We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jackson House Inn
Nearby Hotels
Braeside Lodging(Woodstock)(Great Value!)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
506 On The River Inn(Woodstock)(Great Value!)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Woodstock Motel(Woodstock)(Great Value!)
US$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Shire Woodstock(Woodstock)(Great Value!)
US$164
US$131
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn at Quechee Gorge(Quechee)(Great Value!)
US$78
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 White River Junction(White River Junction)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White River Inn and Suites(White River Junction)(Great Value!)
US$103
US$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (492)
Filter reviews
492 results
Traveller rating
482
10
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
482
10
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrick's breakfastsmary todd lincolntwo courseslocal farmswelsh rarebitb battention to detailfrette linenseach morningbreakfast creationsbacon and eggsmy husband and ifloor to ceilingfront porchbalcony overlookinghis passiongrounds are gorgeous
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
282 - 287 of 492 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

First, I echo the recent comments about Kathy and Rick. They are such gracious hosts and it is apparent that they are high-achieving perfectionists, and I mean that as high praise - you can just tell they are very accomplished, elegant people - but very unassuming as well. The building and the grounds are amazing. There are many places to walk and sit and take it all in, both indoors and out. The recent renovations were skillfully done - my wife kept noticing all the perfect wallpaper choices. The sheets felt so luxurious. The breakfast was gourmet. This is just a wonderful place to spend some time and relax.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cranberry room on the first floor and loved it, particularly having a patio exit onto the back yard (although others could have been on the patio adjacent to us). I guess one negative could be having a room adjacent to common areas but that did not bother us.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank crosscourtforehand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

It's easy to use words like "luxury" and "gourmet" to describe Jackson House, but those words don't do it justice. Every detail is perfect, and Rick's breakfasts are as good as the best dinner you'll ever eat. (During our stay, we tried to convince him to do a "farm to table" dinner one night a month, but so far, no luck.) We stayed in the Cranberry room, which is probably the smallest room, but we loved it because it's on the first floor with French doors leading out to the backyard (which we left open all day and all night, except when we were going "off campus"). The inn itself is beautiful, and the grounds are extraordinary -- how many B&Bs/inns have their own pond?! The local products, from the breakfast ingredients to the toiletries, were also a wonderful touch -- and definitely something Kathy and Rick really believe in, not just something they do because it's trendy. The only thing I can fault them for is that, when we asked for a dinner recommendation, Simon Pearce was their second or third suggestion instead of their first (it's not to be missed for great food, a wonderful setting, and to see glass-blowing in action, which was so much more interesting than I ever imagined). In short, you can't go wrong at Jackson House.

Room Tip: Loved the Cranberry room for easy access to the gorgeous grounds and shortcut to breakfast!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MillieinAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We just returned from our second stay at the Jackson House Inn. It is hard to imagine how Kathy and Rick could possibly do a better job running this wonderful inn. They manage to combine a near-perfect attention to detail while being warm and friendly and making you feel at home. Rick's breakfasts are amazing, creative meals made with fresh, organic ingredients. Before each of the two courses Rick explains what he made, how he made it, and where he sourced the ingredients, which is always interesting. His enthusiasm for using the best ingredients and being creative in how he uses them is contagious, and the food is delicious.

The common areas and grounds are beautiful, and Kathy and Rick are so welcoming. It's not every inn where after just a couple of days we felt like we were friends with the owners/hosts and gave and got a hug when checking out.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Glenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We only managed to squeeze one night in at this lovely Inn during our first visit to New England. It is the most perfect place. The welcome from Kathy and Rick, the beauty and tranquility of the building and grounds and the delicious and creative breakfasts make it a place to remember and return to. Rick's local foodie knowledge is great and his expertise extends to beers too! Kathy kindly places coffee or tea outside the room to start the day. A lovely area to visit too! We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DRJUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We first stayed at Jackson House in 2011.. Since then we have stayed a total of 9 different times, to include having our wedding at Jackson House. If you are looking for a beautiful place to stay, with lovely Inn-Keepers that are genuine and sincere, offers a gourmet b'fest, (with incredients that were most likely purchased the day before from an area farm-eggs, milk,etc) beautiful super clean rooms, and beautiful grounds then look no further. We enjoy and look forward to our stays so much and it really provides us the opportunity re-charge our batteries from the normal hustle and bustle of city life. Rick and Kathy recently added I would say a "Vermont Style Den" with comfy leather chairs and small couch, with a small fridge that contains various refreshments... coke, selzer water.etc..and coffee and tea. A nice little room to unwind, and read the paper. Rick does a superb job on the grounds, and it's always enjoyable to walk the grounds, and take in the sounds of nature as the back of the property contains a small pond, with woods behind the Inn. The Inn is meticulously maintained, and attention to detail is evident everywhere! The Inn also has a beautiful porch to just sit and relax and if you happen to be staying during July 4th you get to watch the town fireworks from the Porch and the Lawn. What a treat that was! Lastly I almost forgot, kudos to your housekeeping staff, who we never see, but quickly serviced our room while we were at b'fest! Thank you both for another enjoyable relaxing stay. We look forward to our 10th stay later this year!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful. We have stayed in four different rooms, but have seen them all.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews