We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs new management or don't go when they're busy...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Woodstock Inn and Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Needs new management or don't go when they're busy...”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Tried to fit too much furniture in room. Couldn't open the closet doors! Food was very hit and miss from the red rooster at lunch and dinner. Room service person this morning was incredibly unhappy and food was not hot after waiting 40 minutes. Room wasn't dark as shutters didn't close all the way. Not a AAA four diamond experience.

Room Tip: Don't stay in original building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CW P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCR-VT, Guest Relations Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your candid comments on your recent stay, and for alerting us to areas where we need to improve in order to earn your loyalty. Our leadership team will look into your concerns, and hope that on your next visit we can better fulfill your expectations. When planning your next trip, please consider making your reservations by phone so that our agents can help you select a room that better meets your needs. Again, thank you for the feedback!
Very truly yours, Rick Reno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    769
    215
    86
    35
    22
See reviews for
261
598
25
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

what a great place to stay. beautiful. the pool area was really nice. we loved that there was wait service by the pool to bring drinks and food. we had drinks at the bar and we loved the bar. good drinks too. we never ate dinner here, although I hear the reviews are good. we paid a good amount of money for our hotel room and the one small thing that bothered me, is that when we first walked into the room my eyes directly went to the large stain on the carpet. a 4.5 star hotel should take care of something like this. shampoo on a carpet does wonders. I would definitely stay again, but I would stay in the rooms with private porches. we loved it here and the town of Woodstock itself was just beautiful to walk around and browse in the shops. can't wait to go back again to the Woodstock inn and resort. i'm sure xmas time is gorgeous.

Room Tip: stay in the rooms with private porches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolyn l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCR-VT, Guest Relations Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for visiting us in Woodstock, and for your kind words regarding our pool, food and drink, and the service you received… and yes, Woodstock is gorgeous in all four seasons! The porch rooms in the Tavern Wing are very attractive, and if you can return at Christmas-time, we’d suggest a room with a wood-burning fireplace! We look forward to seeing you again soon, and will strive to be worthy of five stars next time!
Thanks again, Rick Reno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raynham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We just returned from our stay at the Woodstock Inn. We have stayed here many times and experienced all the seasons in Woodstock. We keep returning because this place is so great. This place has the feel of a small, cozy inn but it is by no means small. When you walk in there is an enormous fireplace with several cozy seating areas which immediately sets the tone. In fact, throughout the inn there are so many areas to sit and relax - the library, the wicker room (coffee, tea and fresh baked cookies every day at 4:00), the porch, the game room downstairs, outside Adorondeck chairs and a fire pit outside at night. Every guest room is exactly what one would imagine when picturing a Vermont inn - thick comforters on great beds, bathrobes in the closet, high back winged chairs, and some rooms even have fireplaces. There are two amazing restaurants in the inn - a terrific tavern with spectacular food (seafood stew and mac n' cheese with lobster are our favorites) decorated with dark wood and a fireplace and a more upscale restaurant with more gourmet food and a gorgeous bar. We played the beautiful golf course on site that accommodates all abilities. If you want to workout, they have a full gym, exercise classes and an indoor pool in the recreation center (there's also a new outdoor pool at the inn - Alex, who works there is just wonderful.) And definitely a favorite spot of mine is the new spa. They have a signature spa treatment that can't be beat - request Kate, she's terrific. There's so much to do here no matter what time of the year you go. But be sure you leave time to just experience the Inn and the the wonderful people that work there who can take care of all your needs.

Room Tip: Rooms in the tavern wing have fireplaces
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCR-VT, Guest Relations Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for the gracious comments. We’re thrilled that so many of our guests return year after year and enjoy Woodstock in all four seasons! It’s nice that you’ve been able to take advantage of and enjoy so many of our amenities, but we agree with you that it’s really “the wonderful people” that make the difference. We’ll share your praise with Alex at the pool and Kate in The Spa, and I’m sure they too will appreciate your kind words. We’re looking forward to your next visit already, as we know you are!
Thanks again, Rick Reno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Woodstock Inn continues to be a wonderful place to visit in any season. Friendly staff, beautiful facilities/ammenities, spacious rooms, etc. This time we visited in the summer and took advantage of the tennis and work out facilities and the pool. I will continue to return to the Woodstock Inn.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCR-VT, Guest Relations Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for returning to The Woodstock Inn over the years, and for the glowing review… We agree with you that Woodstock is wonderful, with lots of recreational options all year ‘round! We’re glad you found our staff friendly and accommodating, and that you were able to enjoy some of our recreational facilities. Maybe on your next visit you’ll have time to include The Spa and sample some of the amazing fresh organic produce from out Kelly Way Gardens. Whenever you find time to return, we look forward to welcoming you again!
Thanks again, Rick Reno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

That's the best way we could think to describe this review. My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights and 4 days and it was a truly great experience. Very clean and beautiful room with a very comfortable king sized bed. The grounds are beautiful and the outdoor, saltwater pool was wonderful. Also, the spa alone is worth coming for. We've been to Mohonk a few times and the spa here won, hands down. You don't get the view of the mountains like Mohonk, but the signature spa treatment is amazing and for 100 minutes, the price can't be beat. Back to the hotel...

The first issue was breakfast. While a buffet was provided for a few days of our trip, it wasn't provided for the last. This wasn't due to it being a weekend or a weekday and no one could give us an answer as to why they would do a buffet sometimes but not others. The end result is that we now had to eat exactly what was offered at the buffet but now pay for each item a la carte, which costs much more. If they just did buffet on the weekends, I would understand, but to not have a clear reason in place as to why this is done is annoying. The breakfast was very tasty, but in the buffet my pancakes were cold, despite being on a sterno. I'm not sure why that would have been the case.

The other issue was with reserving the fire pit. There is a beautiful area behind the hotel with a fire pit. We were told by the front desk that we could come by any time to request use of the fire pit and were even told that there was no need for an advanced reservation. On our last night, we wanted to use it so we showed up around 8:15, asked if they could set it up, and were told that it was too late for the request and that all requests should be made before 8:00. Obviously, this was upsetting because if we had known there was a night time cut off, we would have requested the pit earlier in the day. They refused to make any exception about this even though we had been given the wrong information from another front desk clerk.

These two issues would not keep us from returning and now that we know about these things, we are prepared for our next trip. The place is located in a beautiful setting right in the town of Woodstock and there is so much to do in the surrounding area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCR-VT, Guest Relations Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for visiting Woodstock, and for your gracious and candid feedback. We too love The Spa, and we’re happy to see that you think it compares favorably with others in the area. I especially love the way we can incorporate a little bit of The Spa – cool lavender-infused towels, delicious anti-oxidant elixirs, and so on – at the pool for all our guests!

Thank you also for pointing out your small frustrations. Every detail really does affect your overall experience, and we want you to know that we are addressing the issues you point out with our leaders.

We hope to welcome you to Woodstock again very soon!
Yours truly, Rick Reno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Woodstock Inn & Resort a few times and decided to try it again for an overnight stay during our travels. We booked online through their website this time and found the reservation process easy… and accurate when we arrived as all the details were confirmed during our check-in.

We found the staff throughout the Inn to be very friendly and helpful. The housekeeping staff did their job extremely well as the Inn and room were spotless!

That was “The Good”… now here’s “The Bad”:

The building needs some major work as evident by the blown thermo pane seals in the windows of our room. This does two things: It obstructs the view through the windows since humidity and residue collect between the panes of glass making the windows look dirty… and it destroys the insulation ability of the windows.

The Red Rooster Dining Room (refinished some 6 years ago) is like a child that does not know what it wants to be when it grows up. The walls are stark and have no character with very little decorations; there are tavern-style tables throughout with no place mats nor linens, but with Shaker-chairs combined with 70’s retro-style booths. A stand of Birch trees in a large square water feature, plus a few standing lamps fashioned from trees around the room’s perimeter seem to be the only connection to the Green Mountains of Vermont. The entire space just left us with one thought, “What were they thinking?”

The food was lacking in consistency of preparation and finishing, although the Inn’s Red Rooster Dining Room boasts the “AAA Four-Diamond Award”… from which year? We don’t know, but we had dinner there. The appetizers were certainly not memorable. The main course had many glaring errors: The Northeastern Scallops had so much sand in them that we could have created our own beach. The Maine Lobster was almost non-existent in the Russet Potato Hash, but the very few pieces we did find were over cooked and rubbery. The Applewood Smoked Bacon had the texture of jerky that could be chewed for an hour.

It’s interesting to note that the Inn is booked solid each weekend for weddings throughout the entire summer of 2014. We can understand why when one considers the beauty of the property, but fear that if the kitchen staff don’t step up their game, the bride and groom and their guests will be very disappointed after such an important event in their lives.

Would we return to the Woodstock Inn & Resort? Yes. It is still a beautiful gem located in a pretty town in the heart of Vermont. Would we eat there again? Yes, but just breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amluckytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCR-VT, Guest Relations Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for visiting The Woodstock Inn, and for your thoughtful feedback. We appreciate your repeated business and are happy to hear that you’ll consider returning to The Inn the on your next visit to the area!

We especially appreciate your pointing out areas where we have opportunities to better meet your expectations, and want you to know that your input is important to the ongoing conversation among our leadership team as we craft the future of The Resort.

We look forward to your next visit to Woodstock, and hope to earn the same five-star rating you felt we deserved on your previous visit.

Very truly yours,
Rick Reno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland ct
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The inn is just beautiful.....the grounds are well manicured and the lobby and hallways were pristine....nicely furnished and very grand.
The fitness center is about 1.5 miles down the road...my husband used it daily and was happy with it.
The staff at the inn was very friendly and on top of everything...I called for maintenance on our ac and maintenance was at our door within 5 minutes.
My only complaint is the bathroom....very very tight ....the sink is a pedestal and the toilet us right next to it...there is a large shelf behind the toilet for your make up etc but you have to climb over the toilet to reach anything. Other then that we loved the inn

Room Tip: Don't get a garden room....bathroom are tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robingarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCR-VT, Guest Relations Manager at Woodstock Inn and Resort, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us, and for sharing your thoughtful comments about your stay! We take pride in the way we care for our buildings and grounds, and being friendly and accessible to our guests whenever they have concerns. We’re happy that we were able to meet your needs and that you felt welcome here! I hope you’ll return soon, and would suggest you consider reserving your room by phone; our reservations team will be happy to help you choose a room that will meet your needs!

Very truly yours, Rick Reno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
1.8 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
401 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
301 reviews
4.0 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
0.5 mi away
The Shire Woodstock
The Shire Woodstock
#4 of 6 in Woodstock
491 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jackson House Inn
Jackson House Inn
#1 of 16 in Woodstock
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodstock Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodstock Inn and Resort

Property: Woodstock Inn and Resort
Address: Fourteen The Green, Woodstock, VT 05091-1283
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodstock Inn and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large and luxurious traditional Vermont inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Woodstock Inn and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodstock Hotel Woodstock
Woodstock Resort
Woodstock Inn Vermont
Woodstock Inn And Resort Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing