We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa is NOT worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Woodstock Inn and Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2010

They spent a lot of money to make a welcoming Spa, complete with hot tub, drinks, and bath robes. BUT, after spending $200 on a massage package I was left wishing I'd stayed home. The made me walk through the front entrance in nothing but a short bathrobe. My massage therapist talked during the entire session, so I couldn't relax. And then they added a 20% gratuity to the charge which I had no choice but yo pay. I complained to the manager who said she would give me a free massage to change my mind, but then they kept putting off scheduling it and shortening the massage time, making it pointless to attempt to try it again. Save your money, there are better places to go.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
9  Thank vermontmountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,114 - 1,120 of 1,251 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2010

Last year my husband and I stayed at a lovely b & b in Woodstock. This year he insisted we book the Woodstock Inn and am I glad he did! It's amazing how they've managed to make a hotel feel like a big, cozy inn. The greet staff was the friendliest I've met. They felt like old friends, making us feel like we were "coming home" each time we entered the hotel. The lobby was yummy with it's big cottagey couches and chairs and huge hearth. Surrounding colours in varying tones of beige were warm and soothing. Little nooks and sitting areas were found throughout the main level. The pub was dark and woody while the main resto has a slick edge to it. Our room was delightful with it's vaulted ceiling, cream and raspberry colours, rich brown furniture, white wood full shutters that doubled as dark out blinds and an upscale marble bathroom. Food in the Rooster Room was excellent, so good we ate there 2 of our 3 nights in Woodstock. The inn boasts the best location in town, smack in the centre of it all with a gorgeous green in front leading out to the main village green. We loved our many "house tour" walks all around Woodstock and I especially enjoyed my daily visits to the shops. Easy hiking trails were at our fingertips. Almost forgot to mention the excellent sports facility, just a short complimentary shuttle ride away. I took a pilates class which was truly a class act. We arrived just before the opening of the new spa and will indulge upon my return next year.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funnybone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

The Woodstock Inn was convenient for family and friends to get to from Boston, NYC, and other northeast locations. Our group of 12 people felt comfortable gathering in the library and main lobby and were nicely accommodated in the pub and restaurant for two memorable evening meals.
The rooms were spacious and allowed friendly competition through board games after dinner and we all slept very well in the really comfy beds.
The spa was beautiful and I loved the idea of an outdoor sauna and whirlpool there. The setting and hospitality combine to ensure an unsurpassed experience.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mavelo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

The Woodstock Inn has unfortunately lost all its former charm and warmth. It is too large, too corporate in feeling,and too impersonal. The rooms are only OK- not all that clean, although the bedding was comfortable. The bathroom was nothing less than absurd- at these prices one should be able to take a step in some direction and have a place to store one's things. Maid banged on door every morning before 9 A.M. This is vacation, people! The main dining room was closed every single morning due to some corporate function and the tavern was the appointed site for business forums-- leaves the independent traveler feeling superfluous. Picture postcard setting is not enough to recommend this property.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RT/DT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Sadly this was the worst experience of our trip. This could be a perfect spot, it has a fabulous new spa, although the pool was already closed but seems to lack front of house management. The wonderful Halloween display was interspersed with pots of 'mums' that had been allowed to dry out and wilt in the heat of the log fire. Chairs in the breakfast room need spillages wiped down and there is nothing guaranteed to put you off food than to be faced with others leftovers piled up on trays, before being transferred to the kitchen. This is the only hotel in the world where I have had to ask housekeeping to stop vacuuming the bedroom corridors at 8am on a holiday weekend Sunday morning!
Worst was to come when we booked into the Red Rooster for our anniversary meal. Despite booking a day in advance and being residents we were shown to a table beside the kitchen and when we asked for a move the hostess happily agreed to get us a 'decent' table. We waited 30 minutes for another table - one away from the kitchen which we accepted as we were by now very hungry and waited a further 15 minutes before a waitress acknowledged our presence! Imagine our dismay when our salmon arrived raw in the middle!! We were told we would not be asked to pay but would rather have done so and enjoyed a memorable evening for the right, not wrong reasons!
Only positive is that the weather was stunning and we could enjoy strolling round the pretty town and visited Billings Farm and a hike round the Rockefeller National Park - very relaxing with beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Fiftynfallin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We enjoyed a wonderful weekend at the Woodstock Inn. It is an easy walk to the center of the town where there are wonderful restaurants and shops. Also a short drive to see the Long Trail Brewery. Hotel itself was very nice. Rooms were spacious and bathroom a good size. Check in and check out was simple and fast. The chairs by the pool are terrible and desperately need to be upgraded or at least have pads put on them. Other than that no complaints. The spa was not yet open so we look forward to trying that next time.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristenM07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

My husband and I traveled with our 18 month old. Woodstock Inn is great. Rooms were clean and nice and well-priced. Pool was fantastic - easy shuttle bus ride. Staff in phenomenal. We ate dinner in town but enjoyed breakfast at the hotel.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
Thank rsg62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
1.8 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
454 reviews
4 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
296 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Shire Woodstock
The Shire Woodstock
#4 of 6 in Woodstock
536 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
17.7 mi away
Castle Hill Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodstock Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodstock Inn and Resort

Address: Fourteen The Green, Woodstock, VT 05091-1283
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range: £206 - £456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodstock Inn and Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vermont's Most Beautiful Address. Woodstock Inn & Resort is a year-round destination in the village of Woodstock, Vermont that embraces the vision of Laurance and Mary Rockefeller. With a legacy that’s deeply rooted in the Woodstock community, the Inn is cherished for its preservation of New England history, heritage, and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Woodstock Inn and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodstock Hotel Woodstock
Woodstock Resort
Woodstock Inn Vermont
Woodstock Inn And Resort Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing