address. Woodstock Inn & Resort is a year-round destination in the village of Woodstock, Vermont that embraces the vision of Laurance and Mary Rockefeller. With a legacy that’s deeply rooted in the Woodstock community, the Inn is cherished for its preservation of New England history, heritage, and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Woodstock Inn and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodstock Hotel Woodstock
Woodstock Resort
Woodstock Inn Vermont
Woodstock Inn And Resort Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing