We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good service and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Melaza Bistro

Melaza Bistro
Ranked #4 of 30 Restaurants in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$26
Cuisines: Caribbean, Spanish, Puerto Rican, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our goal is to provide you and your guest with a casual fine dining experience where classic New England cuisine meets with subtle tropical flavors. !Let Melaza be your Place for Dining.....Enjoy Melaza's relaxed and refined atmosphere featuring outdoor seating on the front patio and back terrace. (Weather permitting). We offer Gluten Free, Tapas and Diner options.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good service and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

A warm welcome, followed by very good attentive service throughout.

We both had steak, although different cuts, which were cooked perfectly. Accompaniments were also lovely. Good choice of well priced wine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rootsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    88
    32
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful entree and great service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

After reading some reviews about poor atmosphere, we found the restaurant to be friendly and with a great buzz.
The server, John, was attentive without being overbearing and the food (pork shank and dish of the day roasted cod) was excellent - hot, flavorful and delicious. Certainly worth a visit. Great addition to the town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennie018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david d, Owner at Melaza Bistro, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Here from Team Melaza we want to express our Thanks for taking the time to have review Melaza Bistro and the great feedback. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your meal as well of the service. please come back again soon to see us!
If you have any more comments for us few things that we can improve please send me an email at ChefDavid@melazabistro.com.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterbury, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Exquisite cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

My experience at Melaza Caribbean Bistro was the best experience I've had at any restaurant where I've had a meal. My & my sister's evening meals were exquisite with each meal item having amazing & complicated flavors, with each item deliciously complimenting another & presented with beautiful artistry. The staff was respectful & accommodated any need we had -- answering questions knowledgeably, offering personal attention with a sophisticated touch. All around- a most pleasurable experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Massachusetts, Usa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Creative and delicious gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Delicious and creative food in the heart of Woodstock VT. One of our favorites in the area. Great for lunch as well (although limited hours)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank FoodTraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Had an absolutely outstanding meal here - we were only staying one night in Woodstock unfortunately, otherwise we might have gone straight back here again the next day! My husband had the pulled chicken and I had the pork shank. Both were fantastic, but the pork in particular was superb. It was so well presented the people on the next table even remarked on it! We both had Key Lime Pie for dessert and it was excellent. Feel very sad I live thousands of miles away from this place and won't be able to go back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TanyaBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Melaza Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing