We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Charleston House
Ranked #6 of 16 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I have stayed twice in the past year and have been very impressed with the comfortable accommodations, personable hosts, and great food. Willa and Dixie are wonderful people! My only complaint is the very creaky floors in the front of the house--I had a hard time falling asleep listening to all the comings and goings of the other guests.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the house are quieter--no creaky floors in the hall and on the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momoftwo06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    24
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
100
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We visited as a family in July 2012. What impressed us the most? The kindness of Willma and Dixi out a hosts. They went out of their way at the breakfasts to talk to their guests and make them welcome. The breakfasts were amazing, fantastic food. Breakfast was round a large table sitting and chatting with the other guests. This may not be everyones preference but we found it sociable, interesting, and fascinating as visitors to the USA.
The property is very convenient for the centre of Woodstock, just a short walk in. Rooms were good, wireless broadband worked fine, air con for the hot nights. Very clean and plenty of character to the rooms and house as a whole.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJD_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I booked a last minute visit to Woodstock to meet up with a friend visiting from Toronto. I knew nothing about the charleston house except that it was walking distance to the center of woodstock. I was so lucky to book their last room. From greeting to departure the owners were so friendly. The room was so comfortable and included jacuzzi tub. Breakfast was delicious and included a generous portion of broccoli cheese frittata, sausage, fruit, and a pastery. Overall a great experience and great value.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennyfair4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Thanks to Dixi and Willa,our stop over in Woodstock was fabulous. They ,with Casey,the cat, made us smile everytime we went downstairs. Lovely porch with rockingchairs,allowed us to meet other guests and chat. The recommended restaurants were just what we ordered. Listen to all thier advice for where to go about town. And the breakfeast,dont forget the breakfest!!! Fabulous!

Room Tip: Top floor perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trixie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensbury, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2012

OMG the breakfast is worth the trip. Dixie & Willa are the most gracious hosts. The room was superb as was the location to the shops & resteraunts in Woodstock. Everything was clean and up to date. Beautiful house and so much more better than the Woodstock Inn.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iroquoisrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scituate, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Lovely b&b, delightful hosts, within walking distance to everything you'd want, delicious sumptuous breakfasts, quiet, comfy rooms. We stayed for 3 nights and loved it. The bathrooms were stellar. Don't forget to meet the cat. We loved meeting the other guests, as well. We even got a free upgrade...thank you!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with a deck and extra sitting area. We used the rooms called B&B, and The S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suedarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We went to Woodstock for our marriage ceremony and were wonderfully received and spoiled by Willa and Dixi, the owners and hosts of Charleston House. Perfect location for walking to everywhere in Woodstock, Willa's breakfasts are delicious, conversation is always interesting, they are warm and generous hosts. The accomodations are beautifully appointed, the beds so comfortable. We had a lovely time in Woodstock, and Willa and Dix made it so much more special. Everything was just perfect. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: We stayed in the B & B Room... simply the best with a private deck off the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cincorobles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
2.1 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
0.1 mi away
The Shire Woodstock
The Shire Woodstock
#4 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.7 mi away
Woodstocker Inn
Woodstocker Inn
#4 of 16 in Woodstock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charleston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charleston House

Property: The Charleston House
Address: 21 Pleasant St, Woodstock, VT 05091-1111
Region: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Charleston House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amid the ambiance and historic tradition of the village, A part of what makes Woodstock special. Walk to surrounding art galleries, museums, shops and Vermont's National Park. Comfort and warm hospitality. Period antiques, fine reproductions, an eclectic selection of art, and Oriental rugs. 9 rooms, all with private bath. Some rooms with TV, fireplace and jacuzzi tub. Sumptuous candlelit breakfasts. Air-conditioning. Free wi-fi. Close to ski areas, golf courses, and Dartmouth College. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Charleston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Charleston House Woodstock, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing