We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect name for a beautiful (and yummy) place!”
Review of Cloudland Farm

Cloudland Farm
Ranked #13 of 30 Restaurants in Woodstock
Price range: US$31 - US$48
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Cloudland Farm offers farm-to-table dining right on the farm where many of the ingredients were grown. Everything is made from scratch and all ingredients are locally sourced. The menu changes daily. Dine by the fireplace during the winter, or come early and enjoy the porch before dinner during the summer months. BYOB. Reservations required.
Houston
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect name for a beautiful (and yummy) place!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have been traveling to Woodstock for years and, somehow, missed this little piece of heaven. Cloudland is more than a restaurant- there is something so very Vermonyt about the entire experience. Cloudland is located at the end of a long, beautiful, tree-lined unpaved road. Upon arrival, you park in a large barn and check in at the restaurant. Take your own favorite bottle of vino and join your friends and other diners on the back porch overlooking the vast lawn and green hills in the distance. When your table is ready, you will be seated and and handed the description of tonight's meal. Everyone receives the same meal, unless you have am allergy or dietary restriction- they check with you upon reservation. Waitstaff was helpful, available (without hovering), and was genuinely interested that we have a great dining experience. The local farm-to-table meal was fantastic...we especially loved the beet ice cream! Don't miss this experience on your next trip- Reservations are a MUST!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    21
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Lots of Fun”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is a farm to table location well off the beaten path---in fact it is about three miles up a semi-paved road. it has a lovely country atmosphere and very fresh fare. We had a rhubarb (and strawberry?) pie for dessert that was served with heavenly ice cream. This is not only a restaurant but an enjoyable destination as well. You will be well fed and entertained.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank dowagerton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Interesting dining experience”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I really like the idea of farm to table and Cloudland Farm does it well. I felt as though the meal was more like very good home cooking than restaurant food, and that is a compliment. Our salad was very fresh and good but not really special. The chicken braised in red wine was so tender and the root vegetables puree absolutely delicious. The dessert was a disappointment. The crust of the lemon tart was hard and practically impossible to cut without its jumping off the plate, and the lemon filling was runny. The rhubarb-laced ice cream lacked flavor.

Noise was an issue. Conversation was nearly impossible without shouting. There were two large parties there that evening, so perhaps that increased the noise level.

We were told there was a view, but it was minimal, and if you're seated anywhere except at one or two windows, you won't see it. However, the location is at the end of a lovely drive and a welcome retreat from an in-town location.

Service was slow, but we weren't bothered by it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kona4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attleboro, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Went to Cloudland for dinner on May 31. The drive out there is an experience in itself, but it's kind of fun! The farm is stunning. The building in which you dine is lovely as is the porch where you can skip a drink and enjoy the view. We both had the Apple cider, which was delicious. The first course was a yummy poached egg with greens and asparagus: so good! The main course was pork that melted in your mouth and yummy cole slaw on the side. Wasn't crazy about the flavor of the escarole and white bean side, but I could tell it was well done if you like that kind of dish. Dessert was my favorite part! I can't say enough about the use of rhubarb in the dessert plus the ice cream and other accompaniments. The fresh tea complemented the dessert beautifully. Overall, we had a romantic evening with wonderful service and excellent food. We both agreed we would go back on our next trip and bring friends!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Missyleigh82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloudlandFarm, Owner at Cloudland Farm, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed your time here at Cloudland. Thanks for sharing your appreciation of the food and service on Trip Advisor. We love hear feedback from our guests. We hope you can join us again for another romantic evening at Cloudland. Make sure you plan to come early to spend some time on the porch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Top quality farm to table food”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was a great dining experience. It is not difficult to find, but is slightly a bit off the beaten path. We arrived a few minutes early so we could sit on the porch outside to enjoy the view. Bring a bottle of your favorite wine to enjoy.
The only negative I could say, and it is very slight, is that the service was a little awkward. We stood around for over five minutes before someone walked up to us to say they would seat us soon. Then we sat at our table for over ten minutes before someone brought us over the menus. Once dinner got going the service picked up. Our waitress explained the history of the farm and restaurant, and made sure we understood everything on the menu.
Onto the food, it was so fresh and excellent. We started with asparagus that had a poached egg on top. It was so different with pickled vegetables, delicious. Then on to ham and slaw and escarole with white beans. It was all delicious and the portion was really generous. I can't say enough about the food. It was really inventive with fresh and simple ingredients. Definitely worth a return visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elizdinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloudlandFarm, Owner at Cloudland Farm, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We appreciate your praise of Chef Nick's delicious cuisine and are so glad you had an enjoyable evening. We also appreciate your feedback on the service and will work to improve communication with guests if they have to wait for any period of time. We hope that you can join us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cloudland Farm also viewed

 

Been to Cloudland Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing