We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Village Inn of Woodstock
Ranked #2 of 16 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Upon entering the premises, if you are a music lover like me, you cannot ignore the soft music in the background, very soothing and welcoming. Then you meet the innkeeper (in our case was Evelyn), which has the ability to make you feel like you have known her for a long time and that is how you feel during your entire stay. Very well appointed accommodations and big, delicious breakfasts. The morning staff was very caring,accommodating and pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LFR1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyTraveler05091, Owner at The Village Inn of Woodstock, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I will let our Tammy and Marcee know that you appreciated their services, so very nice of you to say so! We hope that we'll see you again soon.

Warmest regards,
Evelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    45
    8
    2
    7
See reviews for
29
445
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Berwick, Maine
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This was our first B&B experience. We drove to Woodstock on a rainy night to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. We had no reservation. We were welcomed in and shown 2 rooms to choose from in our price range. The decor was beautiful as you walked through the home. Each room has a private bath. We chose a room and came down to make it official. When Evelyn asked what brought us to town, we informed her that it was our anniversary. Without even a pause she upgraded us to a 2 room suite with a 2 person tub. The most delicious breakfast was served the next day at our own private table. We highly recomend this B&B, we have already told anyone who will listen how great our experience was.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyceKeefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyTraveler05091, Owner at The Village Inn of Woodstock, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Happy 1st Anniversary, Michael, it was our pleasure to have you celebrate such a special occasion with us! We are delighted that you enjoyed yorr time with us, and thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with others. We wish you many happy anniversaries together, and hope to see you again soon!

Warmest wishes,
Evelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2014

A pleasant place to unwind in beautiful surroundings inside and out. There is a tavern in the B&B with free local local wines at 4:30pm daily. Breakfast the next morning is made to order with your choice of omelettes, scrambled eggs, or Blue Berry Pancakes. All served with a smile that will make your day. You can walk to the green to visit the Town of Woodstock in a few minutes. There are a lot of stores to visit. There are things you will want to see like Simon Pierce where elegant glass items are made while you watch and the soups in the restaurant are to die for. A trip to King Arthur Flour (since 1790) is a employee owned company a short trip away with all you ever wanted to know about baking and all of the tools you need to do it. The Calvin Coolidge State Park will give you a look into how life was in the 1920's. Sadly we had to leave at 2:30am on our last day to catch a plane in Boston. Our host Evelyn made a breakfast to take with us. Above and beyond the call of duty. Just remember whichever way you go there is a river and green mountains.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGB1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyTraveler05091, Owner at The Village Inn of Woodstock, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you so much for your fabulous review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your time here so much! It was lovely to have you with us for a few days, sorry that you had to leave so early on your last day. You really made the most of your visit, we are so lucky to have so many different things for people to see and do in the area. We hope that you made it home safe and sound, and that we'll see you again when you find yourself in beautiful Woodstock!

Warmest wishes,
Evelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the inn. Evelyn and David are wonderful hosts and really know how to do breakfast!! Each day was another delicious experience. You can tell how much thought and enjoyment went in to decorating the inn itself. Every room is lovely and the grounds are a testament to their green thumb. My husband and I can't think of anything we would change about our stay at The Village Inn (except maybe taking Evelyn and David home with us to cook our breakfast every day).

We intend to return soon and know we will enjoy every moment. The Village Inn, the town of Woodstock and surrounding areas are a wonderful place to relax and just "be".

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyTraveler05091, Owner at The Village Inn of Woodstock, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am really excited about our gardens this year, Tammy and I have been having a great time together! I'll let her know that you noticed her hard work. We look forward to seeing you again, hopefully not too distant in the future. Again, thank you so much for taking the time to review us!!

Cheers,
Evelyn and David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2014

David and Evelyn clearly know what they are doing! Having never stayed at a B&B before (even though I have worked at them) I wasn't sure what to expect. I couldn't have been more impressed!

What made the entire experience were all the details--from the small to the big. The breakfasts were consistently amazing--I am still craving that local sausage--and the service impeccable. Each afternoon guests are invited to enjoy a complimentary glass of wine from the bar, which we enjoyed in the beautiful garden. And Evelyn does an incredible job, always greeting you by name, and she ensured that our honeymoon was a memorable and wonderful experience.

Room Tip: I have to recommend room number 1, where we stayed, for its private access and ease to get in and ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyTraveler05091, Owner at The Village Inn of Woodstock, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you so much for your amazing review, Rebecca! It was our pleasure to have you here, we are delighted that you had such a nice time on your honeymoon. We wish you a lifetime of happiness and joy together, and hope that we will see you again!! Again, thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with others, we very much appreciate your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

The Village Inn is fabulous. We drove up Friday night and decided to "meander" along the way instead of taking the most direct highway route. We called and said we would probably arrive after 8pm and was told "no problem"...we will provide the combo to the side door and leave the door to your room open! We did arrive in time and were warmly greeted! Our room was absolutely beautiful. We had a large room with a four poster king size bed and a fireplace. It was cool when we arrived and were almost tempted to start a fire! We had breakfast in the dining room the next morning. Everything is home made and delicious! My husband had the waffles and I had the eggs (from a local source!) and homemade challah. Banana cake was served first along with fresh squeezed OJ! The next morning I had a ham and asparagus timbale (a crust less quiche) and Dave had the eggs. We started off with fresh fruit and cream and a cranberry apple cake! Evelyn and David the owners are delightful and the staff is wonderful. The Village Inn is within walking distance of the "hub" of Woodstock in a great location. It is a restored Victorian mansion expertly decorated! We highly recommend this jewel!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sndny5657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyTraveler05091, Owner at The Village Inn of Woodstock, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you so very much for taking the time to review us on tripadvisor. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We love sharing all of the amazing local products available to us, and are so glad that you enjoyed our breakfasts so much. We look forward to welcoming you back, and thank you again for sharing your experience. Cheers! Evelyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights here in the beginning of June. The innkeepers were very hospitable and the inn was lovely and very clean. The breakfasts were delicious and generous. I cannot think of anything that I would change about our stay. We will keep this inn on our repeat list. The location of this inn is nice because the entire village is just a short walk up the street.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank czorbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyTraveler05091, Owner at The Village Inn of Woodstock, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to visiting again. We love that we are located right in the village, just a short walk to all of the great shops and restaurants that the village has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
2.3 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
2.2 mi away
Jackson House Inn
Jackson House Inn
#1 of 16 in Woodstock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Shire Woodstock
The Shire Woodstock
#4 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Inn of Woodstock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn of Woodstock

Property: The Village Inn of Woodstock
Address: 41 Pleasant St, Woodstock, VT 05091-1146
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Village Inn of Woodstock 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian splendor meets modern convenience at this boutique hotel in the village. This luxury Vermont inn features 8 romantic guest rooms, all with private baths, period antiques, color cable TV, Wi-Fi and air conditioning. Guests enjoy sumptuous 3-course candlelight breakfast, featuring a selection of entrees, inn-made breads and pastries, served at individual tables. This romantic Vermont bed and breakfast also offers a tavern and terrace with pond and perennial garden exclusively for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Village Inn of Woodstock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Inn Of Woodstock Hotel Woodstock
The Village Inn Of Woodstock Vermont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing