We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food for whole family (ages 71-15) on New year's eve”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Spooners Bar and Grille - CLOSED

Spooners Bar and Grille
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Wonderful restaurant and reasonably priced! Not in the center of town but just outside of town. Varied menu with tasty specials. A place the locals eat! From the Hwy side of the restaurant it doesnt look like much but eat here and you WILL NOT be dissapointed. We stumbled on it just last week while doing a New England Fall Colors Trip. Excellent service by Thadeus and Rhonda. Want to share with TripAdvisor Community. Husband had a wonderful Steak w Bleu Cheese and I had delicious Boursin Stuffed Chicken. Excellent!!
Level Contributor
292 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good food for whole family (ages 71-15) on New year's eve”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Spent our last dinner in 2013 here, we've eaten here many time before thru the years. Always good food something for everyone. I had a salad and the Cajun shrimp always good . The long trail hit the spot nice and cold even on a cold night. The mud pie has an excellent cookie crust, one of the best I've had in a long time, a great way to welcome in 2014

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank madtana97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    21
    11
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Vermont
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Scallop dinner that was amazing and service that impressed us all! Waitress was super helpful and sweet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

It's hard to cook Scollops to perfection but these were perfect. Fresh, tender, and flavorful. Total bill was surprisingly reasonable. Waitress was great!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Was very good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Dinner was spectacular last year and was just good this past September. The waiter was a real nice person, very attentive and accommodating. All around a good experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joyce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Vermont
Level Contributor
582 reviews
428 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Enjoyed meal at the bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We visited Spooners one evening and enjoyed two salads and a bowl of cajun gumbo that was excellent. We are regular visitors to Lafayette, Louisiana and the Spooners gumbo was good as what we get down there. We enjoyed sitting at the bar and chatting with the bartender. The owner/chef does a great job with the food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Home-good cooking with a smile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Wonderful value for money, with delicious home cooked food and smiling friendly service - they will adapt the menu if you can't eat certain things. Scallops to die for. We ate there every night of our recent trip, it was THAT good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GetawayAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spooners Bar and Grille also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing