We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Shire Woodstock
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This is a very cute motel with views of the river from the rooms. It was quiet and comfortable and walking distance from the very charming town....about a ten minute walk. The only flaws were not having a coffee pot in the room...had to go to their coffee area...and no breakfast or elevator.
Other than that it was just fine.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinglosangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (518)
There are newer reviews for The Shire Woodstock
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

My friend and I recently took a trip to Woodstock, Vermont and decided to stay at the Shire Riverview Motel because of location and price - $98/night for two in a 2-double bed room. The staff I talkied to on the phone ahead of time were very helpful in answering questions I had about the area. When we arrived, we were able to check in early and were delighted to find a really lovely room. The term "motel" usually conjures up the idea of really cheap beds, linens, soap, furnishings, etc. The Shire was anything but this! The bed linens were really pretty and of a high quality - higher than I've seen at some major hotels. All the furnishings were new and the bed was really comfortable. Even the shower curtain was cloth! We had a beautiful view of the river right outside our room with comfy chairs to sit in to relaz and watch it flow. In the morning, very good coffee was available complimentary on the 2nd floor. The location is close to everything you'd want to see in Woodstock. When it was time to check out, we were allowed to keep our car in the motel parking lot while we finished up on some shopping in this quaint little town. Why spend so much money on the high-priced bed and breakfasts, when you could stay here with all the charms, but for a much lower price! Don't miss this incredible deal!

Room Tip: We liked the river view room.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shalynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We spent one night here last Friday. The room was large and had sliding glass doors leading out to a deck area where we could sit and enjoy the river. Bed was comfy and cozy and everything was neat a clean.

Town is just a short walk from the hotel so you can park your car and walk to the lovely little town of Woodstock!

We highly recommend the Shire Riverview and would stay here again!

Room Tip: Most of the rooms look out over the river but I would ask to be sure!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joenronnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I came here as a child 45 years ago, and it was your standard motel. Now it has been totally redone and is luxurious. Lots of pillows, great TV and Wifi and super comfortable beds. And to relax, there are old wooden rocking chairs outside every room. We ended up spending two nights when we only intended to stay one.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bchace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

The most comfortable bed ever! We have stayed here twice, both times room 116 and it's amazing. So nicely decorated and clean and comfortable. We never want to leave when we are in Woodstock. The staff are so friendly. we had no power when we woke up and we still didn't want to leave! Great value for your money!

Room Tip: Room 116 is awesome, but we have only ever stayed in that room
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liasnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

The Shire is only about two blocks from downtown Woodstock.
The rooms are VERY clean and comfortable, bath had the best towels I have ever seen in a hotel/motel, the bed was super comfortable, wireless service was great, the people at the desk and employee's are very personable and helpful and
the room rate is reasonable.

Our room had a beautiful river view and the Shire will be my location of choice whenever I am in the area!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The bed was so comfortable and the room was beautifully decorated. The manager was very friendly and so helpful. He recommended a restaurant down the street that we walked to and it was fantastic. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosalind C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
2.3 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
423 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
289 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Quality Inn at Quechee Gorge
0.5 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
0.0 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shire Woodstock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shire Woodstock

Address: 46 Pleasant St, Woodstock, VT 05091-1126 (Formerly Shire Riverview Lodging)
Region: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range: £112 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shire Woodstock 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an independent hotel in the Village of Woodstock, VT. Each of our 43 rooms is uniquely furnished in traditional New England style and many of them have a beautiful view of the Ottauquechee River which flows behind the property. Hospitality is our priority and we want you to feel at home here at The Shire Woodstock. Our General Manager lives on the premises and is available to help make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. We have some rooms with fireplaces, some with Jacuzzis and a limited number of "dog friendly" rooms. All of our rooms have Cable TV, wifi and a small refrigerator, as well as individual heating and air conditioning. Join us for a relaxing, quiet vacation in a place steeped in tradition-The Shire Woodstock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Shire Woodstock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shire Riverview Hotel Woodstock
Shire Riverview Woodstock
The Shire Woodstock Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing