We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic, peaceful, country motel!”
Review of Braeside Lodging

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Braeside Lodging
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
2 reviews
“Idyllic, peaceful, country motel!”
Reviewed 4 April 2009

Woodstock is one of our favorite places to visit, and we always stay at the Braeside. It is a lovely, charming motel in a beautiful, pastoral setting. The first time we stayed there we arrived at night -- when I walked out of the door in the morning, I literally laughed at how beautiful the view was. Lovely Vermont! It is located about three or four minutes by car from the Woodstock village green, so it is like staying in town but with a better view.

The rooms are always very clean, the pillows are great, the beds are comfortable, the heater is great (in fact, had to turn it down in December) and the hot water is plentiful! Most rooms (all?) have a mini-refrigerator, and dogs are welcome (there are two or three rooms designated as pet-friendly). In fact, we stayed here the first time years ago because we were traveling with our dog and had been turned away from other motels in the area. The owners are exceptionally friendly and knowledgeable about the area -- they will point you to the good restaurants! On a practical note, the WiFi service is terrific -- got some work done before heading out to enjoy the Vermont snow.

Overall, a lovely, peaceful, comfortable place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MemberNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    29
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
34
49
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
cairns
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2008

other inns in Woodstock were over priced so we stayed just outside of the town .. it was very much like an old fashioned motel - where you park outside of your room. basic room with no coffee or fridge !! small old fashioned bathroom .. staff were friendly ...

  • Liked — good price
  • Disliked — no coffee
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank janefromcairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
384 reviews
270 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2008

Woodstock is really expensive for hotels. This is a small motel a few miles east of town on the road to Quechee. It is very clean, friendly and safe with lovely views from the windows. Beds are ok, bathroom is standard motel; the place is quiet. It has no frills whatsoever - apart from free wifi - not even coffee! But a good choice for the money

  • Liked — Its price
  • Disliked — Lack of coffee in the morning
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2008

The owner of the motel was super friendly and helpful. The room above average size, really homie and extra clean. Great place to stay.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank adiggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2007

We were very pleased with our stay at the Braeside Motel. The owner was extremely friendly and helpful (gave good advice about nearby attractions to visit, and much-needed advice about driving in some unexpected Vermont snow to us Southern girls!)

The property was very clean and well-maintained - nice furniture and comfortable beds. Also, the motel is especially affordable for the area. It is easy to find, and close to the adorable Woodstock village center. I would definitely recommend this place to friends traveling to the area.

  • Liked — Friendliness, cleanliness, value
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank klw9a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLC, UT
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2007

We stayed two nights at the Braeside. I called a week before our arrival to request an additional night. A recording said to leave my name and telephone number, and it would return my call. It did not call me back, however.

We expected breakfast but must have confused the Braeside with the Shire Motel. Coffee and tea were available at office in mornings. Our room had a small refrigerator.

We requested a room with two beds and a rollaway. We had to set up the rollaway ourselves. There was little space for it. We finally placed it so it blocked one bed and the entrance door. We would have been in trouble in case of fire.

House cleaning did not change wet towels daily. This probably was on the manager's orders. When my mother asked for clean towels, the manager told her we should throw used towels on the floor if we want clean ones. He said all motels have this policy. We did not know this. We had just come from Maine, where house cleaning changed towels daily.

We had one 2 x 3 x 1/4" bar of soap for three of us to use in the washbasin and shower. No shampoo, shower cap, etc. Luckily, I brought a bar of soap with me. Washbasin drain did not close even though an information sheet said to fill the basin with water rather than let water run.

This motel was the only one available at the time. We would not stay there again.

  • Liked — AAA Discount
  • Disliked — House-Cleaning Service, No Breakfast
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TtheK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2005

We stayed at the Braeside with our English Setter. The owners were amazingly helpful and the dog was made to feel very welcome. (Non-pet owners should not be turned off by this since they have rooms set aside for people with pets). The room was a nice size with a microwave and fridge. The staff did an excellent job of housekeeping. The price of the hotel was also very reasonable. The hotel is located about a five minute drive from downtown woodstock which is a very pretty town. Overall, I highly recomment this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
5.6 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
3.2 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
5.2 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Quality Inn at Quechee Gorge
0.9 mi away
The Shire Woodstock
The Shire Woodstock
#4 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
1.4 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braeside Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braeside Lodging

Property: Braeside Lodging
Address: 908 E Woodstock Rd, PO Box 411, Woodstock, VT 05091-3645
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Braeside Lodging 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immaculate, 12-room motel is set on a quiet hillside, only one mile from Woodstock's historic downtown. Discover why many Woodstock visitors return time and again to the Braeside! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Braeside Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braeside Lodging Woodstock, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing