We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Prince and the Pauper

The Prince and the Pauper
Ranked #2 of 30 Restaurants in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Etna. NH
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

The P&P doesn't need more rave reviews, but it deserves special praise for maintaining the highest standards of food and service year in and year out. It simply has, and for a long time has had, no peer for miles around. For special occasions my wife and I gladly travel the 30 minutes it takes us from the Hanover, NH area.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rovingtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    132
    43
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Excellant as usual! We have always been pleased with any of our menu selections. Pleasant and attentive wait staff

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nice spot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We had two delightful meals here in the beginning of March. They had a special in March Mon-Thurs which made our meal a nice value. Really cozy spot and nice wait staff. The food was very good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ljw682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Our Second Visit, as Good as the First”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We loved this place when we visited Woodstock last year, and worked to get a reservation( which isn't easy by the way) during our stay in late February.This is a very well run restaurant, from the very professional greeting by the maitre'd (owner?) to waitress attention, etc. The menu is varied, something for every taste and pocket book, but everything is a good value .And they have resisted the temptation to cram in a lot of tables, so the seating is comfortable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lpugdeeeqazzzxvbbbbmmlkkii88z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Vermont
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“always a good choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Had my usual favorite - Tuna - and like usual it was great. The P&P is always a great choice and great service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jim f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Prince and the Pauper also viewed

 

Been to The Prince and the Pauper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing