We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New - still in progress, but wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
506 On The River Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New - still in progress, but wonderful”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed there on June 22 - 25th. The lounge area is the best part - just absolutely beautiful and comfortable. Rooms are big and new (clean). They are missing a few amenities, but I'm sure if I asked for them, they would have gladly brought them to me - and they will eventually get them into the rooms (tissues in bathroom, iron/ironing board). For instance, one review said they was no parking lot - but there was one when I was there - so things are moving fast.

The employees were fabulous. I even forgot my iphone cord/plug in the room, and they mailed it back to me at no charge.

Breakfast which was included - was in the quaintest country kitchen in the lounge area. The lady who was cooking the first two days - was fabulous - bacon was perfect, croissants were unbelievable. But she had the next few days off and the food wasn't really cooked all the way. Although there was PLENTY to eat (yogurt, cereals, toast, fruit).

All and all - going to be unbelievable when it is finally done, I REALLY enjoyed it - and didn't lack anything that wouldn't bring me back.

Room Tip: I was in 202 - at the beginning of the hall - if you go further down I think you would get a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrissyMcVean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    81
    30
    7
    2
See reviews for
118
198
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My boyfriend and I recently visited the lovely town of Woodstock and stayed at 506 On the River Inn.

Overall, it was a very well-kept and clean place that just needs some time to fully mature. We passed it several times, thinking it was a newly built retirement home. However, once we entered the doors, the staff was very welcoming. You can tell that your experience at the place is their first and only priority. You can also tell that some of them are not as experienced as you hope for they gave us our keys without any indication of what room we were staying in. Also, your view of the river from your room will be somewhat distant and distracted by a construction site that scars the landscape and scenery that you had anticipated, based on the pictures on the hotel website. A couple other things to note:

- it is not located in the heart of the town, but a couple miles away. You will need a car to go back and forth from the hotel to the center of town.
- If you like taking walks, it's not convenient to walk around the area that the hotel is located.
- The walls separating your patio from the neighbor's is new unpainted wood, so it takes away some of the aesthetic qualities and you can hear your neighbors very well.
- There is no iron in case you plan to bring wrinkled clothes.
- No body lotion is provided for you, beauty queens.
- No indoor pool. If you're adventurous, perhaps take a plunge in the river.
- And we had someone's Ben & Jerry's half-eaten ice cream left in the fridge.

Now, I'm not a Negative Nancy, so here are some positive perks:
-The complimentary breakfast was absolutely lovely accompanied by some peaceful movie soundtrack music and the staff greets you with smiles and "good mornings".
- The AC works very well!
- The bar/dining room is very classy.
- If you want a place with ALOT of Woodstock Pride, come here...they have Woodstock decoration throughout the hotel that commemorates the town in some fashion.

Safe Travels!!

Room Tip: Upper level rooms allows you to enjoy the patio and view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ciabattaface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weaverville, North Carolina, USA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We found this rural yet classy new hotel on Trip Advisor and had a lovely one night stay. Though the facility is not quite complete (there was no exercise room yet and the landscaping wasn't finished) the dinner was fantastic, the beds were very comfortable, and the room was quiet, modern and well appointed. Our boys enjoyed playing in the clean Vermont stream visible from the rooms' porches, playing foosball (on a Tornado Table) in the game room, and the staff could not have been friendlier. We even picked up a couple keepsakes in the Vermonty, yet cosmopolitan, boutique in the lobby. We will definitely be back!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Winniethefred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Ok, maybe i'm a jaded New Yorker, but you know that feeling , your initial gut when you pull up somewhere.. I guess i was expecting a quaint and modern vermont country inn, and i didnt get that . Its a prefab type of buildout and i felt it was a little cold.. The rooms are nice, new and roomy. There aren't many outside places to sit at this point ,but i could only assume that given the amount of land they have it will improve tenfold ...
But heres the kicker. The staff is gracious , friendly , and very accommodating.from the caring manager to the bartender .and specially Max who is a gracious being . The bar and wood paneled indoor lounge area is very comfortable and again the staff there were genuinely attentive. The price is fair so id rate it a good value. The area is great with lots to do.. Am i as enthusiastic as the others here .No. Would i return .Yes ..now that i know more and as it matures the kinks will l be worked out , and im sure it will be very popular .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nathan822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

very nice new hotel, family friendly, wonderful staff making sure you enjoy your stay. we were told bar and restaurant would be closed 2 out of our 3-night stay but it ended up being open the whole time. A wonderful healthy breakfast was included. The restaurant menu still somewhat limited as they have not established a large crowd yet . they are building an indoor pool. overall our stay was pleasant, we felt very welcome. This is a nice boutique hotel and I wish them all the best! Highly recommended. All rooms have gorgeous river views.

Room Tip: All rooms have great river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We spent our Easter Holiday in 506, and the first thing that impressed us as soon as we arrived was the beauty of the hotel, the atmosphere, decoration and every small detail of everything made us feel very welcome!! The service was very good and the people were all really nice. The rooms were beautiful as well as the dinning room, and the food was delicious!!! We really had a wonderful stay/holiday and desperately hope that we will be able to go back very very soon!! Thank you very much 506 on the River!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

New hotel on the Ottaquechee River outside Woodstock. Our family of four stayed here this past week for a couple of days. Beautiful monutain view from our spacious and comfortable room. Staff is very nice, Max was especailly helpful and made dinner reservations for us while serving us drinks. We played pool in the large recreation roomn upstairs and relaxed by the fieplace downstairs one rainy evening. Reccomend that you sit in the adirondack chairs down by the river at night to watch the incredible natiural light show of the hindreds of fireflies. Cant go wrong at this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NETraveler208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
3.1 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
288 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
318 reviews
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites White River Junction
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Whi...
#3 of 8 in White River Junction
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
2.3 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
2.3 mi away
The Shire Woodstock
The Shire Woodstock
#4 of 6 in Woodstock
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 506 On The River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 506 On The River Inn

Property: 506 On The River Inn
Address: 1653 W Woodstock Rd, Woodstock, VT 05091-3128
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — 506 On The River Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
506 On The River Inn lies on six acres of beautiful grounds close to the Village of Woodstock. This newly opened 30 room Inn is beautifully designed celebrating Vermont with unique vintage pieces to showcase a rustic elegance. Warm hospitality, a relaxed elegance and premium rooms with river views and a multitude of facilities make it the perfect place to experience the very best of Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your 506 On The River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
506 On The River Inn Woodstock, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing