We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five blissful nights of rest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Charleston House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Charleston House
Ranked #6 of 16 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Five blissful nights of rest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Had a wonderful experience at the Charleston House. Willa and Dixi were awesome. We were in N.E. on work and were doing insane hours. Going back to the Charleston House after was like returning home to a hot shower, crisp sheets and a comfortable bed. We slept so well! And breakfast really got us on the way. Loved it!

Room Tip: We had the B&B room, which was like an open plan suite. Sofa, jacuzzi bath and a very large vera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaneetaLoretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    24
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
97
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at Charleston House for 3 nights and it was wonderful!! Willa and Dixie are fantastic hosts. We called ahead to let them know we would be very late and they were so kind and professional. They gave us directions and when we arrived, our room was ready and the fireplace was lit! So comforting after a very long day!
The rooms are clean and comfortable. Our room was huge. Plenty of hot water for long showers The breakfasts are gourmet and served on beautiful china with candles lit!
The location is perfect for a quick walks to town. I would highly recommend this B&B.The owners are so pleasant and accommodating, it won't be long before we go back!
Rochester N Y visitors

Room Tip: All the rooms are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treetravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level Contributor
149 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had a great experience at this charming B & B. Willa and Dixie are great hosts & always willing to answer questions on places to see and eat. The breakfasts in the morning were wonderful. I'm a little picky, so one morning Willa fixed me scrambled eggs while everyone raved about their gourmet breakfast. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed at Charleston House in June and couldn't have had a nicer experience. We were traveling through New England with no particular plans and when the rain started to fall just as we arrived in Woodstock, we stumbled upon this charming B & B. Willa and Dixe welcomed us and my immediate feeling was that we had rediscovered long lost friends. They are both so charming, thoughtful, intelligent and knowledgeable of the area. The rooms are lovely, comfortable, well-appointed and private. The common areas (living and dining rooms) are beautifully decorated in the 18th century style, yet welcoming, not stuffy. The breakfast was not only delicious, but visually beautiful. There is private off-street parking behind the house. Staying here is not unlike staying with a cherished friend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janisann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

I can support every compliment other reviewers have given this B&B and its wonderful hosts. One experience illustrates the kind of treatment guests can expect. The breakfasts Willa had planned for the three mornings my wife and I were there would not work for the restricted diet we're both on. Without batting an eyelash, Willa revised the menus to make dishes that would work, including an egg and spinach casserole as good as any breakfast we've ever eaten. (Willa cheerfully shared the recipe and we tried to duplicate it--came close, but fell short.) We plan to join what I gather is a long list of people who keep coming back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichF77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington Court House, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Willa and Dixie are charming hosts who made my traveling companions and me feel extremely welcome in their home. The gourmet breakfast they served was not only delicious but lived up to the philosophy that people feast first with their eyes. The plate was picture-perfect and was worthy of a food magazine cover! The location of their B&B is great for walking to the Woodstock shopping area and the off-street parking is ideal. I would highly recommend The Charleston House!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwynne2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muncie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

We were driving through Woodstock, with no reservations, and saw the vacancy sign at the Charleston House. We had to turn around and drive back a couple of blocks, and we are so glad we did. Dixie and Willa are wonderful hosts. Our room was charming and the breakfast delicious. Willa was kind enough to even share a recipe with me. We enjoyed our stay so much, we checked in for additional night on our way back through town! We would definitely give the Charleston House five stars.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kdwenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
2.2 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
0.7 mi away
Woodstocker Inn
Woodstocker Inn
#4 of 16 in Woodstock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Shire Woodstock
The Shire Woodstock
#4 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charleston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charleston House

Property: The Charleston House
Address: 21 Pleasant Street, Woodstock, VT 05091
Region: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Charleston House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amid the ambiance and historic tradition of the village, A part of what makes Woodstock special. Walk to surrounding art galleries, museums, shops and Vermont's National Park. Comfort and warm hospitality. Period antiques, fine reproductions, an eclectic selection of art, and Oriental rugs. 9 rooms, all with private bath. Some rooms with TV, fireplace and jacuzzi tub. Sumptuous candlelit breakfasts. Air-conditioning. Free wi-fi. Close to ski areas, golf courses, and Dartmouth College. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Charleston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Charleston House Woodstock, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing