We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Notch Bed and Breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canterbury House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodstock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Canterbury House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 16 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Essex, Vermont
2 reviews
“Top Notch Bed and Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2010

My husband and I + one couple stayed at the Canterbury House 4th of July weekend. We had a fabulous stay. Very clean and cozy rooms with convenient location close to town. The hosts were warm and friendly and not overbearing. Additionally the food and service was outstanding. We will be going back next year.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebGMHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    13
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
50
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
FL
Level Contributor
122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2010

We stayed at Canterbury House for one night during a three week fall foliage trip through NH and VT. We stayed at about 10 different B&B's, and I would have to say we don't feel Canterbury House was a very good value, compared to other stays we had during our trip. We paid $185 for one night, and that seemed to be the best we could find, at the time, in Woodstock - during peak fall foliage season.
We stayed in Chaucer's Garrett, which is actually the only room on the 3rd floor/attic. While the room is large, and runs the length of the house from front to back, and even has a sitting area with a TV, the size is diminished by the fact that the roof slants down on both sides. The bathroom, in particular, is EXTREMELY small - getting in and out of the shower proved to be somewhat challenging - because of the roofline, it's almost like being in a stand-up shower, rather than in a tub with a shower, which is what it is. Also, the hot and cold handles were reversed in the shower, so you can wait a long time for hot water before you realize you need to use the cold handle to get hot water! Also, the fan in the bathroom (which operates whenever the bathroom light is turned on) was somewhat noisy.
The house is located on the main road through Woodstock, although not in the center of town - just a short walk into town for dinner. But, unfortunately, we could hear road noise both during the day and at night, since the bed was closest to the window at the front of the house. And, in defense of this inn, I think that all of the other B&B's and Inns that were located on the same main street also would have the same traffic noise issue in their rooms, as well.
As one other reviewer noted, this was the only B&B during our trip that felt it was necessary to display a "house rules/info" card on the desk in the room.
The king size bed and the pillows both seemed very hard, and didn't provide for the best night's sleep. Also, the linens on the bed were some type of print that didn't really seem like the standard "B&B" type of sheets - more like something your parents might have used in the 80's.
The furnishings in this room didn't really seem to be coordinated, either, or in any kind of B&B style. There was a small desk and chair which was black wicker. There was an antique type of dresser painted black. Then, over by the TV/sitting area, the chairs and love seat were maple/"leather" look - very modern (like 80's modern). They do show pictures of the room on their website, however.
Finally, as they clearly state in their information, the stairs to get up to the 3rd floor room are EXTREMELY narrow - you should only bring as few bags/as small bags as possible up there. They made that very clear in advance, but still, it is VERY narrow and the stairs are not very deep, either - challenging going up and going down!
We didn't see any of the other rooms in the house, so we don't know what their decor is. Perhaps their style is more of a standard B&B variety. We don't know if this 3rd floor/attic room is kind of an extra room/afterthought or not.
On the plus side, we didn't hear any noise from any of the other guest rooms in the inn. Also, there was good water pressure in the shower. And, the attic room was definitely large in floor space - just with very low ceilings. And, it is private.
Also, the owners, Sue and Bob seemed very friendly during breakfast. Sue served French toast with syrup and a huge dollop of whipped cream, sausage and a few fruit slices. She also made one guest an omelet (maybe that person had dietary restrictions??). And, Bob served one guest apple cider instead of coffee, tea or OJ. Had I known cider was available, I would have requested that, too! Breakfast was served in the dining room at two large community tables, which made for some lively conversations among the guests in the morning.
I think that they had probably 14 or 16 guests, total, when we were there, which is a lot of people to prepare breakfast for at one time/one mass sitting. As a result, I just didn't feel that we had as much of a gourmet breakfast experience during our stay as I might have expected at this price point.
In general, I would say this particular room is definitely overpriced at $185/night.
If you decide to go to the Prince and the Pauper for dinner (one of the local restaurants recommended by Bob and Sue) make sure to ask for the "bistro" menu. Otherwise, they will only show you the Price Fixe menu - which is a bit steep! Otherwise, the dinner there was very nice, and within walking distance of Canterbury House.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nfall2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodstockfan, Owner at Canterbury House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 November 2010
We never like to hear that a guest is disappointed or unhappy with their stay at the Canterbury House. Style is very subjective and obviously, we did not meet this guests expectation. As this guest stated, their plans only included a one night stay in Woodstock, which, when they booked with us WAS the only one night availability we had. And, yes...this is our busiest season of the year, so one night stays generally are hard to come by. Had it been a different season, we would have been able to accomodate their specific preferences and needs.

The Canterbury House IS located in the Village on the main road. We (and all of the other village bed and breakfasts) are NOT in the "Downtown" area. As our website states, we are an 8 minute walk to shopping, dining, hiking, etc.

It is obvious that this guest did not like the decorating style of the room with their comments about the sheetson the bed as "being something your parents would have used in the 80s."
These sheets are a 400 thread count with a Feng Shui pattern. We actually found them to be "whimsical".

We DO NOT have a "House Rules/info card". We DO HAVE a Guest Directory that gives information on if they would like wine glasses, ice, wine opener, iron/ironing board, etc. We do have Safety information (Smoking policy, fire exit) We include early coffee times, breakfast and request any dietary info/restriction. We also have a binder in the living room with sample menus and we have a selection of Numerous brochures in the entryway of our home, all to help give as much information to enhance our guests visit to Woodstock.

The stairwell to this room IS VERY steep and narrow, it is part of the quirkiness of a home built in 1880. Our website AND ANY communication with guests, is very clear about this access, along with pictures of all guestrooms and the other areas of our home.

They were correct, the shower control was NOT working properly. It was brought to our attention by another guest, prior to this review and we are taking measures to correct it.

Lastly, this reviewers observation concerning the omelette that was served to another guest was correct. This particular guest had a dietary restriction. We are always happy to do our very best to accomodate any guests' special needs. Yes, we did serve apple cider to a guest at breakfast. The evening before this guest asked if we would put in the fridge the half gallon of cider he purcharsed, so that it would be cold when they took it with them the next day. In the morning he asked us to pour him some to have with his breakfast, so of course we did.

Again, we are saddened and regret that any guest is disappointed with their visit to our home.
We appreciate their feedback, and we Never take it lightly or dismiss their concerns. We encourage anyone thinking of staying at the Canterbury House, if they have a question that our website does NOT answer, We LOVE SPEAKING directly with them and if they don't feel we suit their needs, we are happy to recommend another bed and breakfast. First and formost, we believe visiting Woodstock should be a wonderful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennesssee
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

We chose Canterbury House for the location and price for the first part of our New England vacation. We wanted to be able to walk into the village of Woodstock after being on a plane and in the car all day. At first sight, I was disappointed, as I had pictured it located in the heart of the village, and it is actually on the main road coming into town. But it proved to be only a few short blocks to the heart of town, and we enjoyed the convenience.

Our hosts, Bob and Sue were wonderful---they were gracious, warm, and so helpful. They set the tone for a friendly atmosphere which carried over to the family style breakfasts, which were one of our favorite parts of the stay. If you want to eat alone, this is not the place for you....there are two tables in the dining room and everyone eats at the same time, so you have the opportunity to meet your fellow travelers. We loved this part of our stay, and the other guests seemed to also, as we all lingered at the table in the morning. The breakfasts were good and very hearty---we did not need to eat again until late afternoon! After breakfast, Sue was there to answer questions, make suggestions, mark routes on maps which she provided--in short, to make sure everyone had s good day.

As for the house and rooms, this is not an elegant B&B, but more a grandmothers house type place....Decor is slightly dated, towels are not thick and fluffy, but it is very clean and well kept and homey.....it is an historic home with the narrow hallways and smaller rooms that you would expect. We chose one of the smallest, Parson's Tale, and it was very private, down the hall and around the corner....we didn't hear anything from the other guests, and the only noise was from the road, as this was on the front of the house. However, although we noticed the traffic, it did not keep us awake. The room was very attractive and the bed was comfortable. In addition to the queen bed, there was one straight chair in the room, a dresser, a shelf with a rod to hang clothes and end tables with lamps. The bathroom was very small----a heavily built person might have a hard time in this room. But the shower pressure was great and the hot water plentiful.

Overall, we were pleased with our stay and would not hesitate to recommend Canterbury House to travelers. I do advise anyone to talk to the hosts instead of just booking online if you have any issues with size of rooms/baths, stair, noise, etc, as they could direct you to the room that would best suit your needs.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bookandcoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

And especially from every shire's end
Of England, down to Canterbury they wend....
The Canterbury pilgrims would have been been delighted if they
could find an "Inn" as comfortable and welcoming as The
Canterbury House.
Visiting Woodstock, VT., in September my spouse and I stayed for 3 nights at this B&B. What a pleasure -a comfortable, cozy room, great surroundings, good location, convivial hosts - Bob & Sue, and delicious breakfasts. Highly recommend this B&B and hope to return next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathar067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

We were traveling on a bit of a budget during the peak of foliage season and the Canterbury House offered us best value in town. Our room was not fancy, but was attractive. Certain things looked a little "worn" (like the towels and carpet), but everything was very clean. Our bedroom was at the top of the stairs (probably because I selected the cheapest room) so I was worried it would be a little loud when people were walking in and out. We never really heard anyone else though because the other guests were really careful and respectful about making too much noise. The location was wonderful, right on the edge of the center of town- we loved that we could walk to dinner. The B&B had a cozy living room that we took advantage of. Bob and Sue were very welcoming and helpful. The breakfasts were very good. We hope to go back to the Canterbury House someday!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cabernet79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

Our family was at the Canterbury House for a wedding nearby. We occupied four rooms and enjoyed a delicious breakfast in the morning. My husband and sons in law went out early for golf , Sue made them and early breakfast .....nice rooms, nice people....

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lpd360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed this tiny B&B in the heart of Woodstock. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the owners were wonderful, the breakfast was delicious, and Woodstock was the perfect escape from NYC.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colmanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
2.3 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Charleston House
The Charleston House
#6 of 16 in Woodstock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Shire Woodstock
The Shire Woodstock
#4 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.9 mi away
Woodstocker Inn
Woodstocker Inn
#4 of 16 in Woodstock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Canterbury House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 43 Pleasant St, Woodstock, VT 05091-1129
Region: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Canterbury House Bed And Breakfast Woodstock, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing