We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Inn”
Review of Jackson House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jackson House Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 October 2013

A truly wonderful place to stay. Breakfast was creative and good, much better than the typical bacon and eggs. Rooms were quite clean and beautiful. The couple that runs the Inn are remarkable and helpful. Since every one is suspicious of reviews that say only positive things…my one criticism is that they need a better reading light by the bed in the Clara room. Other than that, this is just about as good a B and B as you will find.

Room Tip: Clara was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfer13i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 485 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

from the moment we walked in the door it met all my expectations, the place is immaculate and Kathy makes you feel right at home. We stayed in one of the suites which was unbelievable, as for breakfast they are to die for, you can see that Rick has a passion for cooking. If I could give the Jackson House Inn a ten star I would.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janice s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

A beautifully renovated historic home with lovely expansive gardens including a pond awaits you! The Jackson House Inn is ideally located very close to Woodstock but distant enough to be quiet and peaceful. The owners are absolutely delightful and clearly they love welcoming guests. You will be astounded by the delicious breakfast which is served in stunning dining room overlooking the fabulous gardens. My husband and I both highly recommend the Jackson House Inn!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nena703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Jackson House Inn is beautiful inside and out. The grounds include a delightful variety of landscaped rooms-- a pond with a stone cairn center, a perennial garden, a lawn, etc. The public rooms inside are similarly varied and comfortable. There are so many perfect spaces for contemplation, for conversation, for reading. Our bedroom (Mary Todd Lincoln Room) was cozy, well-lit, well-appointed, quiet, clean with a comfortable bed and great shower.

Rick and Kathy are warm and careful hosts who are attentive to all needs, including the need for privacy. Rick's breakfasts were revelations of taste and texture. For cocktails or before-bed night -caps, Rick has built a well-thought-out wine cellar and collection of spirits.

This relaxing weekend was one of the best we've had in many years of travel around the country and around the world.

Jackson House Inn is a destination worth seeking out. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theocritus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Hmm ... where to begin. Beautiful, immaculately kept inn, landscaped grounds with multiple views and spaces to "chill", warm hosts (Rick and Kathy) who create a really friendly environment. Where to end? The incredible breakfasts by Rick who is a passionate farm-to-table chef who not only promotes local farms but also seeks out their unique specialties and translates their products into food that should be photographed (and often is) before being eaten. The fact that he's able to articulate so well what they do and how he transforms it into great food is an art in itself.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor. Spacious, quiet room with a balcony. Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyApexTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We loved the Jackson House Inn, Rick and Kathy were so helpful with restaurant recommendations and bookings and they couldn't have done anything more to have made our stay anymore memorable. The Inn was spotlessly clean and very relaxing. Ricks culinary skills could win him a place on Master Chef and I would be the first to sign up if he ever wanted to start a cookery school.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Very clean and comfortable accommodations decorated beautifully for the fall. The landscaping and grounds around this historic inn are breathtaking. Rick made dinner reservations for us at a local tavern and his recommendation was a good one. This was our first night ever in New England and our first impression was wonderful.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Bfrnk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
0.2 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
463 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
1.7 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Deer Brook Inn
Deer Brook Inn
#2 of 15 in Woodstock
614 reviews
1.3 mi away
Woodstocker Inn
Woodstocker Inn
#4 of 15 in Woodstock
673 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Shire Woodstock
The Shire Woodstock
#4 of 6 in Woodstock
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackson House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson House Inn

Address: 43 Senior Ln, Woodstock, VT 05091-3404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range: £156 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jackson House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jackson House Inn offers refined relaxation surrounded by the beauty of Vermont. Just outside the village of Woodstock, our property is perfect for a private romantic getaway or a chance to reconnect with friends. 6 one-room suites with fireplaces and 5 classic bedrooms blend history with modern conveniences - all with an en-suite private bathroom with shower (some with massage tubs), WIFI, in-room controlled air conditioning/heating, most with HD television service. Locally-sourced, organic products are featured in a memorable multi-course full breakfast served at individual tables in our dining room, and non-alcoholic hot and cold beverages are available at all times. Wines, beers and spirits are available in the late afternoon/early evening. Stroll three acres of grounds including a freshwater pond and perennial gardens or gaze at the landscape from patios, balconies and chairs on the lawn. In colder months, a floor-to-ceiling woodburning fireplace burns during breakfast and the evening hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Jackson House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jackson House Hotel Woodstock
Jackson House Inn Woodstock, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing