We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trading on it's picture postcard location, popular as dominates the town but stay somewhere else,very disappointing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Woodstock Inn and Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Trading on it's picture postcard location, popular as dominates the town but stay somewhere else,very disappointing!”
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Sadly this was the worst experience of our trip. This could be a perfect spot, it has a fabulous new spa, although the pool was already closed but seems to lack front of house management. The wonderful Halloween display was interspersed with pots of 'mums' that had been allowed to dry out and wilt in the heat of the log fire. Chairs in the breakfast room need spillages wiped down and there is nothing guaranteed to put you off food than to be faced with others leftovers piled up on trays, before being transferred to the kitchen. This is the only hotel in the world where I have had to ask housekeeping to stop vacuuming the bedroom corridors at 8am on a holiday weekend Sunday morning!
Worst was to come when we booked into the Red Rooster for our anniversary meal. Despite booking a day in advance and being residents we were shown to a table beside the kitchen and when we asked for a move the hostess happily agreed to get us a 'decent' table. We waited 30 minutes for another table - one away from the kitchen which we accepted as we were by now very hungry and waited a further 15 minutes before a waitress acknowledged our presence! Imagine our dismay when our salmon arrived raw in the middle!! We were told we would not be asked to pay but would rather have done so and enjoyed a memorable evening for the right, not wrong reasons!
Only positive is that the weather was stunning and we could enjoy strolling round the pretty town and visited Billings Farm and a hike round the Rockefeller National Park - very relaxing with beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Fiftynfallin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    750
    215
    86
    35
    22
See reviews for
257
589
24
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We enjoyed a wonderful weekend at the Woodstock Inn. It is an easy walk to the center of the town where there are wonderful restaurants and shops. Also a short drive to see the Long Trail Brewery. Hotel itself was very nice. Rooms were spacious and bathroom a good size. Check in and check out was simple and fast. The chairs by the pool are terrible and desperately need to be upgraded or at least have pads put on them. Other than that no complaints. The spa was not yet open so we look forward to trying that next time.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristenM07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

My husband and I traveled with our 18 month old. Woodstock Inn is great. Rooms were clean and nice and well-priced. Pool was fantastic - easy shuttle bus ride. Staff in phenomenal. We ate dinner in town but enjoyed breakfast at the hotel.

Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank rsg62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

This is a hotel that exudes service and friendliness from the beginning to the end. They have clearly put money into maintaining and upgrading both the public areas and the rooms. Everything clicks. The restaurants seem a little understaffed, with the Red Rooster now being the only dinner spot and it books up well in advance. The breakfast buffet suffers from being understaffed, leading to a backup for tables, but even with those annoyances the impression is terrific.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimMac62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
94 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2010

We stayed here for two nights in one of the heritage rooms. It was small, but adequate. The location in Woodstock is so nice. You can walk to everything in town. You have to drive to the fitness center and it is mostly used by local members. We ate lunch at the Red Rooster and thought the food and service were great. If you are not looking for the B & B experience, than this is THE hotel in Woodstock. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SugarCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2010

We only stayed at this hotel for one night but we had a lovely Tavern Wing room which had everything you could possibly want.
The only gripe we had was the service from the restaurant manager in The Red Rooster, who either assumed we were not staying at the hotel or had not made a reservation, which we had done both, and was quite rude until he discovered his error. It was a shame as it ruined a nice evening.
However, all the other staff were very good.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosebudand007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2010

Was passing through Woodstock with my husband after traveling home from a stay in New Hampshire. We ended up deciding to stay in Woodstock at the last minute and were overjoyed when we found out the Woodstock in had a room available! The night porter was extremely nice and upgraded us to a suite because we had arrived so late. The room was perfect. It was clean, comfortable, and there was even a real wood burning fire place! My husbands only complaint with the place was that it lacked the authenticity of an historic inn and my only complaint was the price.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisam7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
1.8 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
4.0 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
0.5 mi away
The Shire Woodstock
The Shire Woodstock
#4 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
17.8 mi away
Castle Hill Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodstock Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodstock Inn and Resort

Property: Woodstock Inn and Resort
Address: Fourteen The Green, Woodstock, VT 05091-1283
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodstock Inn and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large and luxurious traditional Vermont inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Woodstock Inn and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodstock Hotel Woodstock
Woodstock Resort
Woodstock Inn Vermont
Woodstock Inn And Resort Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing