We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So enjoyed the Woodstock Winter Wonderland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Woodstock Inn and Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My high school aged daughter and I wanted to ski for a few days starting on New Year's Day. When I saw the weather prediction for a big FREEZE, I chose the Woodstock Inn, knowing we would have a lovely setting and more options if it was too too cold to ski. It was a good choice as we were actually snowed in for an additional day. We did ski one day at Suicide Six, in the snow, using the resort's shuttle to go back and forth. In fact, once i parked the car I never went back to it until we had to leave. We walked to restaurants, out for coffee, and shopping. We walked to the Community Theater to see the movie. We were disappointed not to be able to get an appointment at the Spa-once everyone realized it was too cold for outdoors, they booked up. I did not really like Richardson's Tavern-the prices are perfect for family eating but my class of wine wasn't worth a repeat and although my fish stew was good, my daughter's hot sandwich wasn't worth finishing. The front desk staff was warm, welcoming and endlessly patient with advice and weather reports. Afternoon tea and cookies was a fun touch. And although the daily breakfast buffet is extensive, the omelette station would be much improved if it included more fresh vegetables-nothing jarred(yes I'm picky, that's why I was at the Woodstock)- The staff, to a person, were absolutely professional and friendly and added so much to the entire presentation of the Inn. The way the entire Inn and town were decorated and lit up was beautiful.

Room Tip: It's always nice to look out over the front of the Inn. We did have the service drive right unde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PLACESIAINTNEVERBEEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCR-VT, Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thanks for your great review of our "Winter Wonderland" and lovely little village! We're glad you enjoyed all the options and activities, and can't wait to welcome you to out Spring, Summer, and Fall Wonderlands as well! Yours truly, Rick Reno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

764 - 770 of 1,238 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

My husband and I love to travel and our stay at the Woodstock Inn rates high on our favorites list. We stayed at the Woodstock Inn for a relaxing winter weekend and had a wonderful stay. Our first impression of this spectacular, historic Inn was of the front door being opened by the door staff and a warm and inviting fire blazing in the extra-large fireplace. Our room in the tavern area included a king size bed, marble bathroom and our own fireplace. The room was spacious and well appointed. We especially appreciated the amenities including soft, cozy robes; bedside chocolates; fragrance oils in the bathroom; and bedside chocolates.

We spent a little time exploring all the Inn had to offer. We played a few games of ping pong in the family friendly "great room" where the prior evening a small group enjoyed the playoff games on the large screened TV. There was also a game room with a pool table, air hockey and other games kids of any age would enjoy. We also stopped by the spa which offers a variety of ever changing services. The Inn has a nice gift shop which sells works from area artisans.

The Inn has a couple of different dining choices. We had room service our first evening and everything was tasty. We also had the Sunday brunch which had a wide variety of fruits, muffins, cereals, hot dishes and an omelet station. If you prefer to eat elsewhere there are plenty of great options, some within walking distance. We particularly enjoy Bentley's but hear that the Prince and the Pauper is good too.

The Inn is located in one of the quaintest Vermont towns. We enjoyed shopping at Gillingham's and many of the other local shops. If you are into art there are several art galleries in town as well as other artist shops. If you enjoy the outdoors you can partake of skiing, snow shoeing and even dogsledding (20 minutes away in Windsor).

Let's just say that this is a great place for a romantic getaway, girl’s weekend, or family vacation. And the best thing of all is that the staff is truly there to make sure you are having a great stay, it’s Disney hospitality at its best. I cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: First floor tavern rooms can be noisy post winter storm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scout11258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCR-VT, Guest Relations Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thanks for visiting, and for the kind, thorough review! As much as we love our rooms, restuarants, etc., it's especially gratifying that you enjoyed a warm welcome from our team! We're proud of them and have shared your praise. We all look forward to welcoming you again soon! Yours truly, Rick Reno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Went this past weekend with my girlfriend. It was a fantastic experience. The Woodstock Inn is a hotel the way they used to be. Friendly attentive staff and warm atmosphere. We were only able to stay for the weekend, but everyone was great. While we did not have time to enjoy the area long, there were shuttles to get you around, and everything was within a short distance of the Inn. We had dinner in the Red Rooster, and were impressed with the food. Highly recommend staying here when in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Perry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCR-VT, Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thanks for visiting, and for the nice review! We're glad you enjoyed your romantic weekend at The Woodstock Inn, and look forward to welcoming you again soon, when you can stay a little longer and take full advantage of everything the area has to offer!
Yours truly, Rick Reno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This resort has an amazing spa, good food and great all-around service. I am 5 months pregnant, and to celebrate my birthday, we came here. I could not ski or do much of the outdoor activities, or bars, so we spent much of our time at the spa. I will say the staff is great here. My only complaint is that it's really for either families or older (60+) couples. Lot's of locals come to the restaurants. Not much to do in town. Spa treatments are expensive, but worth it.

There are different types of rooms too. We got lucky and upgraded to the bridal suite - which was amazing. The fireplace rooms are definitely worth it.

Room Tip: Fireplace rooms are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank velocigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCR-VT, Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for visiting, and for sharing your impressions of The Resort. I'm glad to see you enjoyed The Spa and the fireplace in your room! We look forward to welcoming you and your new baby soon, when you can take full advantage of all the wonderful outdoor recreation in the Woodstock Area!
Yours truly, Rick Reno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

As a frequent Vermont-vacationing snob (in a good way!) I've visited almost every town in this beautiful state, and Woodstock has to be one of the prettiest, surrounding the attractive Woodstock Inn. The second time I stayed here was even better as it was the first weekend in November and a cold one. The main lobby fireplace is such a relaxing spot after a day of travel and there are quite a few common rooms to sit and enjoy the setting. Concierge staff are very accommodating to anything you may need at the inn or nearby attractions (please take advantage of their free admission to Billings Farm -terrific place). I stayed in the tavern/fireplace wing, a favorite just to have a real fire in your room is special, especially in the cool months. Dinner was very good in Richardson's tavern, it a casual atmosphere with lit lanterns and fireplace. The village by the inn has a large variety of shops- there is something for everyone. The one thing I would have liked to try was their spa (next time). The staff very friendly and great products to try. I would encourage anyone visiting Vermont to stop here first, through the covered bridge and across to the green.

Room Tip: The tavern wing an excellent choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCR-VT, Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Hi Karen-
Thank you for visiting, and for the wonderful review! We’re glad you enjoyed your stay, and agree that a room with a real fireplace is a great treat! We wish you could be here today to watch the woods fill up with snow, and look forward to seeing you again soon… and this time let’s not overlook The Spa!
Yours truly- Rick Reno
Training Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This was my 5th stay in the Woodstock Inn and while there I booked another stay for January. The Inn is just beautiful and the people who work there are very professional while still being very down to earth. We stayed for 4 nights and had a fireplace room. There was an ample supply of firewood at all times. We ate at both restaurants and both were great. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jojoruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCR-VT, Guest Relations Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for visiting, and for the nice review! There's something special about a room with a real, old-fashioned fireplace; and we're glad you also enjoyed dining in The Red Rooster and "The Tavern."

We're all looking forward to welcoming you back to Woodstock in the New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I stayed at the Inn on business this fall. The fire in the lobby fireplace is such a "warm" welcome. The front desk staff could not have been friendlier and more efficient. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. The dining room staff is very professional and attentive. The down side to the resort from a conference attendees point of view is noise distraction. The meeting room we were in must abut a service area because half way through the presentation, it sounded like staff were setting up a bar and at times quite disruptive. That being said, the meeting rooms are state of the art and very attractive.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tine1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCR-VT, Guest Relations Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you for visiting The Woodsotck Inn & Resort, and for your thoughtful review. We pride ourselves on our "warm" welcomes and are glad to hear you enjoyed both the fire and the friendliness of our staff!

Thanks also for your comments about our meeting spaces. We'll address your concerns with our management team, and strive to make your next experience here ven more rewarding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
1.8 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
447 reviews
4.0 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
296 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Shire Woodstock
The Shire Woodstock
#4 of 6 in Woodstock
536 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
17.7 mi away
Castle Hill Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodstock Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodstock Inn and Resort

Address: Fourteen The Green, Woodstock, VT 05091-1283
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range: £206 - £462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodstock Inn and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vermont's Most Beautiful Address. Woodstock Inn & Resort is a year-round destination in the village of Woodstock, Vermont that embraces the vision of Laurance and Mary Rockefeller. With a legacy that’s deeply rooted in the Woodstock community, the Inn is cherished for its preservation of New England history, heritage, and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels and Ebookers so you can book your Woodstock Inn and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodstock Hotel Woodstock
Woodstock Resort
Woodstock Inn Vermont
Woodstock Inn And Resort Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing