We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Red Rooster at The Woodstock Inn and Resort
Ranked #6 of 30 Restaurants in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Route 106 South Street
scotland ct
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Other reviews on the red rooster raved about it so we were excited....we ate outside which was lovely. I had the beet cavier salad which was very good....I ordered scallops and did ask to have them cooked through.....however they were over cooked and dark brown and dried out...I also asked them to hold the bacon which they did not...my husband ordered the Mac and cheese which is on the tavern menu but they let you order off either menu....he was unhappy with his dish after two bites....we waited 25 minutes before our waiter ever returned to our table to check on our dinners....the manager was nice enough to take the two dinners off our bill but we were disappointed and would not eat here again

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank robingarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    103
    47
    24
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Guilford,ct
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Favorite”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at The Woodstock Inn last week. We had two dinners and three lunches at The Red Rooster. All meals were very very good. Service is always outstanding. The menu is very extensive and specials are offered at every meal. We will be back!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jremra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Restaurant”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Red Rooster is a beautiful restaurant and the service is lovely. I wasn't totally wowed by the cuisine but it was certainly enjoyable. The fresh halibut was a bit overdone. All in all, the restaurant was very good but not outstanding.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dowagerton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & atmosphere”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This restaurant is in the Woodstock Inn in the center of Woodstock. The lunch menu is very varied so you will always find something to enjoy. They have a wide range of wine and beverages. You can choose to sit on the enclosed veranda or in the main dining area. Wherever you sit is comfortable with a water arrangement in the center of the dining room. The chairs are styled somewhat like Shaker and modern and so comfortable. From doorman at the front of the Inn to the staff -- courteous, smiling and helpful. I have eaten there many times and always enjoyable and delicious.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ortrud s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scituate, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Great menu. Lovely decor. Staff who are happy to get whatever you would like. Good place to start your day.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Suedarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Rooster at The Woodstock Inn and Resort also viewed

 

Been to Red Rooster at The Woodstock Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing