We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection Personified, cannot be topped!”
Review of Ardmore Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ardmore Inn
Ranked #9 of 16 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tyringham
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Perfection Personified, cannot be topped!”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Veterans Day weekend at The Ardmore was truly an incredible experience. Every detail was attended to beyond perfection starting with the welcoming plate of homemade oatmeal raisin pecan chocolate chip coconut cookies and ending with a full breakfast of vegetable omelets or Belgian waffles, homemade sour cream cranberry coffee cake, choice of meats and juices and on and on an on. This special weekend was a treat for veterans with the five couples attending all from all branches of service and included dinner. A most meaningful, gracious as well as deeply appreciated gift on the part of owners Charlotte and Cary. Charlotte never stopped ... even returning from dinner at the Prince & the Pauper found us with Charlotte's homemade apple pie served with a choice of ice cream, homemade whipped cream or Vermont Cheddar Cheese. We departed with a gift of those fabulous previously mentioned cookies! Each of the five guest rooms are beautifully decorated with love and attention given to each and every detail. Charlotte and Cary were beyond exceptional, giving each of us an experience to treasure for a lifetime. Thank you Charlotte & Cary, you are indeed a treasure!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandrafarnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
85
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Our stay at the Ardmore Inn made our trip to Vermont perfect! From the time we arrived until we left Charlotte made us feel welcome. We were visiting for our anniversary and there was a complementary bottle of champagne waiting for us in our room. From the yummy treats each afternoon, the delicious breakfasts each morning, the advice on where to eat and what to see and do everything was great. We enjoyed meeting and eating breakfast with the other guests. The Inn is very close to downtown and you can hike up Mt. Tom and all around the Marsh-Billings-Rockefeller park from the inn. Charlotte is a great hostess and we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Ardmore Inn for three nights. Everything was excellent, but we were mostly overwhelmed with the close attention to detail. Location of the inn is fantastic, Charlotte is a wonderful hostess, room was beautiful (Natalie Kinsey-Warnock Room), food was over the top. Our best experience at a B&B!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie_Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Beautifully appointed Victorian villa in 'downtown' Woodstock. Every last detail has been carefully prepared and set out - from the afternoon cakes to the fantastic breakfasts. Charlotte is a wonderful hostess - nothing is too much trouble. We would have no hesitation in coming back again

Room Tip: Book early to get the room that suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank williamsjd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Ardmore Inn for just one night but we were very lucky to do so since we had not pre-booked. The room was beautifully appointed in an elegant country style as was the whole house; the breakfast was a gourmet experience of local produce; our host Charlotte not only served us the four course breakfast (all ten people at the table at once) but on checking out, handed us a bag of cookies in exchange for the room keys - a lovely gesture. The location is an easy walk into the centre of the village of Woodstock VT, which has to be one of the loveliest villages in Vermont. Free wifi and a comfortable living room/Library made the stay more homely.

Room Tip: Make sure you book well in advance of the dates you are travelling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLAD56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The Ardmore inn is delightful. Fabulous location, beautifully decorated ( especially our room, the mary arazain) with a hostess that made the stay just wonderful. Charlotte could not have been more helpful , (knowledgeable of the area ) or thoughtful - we even received home made biscuits as a gift when we left. The breakfast was very tasty and it was refreshing to have a choice of what we'd like, rather than be given a set menu. We equally enjoyed the chance to sit and chat to other guests at the breakfast table.
Our only feedback or concern was around the noise. We did not sleep well and dispute our hostess leaving air plugs next to the bed, the noisy air conditioning and church bell that chimed on the hour across the road- kept us awake most of the night.
If you are going to book, I'd suggest you request a room down the back.
Thankyou to the Ardmore inn for a lovely visit

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We did an overnight stay at The Ardemore Inn and given that it was my first time to Woodstock I was excited. The inn keeper Charlotte was full of history on the house and was so very pleasant. The location is great; it's within walking distance to the center portion of town.
Her homemade cookies were delicious. The decor is modern in color but she has done a great job keeping the decor within the age of the home. It's a cozy place to walk around in. Very warm and inviting. Upon arrival Charlotte had us choose breakfast the next day. I was suprised at the various choices.

We stayed in the The Mary Azarian Room on the second floor in the front of the B&B. While you could hear a little bit of what was going on outside, it wasn't loud and obnoxious. You can hear others in their rooms when you're in the hallways but it's not loud at all. The room was very clean and the sheets were fantastic! Had a great sleep!!! I liked that there were not TVs mainly because I'm sure you'd hear others if they had them on.

Breakfast was delicious. Coffee too.Nothing better than old fashion VT bacon with eggs. My better half had the french toast which I think will be one of the other reasons we'll visit The Ardmore Inn again. While breakfast was done in a group setting it was nice to speak to others about where they were from and what they were planning to do. Was very nice.

Overall this was a great experience and I will be sure to tell others to if visiting VT to make a stop here at the Ardmore Inn. Beatiful and quaint, the way life in VT is.

Room Tip: I can't say any room is better than another but expect to hear a little noise. While they do pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
2.2 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
405 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
285 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Charleston House
The Charleston House
#6 of 16 in Woodstock
156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
2.1 mi away
Jackson House Inn
Jackson House Inn
#1 of 16 in Woodstock
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardmore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmore Inn

Property: Ardmore Inn
Address: 23 Pleasant St, Woodstock, VT 05091-1111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ardmore Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Village of Woodstock and the soul of Vermont, the Ardmore Inn will give you a true Vermont experience. Built in 1867, the Ardmore's five comfortable guest rooms with private baths are named after living Vermont authors and artists and Vermont artwork decorates the walls. There is a fully stocked library with gas fireplace, an enclosed barn porch, and spacious dining room with farm table to enjoy a delicious three-course served breakfast and afternoon refreshments. The Ardmore offers luxurious linens, complimentary Wi-Fi and parking, and is a smoke-free property. The Ardmore is within walking distance to fine shops, covered bridge, Ottauquechee River, the village green, art galleries and restaurants in Woodstock. The Marsh-Billings-Rockefeller National Historical Park and Billings Farm are also within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Ardmore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardmore Inn Woodstock, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing