We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jackson House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jackson House Inn
Ranked #1 of 16 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Burlington, VT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Inn”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed just for one night in this lovely inn but wished we could have stayed longer. The owners of the Inn were very welcoming and Breakfast was delicious!!! We stayed in the Nicolas 1 suite which was very spacious and had a wonderful gas fireplace. The Inn had great little touches like a Keurig coffee maker in the bar area so you could make yourself a cup of coffee anytime. Also they had coffee out first thing in the morning for those of us who can't wait until breakfast for our first cup of the day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahBurlington_VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kterwelp, Owner at Jackson House Inn, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for choosing to spend time with us for your "in-state" getaway - it was a treat to meet both of you! This winter has definitely been a season for fireplaces and on-demand coffee; we're happy you enjoyed both. As you note, though, that fresh Vermont-roasted coffee in the morning remains most important to many of us! Here's to spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
312
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This is probably the nicest b&b I've stayed in anywhere. The owners, Rick and Kathy, have obviously spent a lot of time and money refurbishing it when they bought it three years ago. It is beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable, both our room and the rest of the inn. They keep a fire going in the great room adjacent to the breakfast room. And speaking of breakfast, Rick is an inventive gourmet cook whose breakfasts I will not soon forget. Rick uses local and organic products when possible and does a wonderful job describing what you are eating and how it was made. Both Rick and Kathy are unobtrusively helpful with restaurant suggestions and things to do. I would definitely stay here again if I were anywhere close by.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cranberry Room, the only one on the ground floor. Though it is small, it's nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kterwelp, Owner at Jackson House Inn, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to tell others about your time at our inn, and for such kind compliments. We have enjoyed blending the beauty found in a historic building with the comfort we hope makes everyone feel at home. And, the floor-to-ceiling fireplace has definitely been a popular location during this incredibly cold winter, at breakfast and throughout the evening! Woodstock offers so many options for activities and for dining - we're happy you found our suggestions useful and would love to share new ideas with you if a return visit to the area comes to pass.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolcott, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My wife and I have stayed at many Inn's and B&B's throughout New England and the East Coast, and we recently returned from our 4th visit to The Jackson House Inn which remains our favorite!. The Inn is as charming and smoothly-run when Rick and Kathy acquired it over four years ago, and the beautifully restored historic building, unique rooms, common areas and grounds provide a peaceful and cozy retreat we look forward returning to each winter.
More importantly, Kathy and Rick are warm, knowledgeable and wonderful hosts. They are very well-connected locally, providing excellent insight about dining, skiing, dog sledding, or other activities, and their recommendations are always spot–on. Rick's breakfasts are always a special treat, and his passion and love for food comes through not only with his cooking, but his description of each meal, which is quite unique!
Overall, The Jackson House Inn is a very warm, comfortable and relaxing "home", and we look forward to our next visit!.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLSMIELE2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We just spent the most amazing two nights at the Jackson House Inn. We stayed in the Cranberry room that was small ,but sophisicated and beautifully decorated. It overlooked a snow covered backyard that that was a true winter wonderland.
I loved the the charm of the other rooms including an incredible library that was filled with books on Vermont, including about 150 cookbooks by some of the top chefs in the country. There was a bar in another area had small tables and a kurig coffee machine for coffee, tea or apple cider. I enjoyed sitting at the stone fireplace relaxing after a long day of cross country skiing.
However,he BEST part of our stay were the most incredible breakfasts that we had both mornings. The breakfast was both delicious and creative as any 4 star restaurant. The presentation was really unbelievable!!
Kathy and Rick were gracious hosts that were quite available to help you make arrangements or give you information on the events in the area. I look forward to returning to the Inn in the summer.

Room Tip: I loved the Cranberry room. It was on the main floor facing the backyard. It was quiet, small and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelly t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Me and my wife visited the Inn in last week of February. This is very homely Inn and the name "House Inn" justifies it. Kathy and Rick have put a lot of efforts in keeping it very welcoming and clean. The Suites are amazing but the single rooms are a little small. This is not in the city center of Woodstock like other "BIG" inns which are a lot commercialized. 3-4 min drive to the city center.
Breakfast made by Rick is very special. He has passion for food and you will not get this experience at other places.
There are no fancy facilities like Fitness Center, Pool or even a refrigerator in the room.

Room Tip: Prefer suite over a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostaTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

The Jackson House Inn is a wonderful and amazing bed and breakfast! This is my second time staying at the inn and I would continue to come back. The house is beautiful and has a homey feel while still having historic charm. The owners are truly wonderful. Kathy has a wealth of knowledge about things to see and do in the area and is always available to answer questions. Rick makes an amazing breakfast every morning. All the food is local and in season. The breakfast items never disappoint and Rick will go out of his way to modify the breakfast for various food allergies or dietary restriction. The Jackson House Inn is a gem in Woodstock. It is a great place to come and relax and reboot. I would highly recommend the inn.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Jackson House Inn is a lovely bed and breakfast. Kathy and Rick make you feel welcome from the moment you set foot on the premises. Kathy even greeted us outside to welcome us in. The inn itself is charming and very clean. And then there's the food. We stayed at the inn two days and we had the most incredible breakfast both days. Everything was amazing. Our meals were two of the best breakfasts we have ever had. Rick was so passionate about what he was serving and everything was sourced locally which was much appreciated. We would recommend (and we have) Jackson House in a heartbeat for anyone looking for a wonderful place to stay in Woodstock.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kterwelp, Owner at Jackson House Inn, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
We're so happy you felt instantly welcomed and that you left with fond memories of your visit. Comfort, memorable food and a connection to the local area are three of our most important goals to provide for our guests. Thank you for your recommendation to others, and please come back if Woodstock is ever in your travel plans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
0.2 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
391 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
278 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
1.7 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
2.2 mi away
The Shire Woodstock
The Shire Woodstock
#4 of 6 in Woodstock
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackson House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson House Inn

Property: Jackson House Inn
Address: 43 Senior Ln, Woodstock, VT 05091-3404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Jackson House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jackson House Inn offers refined relaxation surrounded by the beauty of Vermont. Just outside the village of Woodstock, our property is perfect for a private romantic getaway or a chance to reconnect with friends. 6 one-room suites with fireplaces and 5 classic bedrooms blend history with modern conveniences - all with an en-suite private bathroom with shower (some with massage tubs), WIFI, in-room controlled air conditioning/heating, most with HD television service. Locally-sourced, organic products are featured in a memorable multi-course full breakfast served at individual tables in our dining room, and non-alcoholic hot and cold beverages are available at all times. Wines, beers and spirits are available in the late afternoon/early evening. Stroll three acres of grounds including a freshwater pond and perennial gardens or gaze at the landscape from patios, balconies and chairs on the lawn. In colder months, a floor-to-ceiling woodburning fireplace burns during breakfast and the evening hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Jackson House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jackson House Hotel Woodstock
Jackson House Inn Woodstock, Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing