We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely, well appointed and comfortable inn”
Review of Deer Brook Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Deer Brook Inn
Ranked #3 of 16 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Burnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A lovely, well appointed and comfortable inn”
Reviewed 20 October 2011

My wife and I stayed in this well appointed inn for 2 nights on our most recent vacation to New England. Although the inn is a short distance from the the town of Woodstock it is ideally located for visiting the local area and sights.
We stayed in the Schubert Suite which is on the ground floor close to the main entrance.
The suite is spacious, well appointed, with a lovely bathroom and private sitting room.
This suite is at the front of the house and despite facing the main highway we were neither disturbed nor did we have our sleep interrupted.
The inn's decor and furnishing are of a high standard and it is spotlessly clean throughout.
The innkeepers David and George are the most attentive of hosts and make every effort to ensure that their guests enjoy their stay to the maximum.
Breakfasts really "hit the spot" and the occasion is made even more enjoyable through the seating arrangements allowing guests the opportunity too meet and chat with fellow travellers should they wish to do so.
One drawback is that the inn is approximately 6 miles from the centre of Woodstock so there are very few dining options that don't require a car ride.
The compensation is that the inn offers great value for money in an area where, from our experience, quality lodings during peak times can be expensive.
We would certainly recommend this inn to fellow travellers and is definitely on our list of quality places to stay in New England.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper then choose a room at the back of the inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    36
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
81
328
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rogers, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We recently stayed at the Deer Brook Inn while vacationing in Vermont with another couple who had never stayed at a bed and breakfast before. We all agreed it was a wonderful experience because of our hosts and their lovely inn. The rooms were comfortable and immaculate; the breakfasts were fabulous using fresh products from Vermont. Our hosts made our dinner reservations for us before we arrived in Woodstock and were extremely helpful with information about the area. Woodstock is a lovely village and a great home base for touring Vermont. When we return to Vermont, and we will, we will be staying at the Deer Brook Inn again! Sarah & Donnie Kendall Rogers, AR

Room Tip: All the rooms were very nice, but if you want more room, there is a downstairs room that is larger w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hindhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

This was our third Inn on our tour of New England and with one poor experience, (Capricorn Inn in Martha's Vineyard) and one great experience, (Cabernet Inn in NH), we weren't sure what to expect. In short, this Inn lives up to all of these rave reviews. We stayed for three nights.

Inn: Nicely situated in a river valley with a fast flowing river right outside the door. There is good parking and the Inn is well located for the village, (we would call it a town), of Woodstock. When we visited, the valley carried many shocking examples of Tropical Storm Irene. Only one local road was closed however and our holiday was not affected by the signs of tragedy that affected the poor residents. The lounge area was beautifully presented and we used it frequently in the early evening. We were able to keep our own wine in the fridge. There were board games to play but the TV was rather tucked away and practically speaking, the message is not to use it! This didn't bother us at all!

Room: A good, comfortable size. We had room 5. Although we faced front we were not troubled at all by traffic noise. Plenty of clothes storage and a decent bathroom. The eaves did come into the room a little, down one side and being tall I found the bathroom a little low for me, but nothing to be unduly concerned about. The room size was just fine. My wife had no issues at all with the eaves coming into the room.

Breakfast: David's cooking is creative and beautifully prepared. Breakfast was not just a great taste but was sufficiently filling to last us until dinner most days! One of the charming aspects of breakfast was the "hosting" by George and David and we enjoyed daily conversations with everyone in the dining room about a vast range of topics. David, I'm glad I'm your favourite Martian!

Innkeepers: George and David are wonderful hosts and both of them are very welcoming and very informative. They took real pleasure in recommending places for dinner and then going on to complete the job by booking us in as well. Their recommendations were varied and excellent in all cases.

Housekeeping: As it should be, thorough and clean.

This is a great Inn with great Innkeepers and my wife and I hope most sincerely that we will be back.

Room Tip: In season or busy evenings, car parking in Woodstock is difficult. Be early! In Fall, we found VT no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for two days and two nights in October 2011. As my title of my review explains, we could not have been happier. George and David were personable, gracious and quite humorous. Please be sure to ask David about Cher. :) The breakfasts were amazing and so much fun. Our first floor room that came with a sitting room was spotless. We enjoyed the quiet of the location.
I would return to their Inn and to Woodstock. I strongly recommend a visit to the Deer Brook Inn.
Thanks George and David.
John and Andrea - Fort Myers, Florida

Room Tip: The first floor room #5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Assos, Turkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Stayed here not long after the area was devastated by Hurricane Irene. The B & B was fortunately spared, as was most of the town of Woodstock. David and George are gracious hosts, and the inn is beautiful. The breakfasts are delicious -- especially the poached pears. I would definitely stay here again and recommend the place to friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank efg_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Woods, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We came across this terrific B&B on a website for Woodstock VT and was fortunate to be able to secure a reservation for two nights on short notice. Never having been to Woodstock we were unsure of the location and amenities. Much to our surprise it was very charming and just a few miles outside of Woodstock. The house is beautiful, cozy, comfortable and very charming. The Inn Keepers David & George are very gracious and charming as well. Breakfast was amazing both mornings - not only the food but the company of David & George along with the other guests.
David & George are very knowledgeable on the are and were able to provide recommendations on sight seeing, restaurants and directions to the various places we were planning to visit.
This was one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

My husband and I spent a wonderful weekend at the Deer Brook Inn. We stayed in the Schubert Suite, which was comfortable, spacious and quiet. (Loved the rubber ducks in the bathroom!) Breakfasts were great, and David and George were friendly, informative and gracious hosts.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollisgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
2.7 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Jackson House Inn
Jackson House Inn
#1 of 16 in Woodstock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
4.5 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
4.1 mi away
Woodstocker Inn
Woodstocker Inn
#4 of 16 in Woodstock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Brook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Brook Inn

Property: Deer Brook Inn
Address: 4548 W Woodstock Rd, Woodstock, VT 05091-3315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Deer Brook Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and Intimate B&B in Quintessential Woodstock, Vermont. Ten minutes from the Village Green with upscale shopping and top notch dining. Charming c1820 Farmhouse offering five spacious accommodations with luxury furnishings and amenities. Complimentary breakfasts and afternoon appetizers, made from scratch with locally sourced products. Complimentary WiFi and parking. Upbeat and casual hospitality from veteran innkeepers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Deer Brook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Brook Inn Woodstock, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing