We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice people, classy place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
506 On The River Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Woodstock, Vermont
1 review
“Nice people, classy place”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

From the yoghurt to the beds, all is classy and the right call. What a welcome addition for this region! Meeting this inn is like meeting your in laws for the first time and ADORING them. You know you'll see them again, and you're more than pleased about that.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranMom60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    80
    30
    7
    2
See reviews for
111
194
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

506 On The River Inn is so beautiful. It has a new, modern feel, despite all the great antique furniture and decor. We especially loved the restaurant/lounge area. Eating dinner and drinking on a comfy leather couch was quite enjoyable. It's surprisingly affordable and a great alternative to a bed and breakfast; perfect location, too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg667788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

506 On the River Inn is an amazing and gorgeous hotel. I never write reviews, but their service impressed me so much that I am taking the time to share my experience. I made 3 special requests while I was there, and they took care of each of them so quickly. I asked for almond milk or soy milk for my coffee, and the restaurant manager went out and purchased it for me. 20 minutes later, I was enjoying my coffee. I have never seen a hotel that takes care of their guests so well. They really go the extra distance to make sure you are well taken care of. The bar staff was wonderful and super friendly, they opened early so I could enjoy a glass of wine on the back porch (picture of the view from the porch is below). The staff just went above and beyond the entire weekend to make sure we were happy. The hotel has great charm, but since it is newly built it has all of the amenities that you need. Beds are super comfortable too!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizardNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

506 on the river opened a few months back .every last detail is very tastefully finished .the common area has bar and breakfast area sauced from an old nunnery that works very well with the country feel.the rooms are large with a deck over looking the river .the town of Woodstock appears to be a flourishing community with a number of attractive buildings .

Room Tip: As this hotel was purpose built on the river all the rooms are good.the family rooms are well though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ranger29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A group of us recently visited this new inn just a minute west of downtown Woodstock. It is very exciting to see something new, modern, welcoming and extremely professional in town. There are sister properties in East Africa and even Germany and I think this is why this spot is so unique. It has real flair. The website photos are right on, no trickery and every room faces a lovely bend of the Ottauquechee River on the back side. This inn is brand new and when the gardens are completed, it will be even better. The best part was the cooking...or was it the dining room? (506 Bistro) the room is beautiful, large and extremely comfortable with choice of tables or cozy alcoves and groups of chairs. We all gushed with every bite of our appetizers and then dinner was deadly delicious. We are so excited to finally have a really good restaurant in town with flare and farm fresh everything. The inn guests can have all meals here; whereas the public may go Thursdays through Saturdays...just check...What an amazing new place!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alix K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel still has a few finishing touches to do on landscaping but otherwise an excellent hotel. Everything feels fresh and clean and luxurious!! Bar and breakfast area very warm and inviting. The staff were very friendly. It felt like a real treat to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stargazing2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pomfret, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

So exquisite! We stayed at On the River for the week while our chimney was being rebuilt at our house. It's obvious that this new hotel is owed by interior designers, who created a feeling of stressless times gone by mixed with casual comfort. We loved having cocktails on the couch by the fireplace, followed by dinner near the window view of the river. We were surrounded by chandeliers, old Vermont newspapers, stylish mirrors, rocking chairs, leather couches, glass tables. Our bed was plush, the bathroom large and shiny, the balcony inviting. The food at dinner and breakfast was all fresh and delicious. It was the perfect place for our romantic quiet getaway and also is our choice for our family ski weekend reunion next winter. The staff was eager to make this our best vacation ever. It was! We will surely stay there again soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
3.1 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
284 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
300 reviews
1.8 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Shire Woodstock
The Shire Woodstock
#4 of 6 in Woodstock
491 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
0.2 mi away
Jackson House Inn
Jackson House Inn
#1 of 16 in Woodstock
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 506 On The River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 506 On The River Inn

Property: 506 On The River Inn
Address: 1653 W Woodstock Rd, Woodstock, VT 05091-3128
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — 506 On The River Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
506 On The River Inn lies on six acres of beautiful grounds close to the Village of Woodstock. This newly opened 30 room Inn is beautifully designed celebrating Vermont with unique vintage pieces to showcase a rustic elegance. Warm hospitality, a relaxed elegance and premium rooms with river views and a multitude of facilities make it the perfect place to experience the very best of Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your 506 On The River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
506 On The River Inn Woodstock, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing