We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Charleston House
Ranked #7 of 16 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2010

The room with two twin beds was very comfortable. The shower had great water pressure and the towels might be the thickest I've ever seen. The innkeepers were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good; instead of serving between certain hours there are two seatings and you're asked beforehand to choose which you prefer. We had tomato quiche, fresh fruit, blueberry muffing and sausage with fresh orange juice and coffee.
You could easily leave your car in their lot and walk to all of the stores and restaurants on the towns mainstreet.
The only thing I wasn't thrilled about is there are no keys for the rooms. The doors can be locked from the inside when you're in them but not when you're out. I hadn't seen this before and it probably works out fine for that area (I hadn't seen this in other B&B's and I guess coming from an urban area it's a little hard to get used to not double locking everything).
In all though I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dexterndanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
There are newer reviews for The Charleston House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2010

beautiful room, i was upgraded to a suite, but peeked in other rooms
and they were all exceptional. the website doesn't do this place
justice. walking around town, i felt this was the nicest place to stay if you
do not choose the inn. woodstock is a very upscale village, where you
expect to meet martha stewart at the other end of the covered bridtge.
the innkeepers were very friendly and the breakfast was wonderful.
i have stayed at many b&b's and this one is top knotch.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank jbtraveller2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

This is the most wonderful B&B....very comfortable and charming....everything is completely spotless. Breakfast is unbelievable! The innkeepers are most wonderful, accommodating and welcoming.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2010

A real treat from beginning to end. The room was spacious, spotless, and had every amenity imaginable. The hosts are charming, courteous, and engaging. The breakfast was perhaps one of the best we have experienced in our 30 years of traveling to upscale B and Bs. Location is to die for - right in the heart of historic Woodstock, Vermont, a real great destination in any season. We would go back in an instant.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FJDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2010

The Charleston House is a fabulous place to stay. It was imaculately clean. The beds were wonderfully high and extremely comfortable. The towels were very thick and luxurious. Our room was very quiet and beautifully appointed. The breakfast, on all three mornings, was an epicurian delight! Thank you to our gracious hosts for providing us with this wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nitelife10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Good location, superb rooms with very comfy beds! Hosts welcoming - nothing was too much trouble, it was like staying with good friends! The breakfasts were fantastic - set you up for the rest of the day!
Can't praise this Hotel enough to say how much we enjoyed our stay here. Don't miss the opportunity to stop here if you're coming to the Woodstock area.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baryspad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2009

We loved our stay at the Charleston House. Not only were the accomodations charming but the innkeepers could not do enough for us...including driving to a restaurant to make a dinner reservation for us (when the phone line remained busy) . Breakfasts at the beautifully set dining room table were wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
2.1 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
423 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
289 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
0.3 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
0.1 mi away
The Shire Woodstock
The Shire Woodstock
#4 of 6 in Woodstock
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charleston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charleston House

Address: 21 Pleasant St, Woodstock, VT 05091-1111
Region: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range: £121 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Charleston House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amid the ambiance and historic tradition of the village, A part of what makes Woodstock special. Walk to surrounding art galleries, museums, shops and Vermont's National Park. Comfort and warm hospitality. Period antiques, fine reproductions, an eclectic selection of art, and Oriental rugs. 9 rooms, all with private bath. Some rooms with TV, fireplace and jacuzzi tub. Sumptuous candlelit breakfasts. Air-conditioning. Free wi-fi. Close to ski areas, golf courses, and Dartmouth College. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Charleston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Charleston House Woodstock, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing